We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SOHOstel
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$113
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$86
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$96
$84
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$176
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$550
$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$375
$340
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$96
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
$59
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
49
96
51
22
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
96
51
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaarprivate roomperson dormcommon spacespeak great englishcheaper placesold cityclean roomssongkran festivalhot waterloi kroh roaddouble bedclose to the airportsunday walking streetvisit chiang maienjoyed my staythapae gate
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 236 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend and I was pleased. It was in the main square, and walking distance to the night market. I booked my ticket to pai and a cooking course with them so it wound up being quite cheap (169 baht a night). the bathrooms could've used some cleaning but I wouldn't say it was flithy. The dorms are pretty much air-conditioned all day which was nice if you wanted to sleep in the day. They stored your bags for free if you were coming back to stay which was nice. They didn't have my bed done when I showed up from the last person, but it was cleaned up immediately so I can't complain. The lockers were a little small for my backpack, but big enough to put valuables in. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

SOHostel is in a great spot, only about 5 minutes walking to the night market. It's also fairly close to the old city. The rooms were nice could have been a touch cleaner. The lockers provided were massive, you could put your whole backpack in if you wanted.

Negatives:
The girls bathroom was filthy. The showers were nice but very small and they really needed a clean. It also would have been nice if they provided hand soap. They offer bookings for various activities in Chiang Mai. Do not book the 1 day trek with Jumbo Elephants or any trip with Jumbo Elephants for that matter. My friends and I had an awful experience with them. Definitely do your own research on the companies they offer trips with.

Positives:
They have a washer and dryer! Be prepared though it takes a very long time. We also booked a cooking course through SOHostel with Asia Scenic Cooking school. One of the highlights of my trip so far.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLD94705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Randomly found this hostel on a booking website and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, spacious and every bed had a personal light and plug. Good air on and for £4 a night you cannot complain. We even stored our backpacks whilst we went to Pai before returning to stay off 5 nights. Free of charge

Showers and toilets sometimes were not always the cleanest but they were good facilities. The communal area and kitchen was great. 1 lift was very slow but hey the exercise was good for me.

I would not hesitate I recommending or staying here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First Hostel I have been to and it couldnt have been a better place to stay for a long term traveller. Paid $7 a night for over a week, the staff were very helpful and can speak very good english. The hostel was very clean and the reception is open 24/7 with relatively good Wifi facilities. It is a great way to meet fellow travellers and share some stories. From personal experiences me and my fellow travel partner were inspired by some of the other guests experiences from their travels. If you are going to stay in a coed dorm, generally most people are going to be friendly and up for a chat, why else would you book a room/hostel.

in terms of location. The hostel is located in a side street off the Night Bazaar with bars and a thai boxing stadium in the same street. You can book tours from the reception and other tourist information centres nearly every block surrounding the hostel. Staying at this hostel was a highlight of our trip! highly recommend

Room Tip: Level 4 had more Wifi reception
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe room, as a bit of a treat after doing a trek for a couple of days. The hostel is nice and new, with a fantastic common area and kitchen. The open-air design of the common room is fantastic. The location is great, being on the east side, about a 10-min walk from Tha Pae gate one way, and 5-min walk from the Night Bazaar the other way. Lots of little bars around the area.

The wifi was fast, but the problem was that every time you left the hostel, or even changed floors, you have to re-log into the wifi every time. It gets annoying when you go from your room to the common area, and need to sign in again.

The deluxe room was on the 2nd floor, above the common area, and here in lies one of the problems. Another being tiled floors. Noise travels, and when one of the drunkards in the roo upstairs dropped a bottle or fell over, it was heard. The noise from the common area travelled up the stair case, and these guys were not going to bed early. I might be getting a bit older, and it might seem like a whinge. I have stayed in hostels plenty of times before, but never have I been woken up so much by other guests. And I was in a private room!

There are a lot of young travellers at the hostel, and looking to get drunk every night. So if you're looking for some peace and quiet, don't choose this one. If you're looking for lots of partying, then this might be for you.

I must commend the cleaning staff of the hostel. Every morning, the common area and kitchen (which clearly has signs to clean up after yourself) were an absolute mess. Tables and chairs everywhere, empty bottles, spilt drinks, rubbish, everywhere. Yet day after day, they quickly restored these areas to pristine conditions, only to have it trashed again the next night.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank BeamerKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews