We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, clean, no soul”
Review of SOHOstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SOHOstel
Ranked #196 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New, clean, no soul”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice rooms with a chic boutique hotel feel. Not a lot of soul to the place, but full of backpackers and a location that is central. Everything is new. Overall, a good place to stay, although on the more expensive side for Chiang Mai it seemed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sanfrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    93
    49
    20
    18
See reviews for
5
22
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

So Hostel is really modern which is good, the staff aren't overly friendly but it's a big backpackers so that's not that important. Rooms are good and the air conditioning works well. Bathroom cleanliness is a slight issue, clumps of hair in the showers and the toilets had cigarette butts in there for days before being cleaned. Price is good and location is excellent, I would consider staying here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowielogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Quite a new building with new facilities. Staff are fine just not the overly friendly Thai hospitality we've become used to. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm (travelling in a group of 6 so had the whole room to ourselves) and it was clean, comfy beds and air conditioning was good. Shared bathroom is ok, the showers are quite small which will be the only downside. Best location... Half way between the old town and the market areas.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franceslockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I spent three nights at this hostel sharing a twin room with a friend. Rooms are clean and modern. Towels are changed everyday and cleaning is done daily. Beds are not so comfortable. Except for the morning female staff, the rest of the staff wasn't very helpful,sometimes irritated by our queries. I expected better service for a high price hostel.

If you only care about cleanliness, then I recommend you to go. If not, try your luck elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpbar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here for one week in September and was shocked by how rude the front desk was to me and other travelers at the hostel. Only one person on the staff is fluent in English and the others are of no help when a guest needs something in the room fixed, directions, or advice on day trips. The rooms are tidy but there is no toilet paper in bathroom stalls. You have to grab paper at the one dispenser at the bathroom entrance and take it into the stall - ridiculous, To top it off, the place is STILL UNDER CONSTRUCTION!!!!! Only a few floors are complete so guest are woken up by jackhammers downstairs every morning. The noise continues until 5 or 6 so guests can't make use of the lounge area in the lobby during the during the day. Then for the wifi, each guests needs a unique username and password, available at the front desk, that only works for 24 hours. Though the wifi is free, the hostel charges a ridiculous rate to use the two computers in the lobby - twice the rate of cafes down the street. Overall, the rooms are clean but everything else about this place is average to poor. Perhaps the ambiance will improve when the building is complete....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is as close to staying at a hotel while staying in a hostel as you can get. Everything is very tidy and clean. The keycard access to the hotel itself and the dorm gives you a good feeling of security. The communal area is quite large and the kitchen is very high tech. During my stay, there wasn't anyone else there unfortunatly which made me leave after one night since I was travelling alone. The hostel is perfect, exept for the fact that I may not have that backpackers atmosphere to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EinzRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stay only 1 night cause we want to try many hotel for our trip on 1-8 Aug ' 12 in Chaingmai

Hostel quite brand new ' even service only 80% due to it's not totally finish yet since open on May'12 but very clean in common area

No breakfast available but they provide the kitchenware , yes that's brand new due to not too much using , guest just wanna flop in to their bunk after hanking out or ran the scooter all day long. And many. Restaurant in Loy Kroh area .

No soap dispenser in the shower room ( share ) , no bath room amenities but the travel size is for sell at the reception , or you have to bring it by your own which we always did . Shower room quite tighten with 1.5 X 1.5 SQM And only 3 hooks for your towel ( can be rent at thereception for THB 50 ) g and new cloths

Washing machine available on the 1 floor which is the same to the kitchen& dining area, brand new also

Access with key card both of the main entrance and the bed room , thats great , and the reception always available with CCTV.Very nice to helpus for sigthseeing.

Bed room so clean and comfy, this is the best thing in our trip. Bed sheet is new and no spot , locker is provide in the bedroom but it's beeter if you have your onw padlock.

For the next trip, solo travel , will be back to Sohostel again with the promotion for low season THB 149/ night/ person

But for the couple , there' s many guest house in this rate for 2 pp which much more private& comfort in Chaingmai

Ps. Please brings the snore guard for the plasure stay .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamonlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#31 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brick House Hostel
Brick House Hostel
#61 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Absolute House
Absolute House
#24 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#53 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mojito Garden 2
Mojito Garden 2
#207 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SOHOstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOHOstel

Property: SOHOstel
Address: 64/2 Loy Khro Rd Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SOHOstel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SOHOstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing