We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stay here with my company quite often and it is always a pleasure, the people are nice, very helpful, the rooms are lovely, beds are comfortable, and it's quiet and relaxing
just like a small family hotel should be and now the internet is fast as well
top marks thanks Opium

Book early to be sure of getting in around christmas and holidays sometimes it's full but really worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 374 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Can't fault this lovely place. Friendly staff and great service. Make sure you don’t miss the breakfast! We also stayed at another so called 4 star hotel yet the opium was our favourite hotel without a doubt. We really enjoyed our time there so the opium would be the main reason for us to visit Chiangmai again. This is the place to come if you are looking for relaxation and a chilled out atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElinnaHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Warm atmosphere. Very homey. Service is fantastic, very friendly. Enjoyed our stay in a nice, quiet environment. Its a little away from the hustle and bustle of the city but still witin walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've had the great experience of staying at The Opium during Feb. 2014. I found the accomodations and staff friendly and willing to make my stay in Chiang Mai the best experience possible. I recommend it to any traveller who is looking for a clean and quite place to rest up at.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is beyond my expect, the price is reasonable and the hotel is clean and spacious,all the staff very helpful and get us everywhere we want to go.It is a little bit far from the old city but it is only about 15 to 20 min. walk to the old city area,or you can arrange the front desk staff to call a taxi to take you to the city and rent a bike and ride for your stay,I myself went to the city and ride on a segway and tour the city and the temples.It,s great in the city of Chiang Mai get away from the crowded breach of pattaya.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jialing02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I and my family chose to stay at The Opium because of its great reviews. Once we arrived here, we was amazed. Everything here is new and beautiful. The room is spacious and clean. On the top of that, the price was very reasonable. We asked the staff when we checked in to put an extra bed in our room because we got one more trip mate. The staff managed to put it in the room quickly. The Information of the city was given clearly and professionally. This made of stay in Chiang Mai even easier. If you don't mind living outside the old city (2 kms north), we highly recommend you to stay here :).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pongkun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel is not inside the old city, but staff were very helpful, I could walk to old city about 15-20mins. It's not difficult, and it's good value. Since its not inside old city, all restaurants near the hotel serve very local and tasty food. So it's not bad!

We stayed at twins bedroom, n 2 bedroom suite, both were great! Very clear, the lady clear up everyday. They provide Thai breakfast n western too.

staff were very helpful, n provided us very detailed information. They help us translate to the driver, so we could go everywhere very easily. It took about few mins to old city, from 130 to 150BHT, n just 15mins to airport .

The only bad thing was the pub next to the hotel,n very noise till 12am. But that's is out of their control, if you don't mind, n looking for good value hotel, this must be the one you need.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank wingx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 387 in Chiang Mai
679 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 387 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 387 in Chiang Mai
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#5 of 387 in Chiang Mai
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#18 of 387 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
3.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel

Address: 41/1 Soi Viangbua, Chotana Rd. | Changpuek Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 888 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $24 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing