We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buaraya Hotel Chingmai
Ranked #292 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms and good value for money”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and I would definitely return. The hotel lobby/entrance area is beautiful and a lovely sight to arrive to. The rooms are absolutely huge and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean and modern. We found it useful that a fridge was provided and there was free reliable wifi.

Location was great for us - just across the road outside the walled old city. Walking distance into the city but much easier to grab a tuk tuk or use a moped. Right next to a Tesco Lotus and the street restaurants where the local Thai's ate at night - never a shortage of food! Lovely and quiet in the hotel but just off a busy road so easy to pick up tuk tuks etc.

Staff weren't particularly friendly but equally they weren't rude at all.

Extremely good value for money - would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajp124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    34
    11
    11
See reviews for
9
35
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Positive:
- The rooms are huge and you get a nice bathtub.
- Beds very comfortable and king sized.
- Clean and quiet.
- Good Thai food market outside, so you can eat for 2$ a night if you want. Tesco and 7-11 is also just outside.
-Excellent value for money. (booked on Agoda and got a good price)

Negatives
-breakfast sucks, caters more to Asian visitors, if you like stir fry for breaky then you will be fine.
-About 15min walk to Tai Pae Gate, you can get something a lot closer to the action if that's important to you.
-For some reason i find the name almost impossible to pronounce, so i seem to have difficulty directing tuk tuks home. Could be just me?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveflashpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Buaraya, a beautiful hotel with such friendly staff. Rooms are air-con, spacious, have a tv with plenty of channels, free wifi. A great location, not far from the centre of Chiang Mai and the night market, tuk tuks are all around to bring you in if needed. Also right beside a tesco which comes in handy for water etc. for the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahGainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is really nice, clean, with free wifi, not far from the tourist area and very close to the old city. Temples, market, tourist office are quite near and offer a lot of possibilities of sightseeing.
Staff of the hotel were polite and smiling but not really helpful when I asked where I can get tourist information on the city, any advice for a good restaurant in the area or to book a taxi for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laureki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited the buaraya hotel following a recommendation from a friend, we didn't know anything about it but decided to give it a try. It's easy to find and get to from in a taxi. The hotel is in the center of the city. All temples distance to walk. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOyo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fantastic location for all temples, food, markets and sight seeing. Friendly staffs and helpful. Free wifi in room and good connect. We definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ouika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bua Raya Hotel
Bua Raya Hotel
#259 of 386 in Chiang Mai
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#80 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Pure Hotel Chiangmai
Le Pure Hotel Chiangmai
#111 of 386 in Chiang Mai
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#134 of 386 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fuengfa Place
Fuengfa Place
#187 of 386 in Chiang Mai
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
#296 of 386 in Chiang Mai
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buaraya Hotel Chingmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buaraya Hotel Chingmai

Property: Buaraya Hotel Chingmai
Address: 234/18 Maneenopparat Rd, Muang, Old City | Tambon Sripoom Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buaraya Hotel Chingmai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Buaraya Hotel Chingmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing