We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Galangal Cooking Studio
from $31.51
More Info
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveler rating
1,018
31
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,018
31
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class cooking school cooking course back home great cooking delicious dishes green curry food was amazing amazing experience ingredients teacher market vegetables
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2019

There are so many cooking classes in Chaing Mai but we are so so happy we found Galangal Cooking Studio. New was such a friendly, patient teacher who was funny and informative. We loved the market tour first where we were even allowed to purchase beer to accompany our cooking. We learned alot about the spices and ingredients which would be used in our class. The class itself was very chilled and fun - alot less serious than we expected which we loved. We made so much food we couldn't finish it and you could tailor the dish to your preference adding more spice or sugar. The owner, Aoy picked us up and arranged transport home which was great, she was so friendly too and we wished we had more time to stay and chat! We cannot recommend this class enough and will be telling all our friends and family about this amazing experience, it has been the highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank dmcwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

New's cooking class was easy to follow and delicious! She made everyone feel very welcomed and was very attentive. We left full and satisfied!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank alwinwong93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

New was my instructor and she was amazing! She explained all the ingredients and cooking steps in detail. The food was very very tasty. Couldn't recommend more :)

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank shereenrashwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile


Very organized - picked us up from the hotel on time and Met some great travellers to share in this experience.... visited the market to learn about different Thai vegetables & spices. Terrific to be able to make your own dishes and not just as a combined couple.
Despite sharing the cookbook several days later via PDF, it would have been better to provide a copy during the class so everyone can make their own notes and follow along better. Also, they were in the process of training a new employee and she found it difficult to manage multiple cooks and recipes - would have been better to have them train on a single recipe as we felt bad due to the chaos. Overall a great experience and would definitely do it again! Looking forward to taking what we learned to try our dishes once we return home.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank G4747NMsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

We came here because our hotel reception said it was one of the best around. We took a full day lesson because we love Thai food. It cost 1000 bath, this is more than worth. With this you will be taken from the hotel to the cooking place. You'll visit a market with a presentation of common ingredients used in Thai food and you'll choose 5 dishes to cook.
After that you can eat all and take it home if you can't finish.
We had a great day with New one of the cooker. I really recommend this place if you want to learn the basics of Thai food.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 561Erwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews