We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel!”
Review of Aoi Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aoi Garden Home
Ranked #130 of 974 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place was wonderful, one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The garden was very nice for relaxing and chatting with other travelers. The price was unbeatable for the quality, and the staff was super helpful. Aoi is an amazing woman, she was able to give me advice on what tours to book, and she even arranged a bus ticket for me back to Bangkok with just a phone call. Then she had one of her staff take me to the bus office on his motorbike for free! I would highly recommend this place. The location is great, close to lots of the major temples and a fair number of bars/restaurants. They constantly clean the bathrooms and the rooms, and someone is always nearby if you have an issue. The breakfast is great, and they serve beers as well. You can't find a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 196 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a Double room in Aoi Garden Home. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the garden is beautiful and good to hang out and meet other travellers, everything is clean, even the bathroom that was used by many people was always clean. Rooms are basic but ok. Only the matresses are not very comfortable. Breakfast is good, so are the fruitshakes. Everything for reasonable prices. We really enjoyed staying at this lovely Hostel and would definetely come back!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bluecy5120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This little garden haven is located just inside the northern wall of the old city and close to the best street food area in chiang Mai (opposite north gate at night). The hostel is, as it suggests, built within a garden like environment with separate teak houses and an outdoor bar with plenty of tables. At night fairly lights create a lovely atmosphere to relax and meet other travellers. The room was clean and the toilets likewise. The staff, while friendly, looked shattered. They are on duty 24 hours and sleep behind the reception. They are very helpful but should get some rest :-) they deserve it. This place is so so cheap for what it offers .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazatkins2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I travelled alone to CM and found it really easy to meet people here because of the great community area set in the garden.

The dorms are not bunks and you get a locker for valuables. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Hospitality was great. They helped me organize a motorbike to rent and were able to answer many of my questions regarding activities, directions and food. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Kat_neezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Aoi is extremely friendly and approachable. The breakfast Menu is varied and of decent value. Our room didn't have raised mattresses which we didn't mind at all but some might. Location a bit off but don't let this deter you. Beautiful retreat In the city. Would have stayed longer than two nights of possible .Recommend a taxi from the airport as difficult to find. Have Thai spelling of street and phone number of hotel handy also to save time.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chubbyfunster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Clean, friendly, romantic, awesome, great coffee, great people, Aoi and her partner are great hosts. Great value for money. Will comeback for sure! I have been to many hostels. this is this second best budget place I have ever stayed in.
In the mornings (past 7:00) the street gets a bit loud, but what else can you expect for such a central location?

Room Tip: choose a room in the back. away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maitrifischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Aoi Garden Home for about a week in early October 2013 and we loved it! The dorms and private rooms are located in small wooden houses and in the middle there's a very cosy garden and a lovely pavillon to relax. The place was clean , very cheap (about 3€ per night and person) and you could get drinks and a good breakfast for moderate prices. But the best part of our stay was the warm welcome and great hospitality of the owner, Aoi! She's a really lovely person and was always there for help! We also booked a tour to Woody Elephant Camp at the hostel which we really recommend.
If I ever come to Chiang Mai again, this is the place I'll stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.4 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.8 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 395 in Chiang Mai
694 reviews
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#388 of 829 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoi Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoi Garden Home

Address: 51/1 Singharaj Soi4 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai, Thailand (Formerly Mojito Garden)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 974 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing