We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Varada Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Varada Place
Ranked #26 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough! I thoroughly enjoyed staying there, the price was unbelievable for the quality of the hotel. Everything was spotless, fresh towels and water every day and nice clean bedding.

Varada was amazing, as was her husband. They were both extremely helpful with info about the area and things to do. Varada recommended many things for us to do and we thoroughly enjoyed everything.

If you're going to Chiang Mai, stay here!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much .
Regards
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 688 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

i hate to review a place like this because it is so overall fantastic that i do not want anyone else to know about it and risk not getting a room the next time or paying a higher price.
But everything anyone said positive is true.
What a value!!
Only problem is the air in March/April in Chiang mai which is not Varada fault.

CHEERZ!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Moses K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you very much . I like your words .
Kind regard
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Best price for the value you receive. Overall clean room, beds, pillows, fridge and toilet. Fresh clean towels, soap bars and bottled drinking water daily. There's a pipe at the balcony where you can do your simple washing and drying. Despite it's 30mins walk to the old city, Varada is no doubt quiet and full with amenities you need. 1 baht for 1 litre water refill from a vending machine beside the premise. Also you get self-operated coin system we washing machine and you are allowed to dry ur washings at the back of the building (ask the staff for direction). Shopping mall nearby in just 10-15 mins walk where you can get cheap daily food from Tops supermarket, decent food court with daily promotion items costing around 30baht to 45 baht, and the bakery starts 'buy 1 free 1' from 7.30pm to 8pm onwards. 5 nights with Varada.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind words .
Best regards
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Varada is the most clean well maintained budget accommodation I have stayed in. It is a short taxi ride to town (which costs very little) and Varada will tell you how to get the cheap prices. Nearby is plenty of yummy food options, we loved Sandwich something (can't remember the exact name) you can custom make burgers and sandwiches, so good! If we are ever in Chang Mai again we will be staying here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AALouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you very much .
Looking forward to see you again .
Best regards
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Selected Varada Place after many positive reviews on TA.

Booked 1 night at first as wasn't sure location or hotel was ok.

Ended up staying about 5 nights. Wanted to stay longer but as Songkran was peak season and I didn't book in advance, they had no more rooms for us and we had to move to a cheaper and "not as nice" hotel around the corner.

Rooms are clean, bright and nice. Only suggtion to Mdm Varada is maybe to decorate the fluorescent light tube in room with some diffuser or shield. Direct light is a bit glaring. Also changing tube from daylight colour to warm white would make the room look nicer.

Location is actually ok. Across road about 100m away is a large shopping centre with a Tops supermarket, banks, fast food and many other shops. There are convenience stores within 50m walk. Self serviced washing machines, a good massage shop and fruit drink stands are just on the ground floor.

We discovered a good area for food and shopping just down the road opposite Chiang Mai Uni. It's called Malilin Centre. I believe it more for Uni students hence, cheap affordable food, clothes, phone accessories and stuff for teenagers and young people. It's only 15 mins away by motorcycle.

The main city (within the moat and walls) is only 10 mins away by bike. We felt this is just right as we're away from the noise but not too far away.

Varada can also provide a fair priced airport transfer and general taxi service. It driven by one of her female relative and we've engaged her a number of times.

In conclusion, great place, affordable, safe and comfy place to stay.

Richard and Ben
April 2014

Room Tip: There's a bit of construction going on opposite hotel so noise may be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricksdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for your suggestion . I think you have a great time in Thailand .
Best regards .
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. The manager, Varada, was amazingly kind and helpful to us. She helped us find better deals on tours than the expensive prices that the touristy guides charge. The rooms were immaculate. The proximity to everything was great. The night guard was friendly and helpful. Overall the value and experience were worthy of being highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you very much . I hope you have a wonderful holiday in Thailand .
Best wishes
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Thank you Varada for a wonderful stay at your place, it was very relaxing.
Good location, you can hop on a tuc tuc or a red taxi and go to the night markets - agree a price before you get on though. 10-15 minute ride away between 20-40 baht pp.

Shopping mall and 7eleven a few minutes walk away.

The lovely lady next to the hotel in the travel centre can book your trips and gave us fantastic advise on what to book, we done the elephant mahout trekking 2300 baht pp for a day trip - a must do and the Thai best cooking school for 1000 baht pp for the day. Both amazing days out :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HA90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your writing for my place .
It is important things if you know the price for a taxi before you get on is much better for you .
I always told my customer to asking me if you need to know or need my suggestion then do not hesitate . I am ready to explain to every customers .
Best wishes .
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#71 of 394 in Chiang Mai
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#185 of 394 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#24 of 394 in Chiang Mai
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#172 of 394 in Chiang Mai
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
B2 Green
B2 Green
#98 of 394 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varada Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varada Place

Address: 10 Ratchaphruek Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $16 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Varada Place 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Varada Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing