We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best priced, the friendliest staff and an amazing concept. Backpackers heaven.”
Review of FWD House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FWD House
Ranked #274 of 867 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best priced, the friendliest staff and an amazing concept. Backpackers heaven.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A bit hidden in one of the side streets of 'sunday walking street' we found this hostel. A sign said 'boxbeds' for 150 baht. As we were paying a lot more we had a look and we were impressed. The dorm was cool, clean and quiet and contained around 10 'boxbeds' which give you a lot of privacy. The showers were hot and clean and the design of the whole place is just so modern! But the best part of the hostel is the staff! I can honestly say they are the friendliest people I have ever met. They made us thai specialities every day (for free, just becsuse they wanted us to try) on their small terrace. They just really make you feel at home and I was really touched by their mentality. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. And oh you should book your trips with them as well! They gave us a free night for that. And they have to scooters for rent as well. Just go to FWD house. !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahGarcia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
2
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, we turned up without a booking and had to stay elsewhere :-( when we returned after two days they had space. The box-style beds give you all the privacy you need with your own personal locker. very clean bathroom with an edgy industrial feel and nice dressing room for comfort and privacy. The only drawback is we didnt have time to meet other travellers, there is not a big socialising area. The staff however are very friendly, they gave us free tea and banana cake- YUM. Couldnt reccomend highly enough and very cheap!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyflowerface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The two nicest people I met in all of my travels round Thailand own FWD house! It was absolutely fantastic and I can't reccommend it enough. They even went to get me medicine when I needed it! In a great location an they offer everything you could need. It was just what I needed after a long coach ride and being dropped in Chang Mai at 5:30 am. Fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank si828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tough to come up with enough superlatives for FWD House. Spent 5 nights here in early September '12 (en route to Mongolia for a month) on a brief recon of Chiang Mai for possible resettlement after completing 9 months teaching EFL in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.

The "box beds" are utterly BRILLIANT! Each with a huge (floor to ceiling) storage unit (w/ sturdy supplied padlock) at one end of the (comfy) bed, and a bed-light (hallelujah!) at the other. The storage unit has wide doors, which when opened, effectively provides you with your own private bitty hotel room!

Combine that with a fantastic location (on quiet street inside old city walls a short stroll from the market, etc.), air-con (8pm-8am), super reliable/swift wifi, plenty of hot water in the (spic 'n span) shared bathroom (cement, as that's the most sanitary in Asia) a great little open-air restaurant (with fantastic Thai curries, eggs for breakfast, etc.) plus complimentary snacks each evening, and... best of all, the most delightful and helpful Thai owners who (both) speak excellent English (I haven't a clue why another reviewer said otherwise).

Indeed, they both bent over backwards to help me - taking me my car around to all the English schools to inquire into teaching possibilities (many, if you have a CELTA), as well as to check out long-term apartment rentals.

Better yet, (blessedly) not your party hostel. And all this - for just $5 per night! Seriously, does it get any better?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelnLass111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneeickel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at the FWD GH in August 2012. Rooms were clean, every bed in the dormroom has its own locker and because of the box type of beds you have privacy even though it is a dormroom. But what mostly amazed me, is the owner family. Always a free tea, always help with everything. These guys take time for their customers. Awesome ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I initially booked for 3 nights and then extended for another two. I've now come back to stay longer and would definitely stay again. The hostel is clean and it's quiet in the night time, the owners are amazing and I've met some really amazing people while I've been staying here. The trips organised by the hostel are fantastic and they cook a great thai green curry too :-) The box beds make the room feel really private so it's not like staying in a usual dorm. There are lockers, towels and drinking water and the location couldn't be better. The owners are just wonderful and I don't think I'd have stayed as long if it hadn't have been for all their kindness and great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afirth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The most amazing owners I've ever met at a hostel. They are extremely nice and helpful, and within three days made me feel like I was staying at a friend's house rather than in a hostel dorm. There were so many thoughtful little gestures or touches that added up to make my stay there a truly wonderful experience. Too many to list, but the food at the restaurant was delicious and there's free wi-fi and water.

It's a 10-bed dorm, but the box beds allow for individual privacy (though bring earplugs if you need them as it's still a dorm). Each bed comes with an individual locker that's the size of a mini-closet, an electrical outlet, and a lamp. The room is air-conditioned at night. The hostel is also clean and a good value for money.

It's not a party hostel, but as of August 2012, there's only one 10-bed dorm and I met some very cool people when I stayed there. I would definitely stay at FWD House again if I'm in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#12 of 762 in Chiang Mai
860 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FWD House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FWD House

Property: FWD House
Address: 78 Ratmakka road | Pha Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 867 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For each of our guests we provide a private, box-style bed with personal locker. We also provide water bottles, bedroom slippers, shower cap, and Wi-Fi internet free of charge. We are located just a 10-minute walk from the main strip of bars in Chiang Mai, and information on local tours and activities can be provided. Our staff is welcoming, friendly, and can cater to your personal needs.Our restaurant is open daily from 8am until 8pm and provides a wide range of both original Thai and western meals at a budget price. In the mornings we serve breakfast, both western and traditional, as well as juices, coffee, milk shakes and a selection of local teas.We are 4.3 km from Chiang Mai International Airport, 4.5 km from the Chiang Mai train station, 5 km from the bus station, 3 km from Chiang Mai Night Bazaar and 20 m to the main temple of Chiang Mai called “Wat Chedi Luang”. Our hostel can be reached by Taxi, Tuk tuk, or red car. If you wish, we can also reserve transportation for you at a fair price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing