We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad points.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buaraya Hotel Chingmai
Ranked #271 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good and bad points.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Positive:
- The rooms are huge and you get a nice bathtub.
- Beds very comfortable and king sized.
- Clean and quiet.
- Good Thai food market outside, so you can eat for 2$ a night if you want. Tesco and 7-11 is also just outside.
-Excellent value for money. (booked on Agoda and got a good price)

Negatives
-breakfast sucks, caters more to Asian visitors, if you like stir fry for breaky then you will be fine.
-About 15min walk to Tai Pae Gate, you can get something a lot closer to the action if that's important to you.
-For some reason i find the name almost impossible to pronounce, so i seem to have difficulty directing tuk tuks home. Could be just me?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveflashpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    35
    10
    10
See reviews for
9
32
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Buaraya, a beautiful hotel with such friendly staff. Rooms are air-con, spacious, have a tv with plenty of channels, free wifi. A great location, not far from the centre of Chiang Mai and the night market, tuk tuks are all around to bring you in if needed. Also right beside a tesco which comes in handy for water etc. for the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahGainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is really nice, clean, with free wifi, not far from the tourist area and very close to the old city. Temples, market, tourist office are quite near and offer a lot of possibilities of sightseeing.
Staff of the hotel were polite and smiling but not really helpful when I asked where I can get tourist information on the city, any advice for a good restaurant in the area or to book a taxi for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laureki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited the buaraya hotel following a recommendation from a friend, we didn't know anything about it but decided to give it a try. It's easy to find and get to from in a taxi. The hotel is in the center of the city. All temples distance to walk. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOyo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fantastic location for all temples, food, markets and sight seeing. Friendly staffs and helpful. Free wifi in room and good connect. We definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ouika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bua Raya Hotel
Bua Raya Hotel
#237 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#67 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#132 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#216 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buarawong Residence
Buarawong Residence
#183 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#39 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buaraya Hotel Chingmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buaraya Hotel Chingmai

Property: Buaraya Hotel Chingmai
Address: 234/18 Maneenopparat Rd, Muang, Old City | Tambon Sripoom Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buaraya Hotel Chingmai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Buaraya Hotel Chingmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing