We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just my kind of bar”
Review of Lost Hut

Lost Hut
Ranked #6 of 36 Nightlife in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Run by Sai (Lahu hilltribe) and Blake (Canadian) this relaxed little bamboo bar is a great place to chill out and talk with travelers, local Farang and Thais. As the reviews show, we play a wide mix of tasteful music that you aren't likely to hear anywhere else. Also, you won't get the typical hassles here associated with many bars. We are happy to give you info on traveling in the region, and especially motorcycling! We've been running the Lost Hut since 2005 and know how to look after people.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just my kind of bar”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Eclectic selection of great music, friendly staff, cozy quiet spot, lots of changing happy faces - what a great spot to meet people, relax at the end of the day and just have a chat. It quickly became our favourite late-evening/night spot to have a couple of cold beers and talk about everything and nothing at the same time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NimoDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    0
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendliest place in town”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Truly a lost hut... small and cozy but that's what makes it charming. Really great friendly staff. Mostly foreigner customers. Always a great mix of music and reasonably priced drinks. If you're looking for a friendly place to have a drink away from the noisy bars and bar girls, this is the place. They don't have food but will have it brought in if you are looking for something to eat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Overrated reviews dubious”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a tiny bar in a tin/wooden shed in a soi of Moon Muang Road. It's main claim to fame is that is near Dash Thai restaurant where it gets its food from. Cold beer and pleasant staff put it about level with about half the small bars in Chiang Mai but no more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Lynch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a skunked beer, and bad service...”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I heard good things about the bar online stopped by lay time I was in Chiang Mai an they were closed. Stopped by tonight ordered a Heineken and it was skunked it was disgusting and undrinkable. I asked if I could get a replacement they said no, and no refund... I will never come here again, and would jot recommend it to anyone...

Helpful?
4 Thank Poonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, Hidden corner Bar with Great Service & Drinks”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by after having dinner at the Dash Teak House across the road. We had read the reviews beforehand and decided to stop by.

It's a great little corner bar with cheap drinks and cool little atmosphere. The music and crowd were very American-esque and the bartenders with very friendly. It is a great little place to have a few drinks but we only stayed for a couple as we were looking to get to something a bit more upbeat.

Check this place out early in the night then head elsewhere if you are looking for something a bit more uptempo.

Helpful?
1 Thank KGarcia0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Hut also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Lost Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing