We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a party house!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kikie's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kikie's House
Ranked #193 of 810 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Definitely a party house!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the dorms at first, really happy they were clean and enough space for everyone's bags. However this hostel really attracts the party animals so don't expect to sleep! There's lots of drinking on the roof terrace which can get really loud as the walls are thin. We had problems with party goers noisily stumbling back in the dorm every night at 4-5am. The beds are also horribly hard, there's no give in the mattress at all. Kiki is super sweet though, and moved us into a private room at her Kiki's Homebase another building round the corner for a good price. Room was ok but only had fan which in May did nothing to stifle the heat. The bathroom was very grotty and because we couldn't get a good night's sleep as it was so hot we had to find somewhere else instead. Great hostel for the young backpackers but if you don't party with them there's nothing much for you here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    21
    9
    13
See reviews for
4
41
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been travelling for just over a month and this is the best place i have stayed at and I cant see it being beaten. Kikie used to be a travel guide so knows all there is to do in chiang mai and is happy to book and try and get discount for you - She also plans BBQ's on the roof every week (a great way to meet new people).

We stayed in Dorms and Private rooms whilst here, they are both in excellent condition. The private rooms may be slightly pricey if on a budget but they are huge with new A/C units and massive bathrooms. You can choose between A/C and fan in the dorms.

It is situated in the Old City and within walking distance from everything.They is hot showers, WIFI and laundry services. Awesome place to stay and recommend to everyone and I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Better to stay in the main house to meet people - Rooms 8+5 are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tchillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hostel I stayed in in Chiang Mai, it was spotless and I'm the perfect location at the heart of the old town. The guy when runs the hostel speaks fan English and is full of information of things to do and places to go around the town. Would highly recommend this place to anyone. Bargain form the price I paid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reanne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Kikies house is a great place to stay in Chiang Mai. The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable- they help you with whatever you need. They advise on things to do in the area and book all trips you want to go on. The hostel is in a great, central location and the rooms are big and spacious (Wifi is also in your room). If you want the rooms cleaned all you have to do is ask, they won't do it without your permission. Kikie's has a lovely rooftop garden where you can meet other travellers easily and if you're lucky they will bring out the BBQ! The only negative thing about our stay was that we had our washing done and all of our items that were white are now yellow! (We didn't put anything yellow in to wash) so just be careful! We loved our stay at Kikie's house and would recommend it to all backpackers in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights here, so glad we did!
we arrived at this place at 11pm,as we flew into Chiang Mai and they were totally cool to assist us. Our room was only 350 a night and it was huge. the bathroom was amazing so clean and new looking. our room was just awesome, had the biggest bed!
We were just so happy with it. the next day we asked them about hiring push bikes and they sent us to this guy who gave discounts for staying at Kikies. only 50 Baht for 24hours. bargain.
We wanted to explore the city and see some temples and they showed us all the best ones.
we booked a few things with these guys too, like our bus to Pai and a cooking class and they just helped out so much. didnt seem like they were ripping you off at all just wanted to help.
By the end of our 3 days we saw alot of the guys asking lots of questions and not once were they unwilling to help, they were great.
Night Bazzar........Awesome :)
Will reccommend this place for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8....has a fan and A/C we only paid for fan. it was quiet, big and airy-enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This definitely was not the best place that I have stayed in Thailand, but I had to keep reminding myself that I was paying 150 baht a night to stay in a tourist part of the city. The beds are very hard. For me, the bed wasn't a problem, but if you want a soft bed, don't stay at Kikie's. In the dorms, there is an ensuite wet room, meaning with 5 people in a room, everything was always wet. Besides the bathroom being wet, the dorm, bedding and towels were clean. Kikie's is not in the main area of hostels but is an easy walk to just about anything between the north and tha pae gates. Kikie was nice and very helpful if I needed anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My brother lived in Thailand and raved about Kikie's house. As soon as I saw it, I was very impressed. It is extremely clean, the rooms are large, the bathrooms are large and modern. (Very different from other guesthouses I stayed in Thailand!) Kikie is a dream. She takes care of everything for you, like a mother. If you need anything, she can either do it for you or knows someone who can. Great location to walk around Chiang Mai. I highly recommend this guesthouse. Call though because she gets booked up FAST!!! The rooftop is amazing too. Bring your food up there or just hang out and meet other guests. We had a great time. I would definitely go back. The price for a private room was approximately $10USD a night at the time I was there (Oct 2012).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#30 of 810 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Absolute House
Absolute House
#24 of 810 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mojito Garden 2
Mojito Garden 2
#210 of 810 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gongkaew Chiangmai Home
Gongkaew Chiangmai Home
#59 of 810 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 810 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lantern House Backpackers
Lantern House Backpackers
#83 of 810 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikie's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikie's House

Property: Kikie's House
Address: 17/1 Rachapakinai Rd, Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 810 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kikie's House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful new guesthouse in Chiang Mai's old town. Located in a quiet, small Soi yet close to many restaurants, bars and attractions. Mixed dorm & private rooms and an amazing rooftop garden to relax and meet new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kikie's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing