We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keeping up the standards”

Success Italian Food
Ranked #453 of 2,102 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Nice location in the Malin Plaza Night Market opposite the Huaykaew entrance to Chiang Mai University. (On the left hand side of the plaza next to a Japanese restaurant) On the cheap, it might be the best place to get pizza in Chiang Mai. They also make their own pasta every day which is very good.
Restaurant details
Description: Nice location in the Malin Plaza Night Market opposite the Huaykaew entrance to Chiang Mai University. (On the left hand side of the plaza next to a Japanese restaurant) On the cheap, it might be the best place to get pizza in Chiang Mai. They also make their own pasta every day which is very good.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“keeping up the standards”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Last year I visited Chiang Mai with my son and his wife all 3 of us lovers of Italy where we've lived. We chanced upon this unpretentious restaurant with its terrace eating area selling really acceptable pizzas and pastas at most accessible prices. It became a favourite.
I'm now back in Chiang Mai for a much longer stay and returned to the restaurant to find that SUCCESS remains just that. Great value for money.
And my Mango smoothie was huge and almost sinfully good.
I must also corroborate the positive comments of other reviewers about the thoroughly friendly and discreet service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnydiScozia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value Italian food”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

After eating thai food for the past 3 weeks I was craving some Italian, particularly pizza. I did a search on TripAdvisor and chose this restaurant. We had a lot of trouble finding it as they had recently moved from their previous location and and trip advisor hadn't updated the new address as yet. Going by the description from other reviews we found it on the ping river, and I'm glad we did.
The pizzas are yummy and the yogart smoothie was delicious. Make sure you ask the waitress what fruit is in season if you want fresh fruit and not frozen.
So if your craving olives, sundries tomatoes, mozzarella cheese or olive oil for a decent price, head there now.

Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, superb service!!!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

After a long day spent trekking with elephants, my wife had been craving some pizza. To our surprise, we found this Italian restaurant and were impressed by not only the cheap prices, but also the photos of the food displayed on the street. Pizza, smoothies were SUPERB! Definitely check this place out!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrchibolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty & great service”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Just had a really nice & simple lunch experience, with some very authentic-tasting Italian food.
We both had the spicy tomato sauce with spaghetti and shared a green salad. As I'm a vegetarian they left out the bacon & anchovies from the salad.
Mmmmmm great, served with sliced French bread (the salad).
We didn't try the wine, maybe next time.
The bill came to about THB 400 for 2 (my partner also had a salmon steak/cutlet)
Very reasonable prices, and the lady there was very friendly and helpful.

Tip: the location is east of the river, just south of the bridge and just north of Rimping Supermarket.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrazzledLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“fantastic Italian dinner !!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We came across Success Italian Food while walking to Love At First Bite ( bakery) where they display a banner that says Home Made Pasta . We had dinner here twice and we strongly recommend visitors to try out this place. Everything made fresh and hot . We had pumpkin soup, seafood pasta ( some just with olive oil and some with cream sauce ), pizza, salad and a very special mango yoghurt drink. And very reasonable price !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jourykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Success Italian Food also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Success Italian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing