We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun evening in the kitchen with Aon”

Red Chili Cooking School
Ranked #15 of 67 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join this authentic Thai cooking class during your holiday in Chiang Mai, which offers in-depth, fun and interpersonal cooking lesson to all Thai food lovers. During the 6-hour class, students get to learn five authentic Thai dishes, range from soup, stir-fried noodles,curry paste, curry and dessert. Classes also includes hotel pickups, local market tour.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun evening in the kitchen with Aon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I agree with all the excellent reviews. Aon was a great host and teacher. We can't wait to put our new skills to use, just as soon as we find kaffir lime and galanga in our local stores!

We thought we would be in a group class, but as it turned out, we were the only students on that particular evening. This was an unexpected treat because we got his full attention, although I'm sure it would have been equally fun cooking and partying with a crowd.

Aon picked us up from our not-so-easy-to-find bed and breakfast. From there, he took us to the market and gave us a very thorough orientation to the local ingredients typically used in Thai cooking, and told us about the regional foods, including the sausage with jalapeno chili and the pork cracklings. From there, we went to his home and his teaching kitchen. It is an outdoor kitchen, which we loved. As we began the class, I was struck by how orderly and clean everything was. I thought I was obsessively clean in the kitchen, but Aon's vigilance made me a bit nervous to make any kind of a mess. I loved it.

We really appreciated his method of teaching, first he demonstrates, then students cook at their stations, then everyone sits at the table to eat their dish. This way, we cooked while the demo was still fresh in our minds, and we ate while the food was hot and we could critique our creations immediately. It also gave us time to digest a bit before the next dish.

For us, the highlight was making the chili paste and our chili dishes. Green for my companion and red for me. It was so exciting and fun to learn how to make dishes we are so fond of ordering at Thai restaurants at home. It was labor-intensive, but the result was fantastic. By the last dish, the stir-fried chicken cashew, I was too full to eat much.

So bring your appetite and get set for a fun evening in Aon's kitchen!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoRockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    5
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent teacher - part fee to a good cause - Fantastic night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The four of us chose to do the evening class so that we could do other things during the day which proved to be very convenient.

The course had us making 4 dishes but in essence you learn to make 6 as Aon pairs dishes that have the same bases together so that you and your friend can make one of each (eg: You can me a green curry and your friend can make a red curry at the same time as they start off the same). All recipes were emailed to us the next day which was very convenient!

At 3:30 promptly, Aon picked us up from our hotel and two other participants. We then rode to in the vehicle to the market where Aon gave us a tour, explaining different fresh Thai ingredients, making sure we all had a touch and smell as well. It was very informative. While he purchased the ingredients for the night we had a little bit of free time to look around the market ourselves.

Afterward we went back to the cooking school which is on Aon's property. He has a professional set up with separate stations for each person, a demonstration table out front, an undercover dining area and an outdoor bench and table under fairy lights to eat the dishes we prepared under the stars! It is all outdoors.

The set up reflects Aon's background as a professional chef, he explained that he worked at a large hotel in Florida (Four seasons? - can't remember off the top of my head) and you could see this through his thorough demonstration and also the personal hygiene he expected of us, reminding us to wash our hands after each course was made.

One beer or soft drink was free, and the demonstrations were really well paced, kind of laid back, funny, with music playing in the background but thorough, very easy to remember and follow.
The bonus for this class was finding out that part of our fee would be donated to an orphanage that Aon supports and volunteers his skills at.
After w cooked each dish we sat down to eat them

Aon then drove us back to our respective hotels to make sure we got home safe.

Tip: If you're taking the course with a friend/partner, make sure you choose different dishes to make (ie. red curry/green curry, coconut chicken soup/tom yum goong)
Also, to contact Aon,email him directly instead of using the 'form' on the website. his email address is on the website too.,

All in all we had so much fun, and the next day we received an email with the recipes for us to keep.

Out of all the cooking schools we looked at, this was definitely the right choice for us. Aon has made a great venue to host travelers and introduce them to authentic and absolutely delicious Thai food. It was some of the best food we have eaten in Thailand. highly recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LKK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun night at Red Chili”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked this cooking class last minute and were lucky to find slots for our whole family (wife and I, plus two daughters, 15 and 17). We had a great time. Aon does a great job making the evening both fun and informative, and the food was actually very delicious. Making it even more fun was our fellow cooks - couples from Hong Kong and Australia. We would definitely recommend Red Chili cooking school!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidLindheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Instrutor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife attended the cooking class while our baby and I had fun eating!

Tip:
- Do not schedule activities right afterwards as the school is far from the city and the instructor has to wait for everyone to finish the course in order to take you back to your hotel

Pro:
- The instructor, Aon, is very knowledgeable and patient
- Aon speaks fluent English and is good at communication
- The place is lovely
- The open kitchen has water sprinklers on the roof to cool the temperature down

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xiaolin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fun, informative and very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Aon, the owner, collected us from our hotel and took us to a local market to buy produce and also explain some of the ingredients we would use during our cooking experience.

We then went to the cooking school, which was an well organised set up, Aon and his family were all very welcoming.

Aon demonstrated each course and then we cooked our own. There were four in total-all equally tasty. Aon made it a fun and very interesting evening.

The next day we received all the recipes we had cooked and a few more which was an added bonus.

Highly recommend!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SquirtyBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Chili Cooking School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Red Chili Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing