We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to avoid”

Water Well Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water Well Guest House
Ranked #538 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better to avoid”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Came to Chiang Mai after midnight (our train had 3 hour delay), everything was closed or full. It's near the Thapae gate, so the location is good (but there are many guesthouses in that area, so that's not a real argument). And it's still quiet in the night, since it's off the main streets.

There are many downsides. The price was incredibly high. We paid 500 Baht - didn't argue because we needed to sleep and we passed 10-15 closed hostels - and the guy at desk didn't look too talkative either. The rooms were not very nice, the water smelled funny, the shower/toilette room looked bad. At least the bed was more or less ok. There was wifi, but only at reception.

Search for a better place if you can (e.g. Sumit hotel a few blocks away is a far better fallback place).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreeeeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed one week and paid 400 bahts / night. I think it was a bit expensive cos chiang mai is so cheap overall. Staff was very quiet but everything worked ok. I recommed this everyone who wants good and quiet basic room with a good location. Thapae gate is very near as well as local bars (yellow and spicy) but not too close ( less than 1 kilometre).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

No room service, no breakfast, rude staff, no athmosphere at all and expensive for its characteristics.
It was late and we were run out of time, so we end up paying and staying here. It was well located and the street is charming but the hotel itself feels lonely.
Toilette bed and room its OK. Wifi only available at the hall to share with all mosquito...

Better places to stay for sure.

Room Tip: better places to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpackers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

located in the old town within the wall, Water Well is accessible and convenient for small walks around the area. there are a few other guesthouses along the same alley, so you are free to explore the area before deciding on a place too.

the room is very basic, with air-conditioner, a bathroom and a TV that goes off tune once in awhile, has wifi and two clean towels (though a tad stained). simple set up, but for a pretty good price in Chiang Mai. cant complain much. it looks like a family business. the hosts are friendly (like any other Thai) but not exceptionally informative. do ask them for help though, they will offer you what you want most of the time.

location: with tha pae gate right behind you while facing the old town, the guesthouse is located towards your right hand side. this area is recommended by the very friendly host of another higher end guesthouse. advice given was to stick to this area, and not towards the left hand side of tha pae gate as that is where all the gogo bars are located. so choose it well according to the kinda holiday u are looking for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeeGooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Well Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Well Guest House

Property: Water Well Guest House
Address: 14 Ratchadamnoen Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Water Well Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Water Well Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing