We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel we stayed in in Chiang Mai”
Review of Kikie's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kikie's House
Ranked #406 of 938 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 3 hostels in chiang mai and this was by far the best. We are a couple and had a double room at Kikies, though infact were given a room for 3.
The staff were brilliant and let us rearrange several times via email. They gave us heaps of information and were happy to help with anything, even booking buses online.
The room was big, clean and cool with a lovely bathroom. The hotel has a balcony and although a few young people were staying in the dorm we heard no noise.
Finally the location is great. I highly reccomend staying here as couple on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFlyingCamelpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in the 3 person bed room. It was large and spacious for 3 adults with one double and one twin bed.
It was mostly clean and tidy. The linen was worn and had stains but useable.
The value was great at 600B per night.
Kikie was extremely helpful and kind.
The negative was that the sound from other customers travels easily through the walls. Bring ear plugs.
The location is easy for walking around town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Kikie's for 2 nights. We booked a 3 person room with AC for 600B per night. When we checked in they informed us that our room's AC wasn't ready yet, so we would only have a fan, but that the AC would be installed the next day so we would have it for our second night. They gave us a significant discount for the inconvenience. The room was spacious with a double bed and a single, and a bathroom with a shower that wasn't right over the toilet (somewhat of a rarity in Thailand!) Overall, it was a great value - clean and spacious room, spacious bathroom, great location and a great price. The only downside was that it can get a little loud as the windows are very thin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Kikie's on our last night in Chiang Mai after arriving late from an outlying town. We got a room in her overflow house a couple blocks away for very cheap (250 baht off season w/ 500 baht key deposit). The beds were pretty bad w/ springs poking through but I found one that still had some squish (room 9). We had our own tiny bathroom and a fan but the room was very hot up on the 3rd floor. Internet worked well. Kikie is a very sweet woman and was great to work with. In the main house she runs a rooftop (covered) patio w/ bar and grill at night, where I think everyone that was staying in the main house was when we showed up. It looked fun and social, but we missed dinner.

Room Tip: check the beds until you find one that has some fluff to it. If you get a fan room try to find one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capitana_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the dorms at first, really happy they were clean and enough space for everyone's bags. However this hostel really attracts the party animals so don't expect to sleep! There's lots of drinking on the roof terrace which can get really loud as the walls are thin. We had problems with party goers noisily stumbling back in the dorm every night at 4-5am. The beds are also horribly hard, there's no give in the mattress at all. Kiki is super sweet though, and moved us into a private room at her Kiki's Homebase another building round the corner for a good price. Room was ok but only had fan which in May did nothing to stifle the heat. The bathroom was very grotty and because we couldn't get a good night's sleep as it was so hot we had to find somewhere else instead. Great hostel for the young backpackers but if you don't party with them there's nothing much for you here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been travelling for just over a month and this is the best place i have stayed at and I cant see it being beaten. Kikie used to be a travel guide so knows all there is to do in chiang mai and is happy to book and try and get discount for you - She also plans BBQ's on the roof every week (a great way to meet new people).

We stayed in Dorms and Private rooms whilst here, they are both in excellent condition. The private rooms may be slightly pricey if on a budget but they are huge with new A/C units and massive bathrooms. You can choose between A/C and fan in the dorms.

It is situated in the Old City and within walking distance from everything.They is hot showers, WIFI and laundry services. Awesome place to stay and recommend to everyone and I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Better to stay in the main house to meet people - Rooms 8+5 are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tchillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hostel I stayed in in Chiang Mai, it was spotless and I'm the perfect location at the heart of the old town. The guy when runs the hostel speaks fan English and is full of information of things to do and places to go around the town. Would highly recommend this place to anyone. Bargain form the price I paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reanne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#125 of 938 in Chiang Mai
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nature's Way House
Nature's Way House
#67 of 938 in Chiang Mai
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#46 of 938 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SOHOstel
SOHOstel
#246 of 938 in Chiang Mai
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#23 of 938 in Chiang Mai
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
House No. 11
House No. 11
#26 of 938 in Chiang Mai
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikie's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikie's House

Address: 17/1 Rachapakinai Rd, Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 938 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $9 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kikie's House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful new guesthouse in Chiang Mai's old town. Located in a quiet, small Soi yet close to many restaurants, bars and attractions. Mixed dorm & private rooms and an amazing rooftop garden to relax and meet new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Kikie's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing