We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel”
Review of FWD House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FWD House
Ranked #275 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night but I really loved the set-up of this hostel. Bunk beds are ok, but it's nice to have your own bed. It's nice to have the privacy of a small wall around your bed, but still have the social aspect of sharing a room with other people. The staff were all lovely, apparently next year they are opening some more hostels in other Thai cities - I will definitely be keeping an eye out for them!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallycatriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
2
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed in this hostel in oktober 2012 and i can say that it was a great stay. It is a big room with 10 beds, everyone has got his own little space, and a big locker for youre backpack(padlock included). wich i always like. The showers and toilets are clean. you can get breakfast and a nice curry for diner.
Trips can be booked here aswell. The owners are so nice and will help you where they can.
The location is also good, just around the corner is the Sunday market (really nice). I can really recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the best place I stayed at during my entire time in Thailand. The box beds are very comfortable and provide privacy, even with all of them in one room (which was clean and bug-free). Service is top-notch, and if you want to arrange a trip around Chang Mai, just look through their binder of trips, tell them what you want to do, and they'll call and set everything up for you. All food is made on site, and is delicious (it's been a few weeks, but I still miss the savory curry). If you stay here, you'll truly feel like you're at home in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I don't even know how many days I ended up staying. It wasn't part of the plan but I fell in love with Chiang Mai and FWD House that made the stay feel like a stable, warm, incredibly agreable home.
Win and his wife are incredibly nice young people with probably the cutest daughter in the entire world.
The bathrooms and dorm were always SUPER clean, the private box bed allowed for some privacy...top value for little money

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephinekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

They treat you like family. I've never felt such personal care in hospitality anywhere else. You cannot buy 5 star service this good. Facilities are super clean and the location is great. Recommended times 1M!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Box beds fantastic! Best value for money. I stayed 6 days in this hostel. I'm satisfied with everything about this hostel. Staff also owners of this hostel are really kind and helpful couple. They treated me so well.Next time I come back to Chiang Mai, I'll still be in this hostel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ke X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September 2012. Their boxbeds are ingenious. While I shared the room with other travelers, the boxbeds provided some privacy and an illusion that I had a private room. The place is super clean all the damn time! And the owners are the kindest, warmest people I've met in Thailand!

Met awesome people here, too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoshkeDimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#98 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
TCH Guest House & Hostel
TCH Guest House & Hostel
#256 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
de Rachamanka
de Rachamanka
#90 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
#65 of 733 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pat's Klangviang
Pat's Klangviang
#116 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Huen Phen Chiang Mai
Baan Huen Phen Chiang Mai
#44 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FWD House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FWD House

Property: FWD House
Address: 78 Ratmakka road | Pha Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For each of our guests we provide a private, box-style bed with personal locker. We also provide water bottles, bedroom slippers, shower cap, and Wi-Fi internet free of charge. We are located just a 10-minute walk from the main strip of bars in Chiang Mai, and information on local tours and activities can be provided. Our staff is welcoming, friendly, and can cater to your personal needs.Our restaurant is open daily from 8am until 8pm and provides a wide range of both original Thai and western meals at a budget price. In the mornings we serve breakfast, both western and traditional, as well as juices, coffee, milk shakes and a selection of local teas.We are 4.3 km from Chiang Mai International Airport, 4.5 km from the Chiang Mai train station, 5 km from the bus station, 3 km from Chiang Mai Night Bazaar and 20 m to the main temple of Chiang Mai called “Wat Chedi Luang”. Our hostel can be reached by Taxi, Tuk tuk, or red car. If you wish, we can also reserve transportation for you at a fair price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing