We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy restaurant, attentive staff and great food”
Review of Rioja II

Rioja II
Ranked #1,096 of 2,056 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant, attentive staff and great food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My mother is a big fan of Spanish food so when she came to visit we took her to Rioja.It was my first visit and I have to say I am impressed. The restaurant itself is cosy and welcoming and it's easy to relax as soon as you sit at the colourful, well set tables. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and advised us on food and the waiting time for the paella. We tried a tapas dish of mussels which were sublime and came quite quickly. Even the paella, which we had been warned would take half an hour, seemed to appear quicker than that. My only complaint is that the portion size for the paella was 2-3 people and even with 2 smaller apetites (and one man sized) it wasn't enough. Definitely over-estimate how much you'll need, I would advise it would only serve 2. It was also missing the scallops that the menu said it included. That aside, I found it tasty and well cooked. We enjoyed the wine and the ambience and would absolutely recommend the place to others. The prices are very good for the quaility of food you receive. Thank you Rioja - we'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucycoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food in a cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a great meal here, staff were so attentive and friendly and the food was absolutely delicious.

The whole place is very cosy and welcoming and to top it off, we got a free sangria each for ordering 3 dishes or more each...... winner!!!!

If you fancy a change from Thai food, you should definitely visit Rioja - highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Clean, cozy, delicious.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On a tip from a friend who has lived in Spain for many years, I took my daughter and a friend there last night. Loved it from the moment we walked in. Despite being on one of the busiest streets in Chiang Mai, Rioja was quiet and cozy. Decor is attractive and decidedly "Spanish" with warm red walls without being over the top. Wait staff was very attentive without hovering. Food is some of the best we have had so far in our 5 months in Thailand which includes dinners at the Meridien and Chedi. Prices were very fair for the savory fair we were served. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

An acquaintance recommended this place to me. I am a regular at Jagajee on Nimmanhaeminda Road (non-traditional tapas) and have enjoyef both Mi Casa and Su Casa as well as another new tapas bar on the city outskirts. Riojas II is not in the same class as any of these.....although admittedly I didnt try the sangria which is supposed to be good. That doesnt surprise given the subpar 200 baht glass of Spanish wine I was served. Nothing thst I ate was even good....just like eating expensive bar food of average quality....i will not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zjbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flekkefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice tapas in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After our 3rd try to find this restaurant (it's actually not so difficult, but with all the signs in Thailand it can be hard to know what you are looking for when you haven't been there before) it was a nice surprise when we found it. It is a small restaurant with only 24 seats and a couple on the outside. Very casual and relaxed.
We had 4 different tapas dishes and the duck confit, which were all very tasty. Good house red wine for only 100 baht per glass.

Nice and friendly service. One of the best places I have eaten at so far in Chiang Mai. They only take cash payment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rioja II also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Rioja II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing