We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with fantastic owner!!”
Review of Varada Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varada Place
Ranked #26 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Verada place and loved it. Our rom was very clean and comfortable, good working shower and AC and complementary water given too. The best thing about this place though is the owner; Verada is a lovely warm person who helped us by giving advice on what to do, how to get there etc. She also phoned taxis for us and let us use her laptop to do something after we'd checked out. Even though it is a short walk from the walled city, there is a lovely cheap restaurant two doors down, a great massage parlour next door and a supermarket 2 mins away. We'd highly recommened this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank excited_euro_hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 681 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at Veradaplece for fifteen consecutive nights for pleasure. Excellent value for money. The rooms are average sized but very clkean with well kept bathrooms, a refrigarator and a microwave. Fast and free Wifi. Good location near Niman, shops, supermarkets, restaurants, public transport,... Try the noodleshop around the corner. Very good and cheap laundryservice is available in the same building. The rooms not close the Little Café are quiter. I will definitely be returning to Varadaplace :). I had a marvelous stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveChiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are of a good standard with all that you need for a short stay. They are spacious and very clean. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. My only complaint is the location, it's not really by anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a great stay here. Room was large and clean, and the bathroom was new. Varada is a lovely lady who is so helpful, whether it be about what to see/visit or local services, she really made our trip to Chiang Mai. It's less that 10 minute walk to the old city, and their are bikes and scooters available to rent near by if you prefer that to walking as Chiang Mai is not one of the most pedestrian friendly places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazdafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although a small taxi ride from the main tourist area, this place in a great place to stay. It is in a area with narrow quiet streets. There is a small bar about two doors away and a great place for breakfast about 2 minutes walk away. To get into town it will cost 30 baht and take about 10 minutes. The lady who owns it is very helpful and speaks great English. There is a small travel agent next door with a nice lady who can help with bus trips etc. The hotel is very close to the airport. Laundry machines outside 20 baht a wash or a cheap Laundry service for 40 baht a kilo. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Varada Place for a couple of days while passing though Chang Mai. It was handy to Doi Suthep mountain, Nimmanhaemin road district where there are some great cafes and shopping. An only 10 mins walk to the old city wall. The room was very clean and had all the facilities travelers require. It is easy to get to from the station or bus depot, get on a red taxi and ask for Varada Place, or Rachaphruk road off Huay Kaew road.

Room Tip: rooms at the northern end over look a late night bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A friend recommended Varada Place to me and I couldn't have been more satisfied. If you are looking for a monthly or long-term stay, I highly recommend it. I rented a room for one month and was completely satisfied with the experience. The building is very new - constructed within the last two years - so everything is in excellent condition. The owner, Varada, is almost always present at the front office and is a wealth of knowledge and advice. The prices may be a bit more than you might be able to find elsewhere, but the rooms and building are very new and clean, and the staff are respectful and helpful. Varada will almost certainly go out of her way to ensure that you have the answers to questions you have, even if it means driving you to the best store to buy something you need for class, your job, or for your room (she did this with me on several occasions). Regarding location, the hotel is within walking distance of the Kad Suan Kaew shopping mall, which has a Tops Market on the ground floor for your grocery-shopping convenience. There are numerous cheap places to eat around the hotel as well, as the Santitham area is a mostly student-populated area (though without the noise and nocturnal disturbances one might expect from such a place).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side can sometimes be a bit louder due to the bar not far away in that direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gogandhi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#58 of 388 in Chiang Mai
594 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 388 in Chiang Mai
911 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#23 of 388 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#196 of 388 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#87 of 388 in Chiang Mai
280 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#152 of 388 in Chiang Mai
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varada Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varada Place

Address: 10 Ratchaphruek Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $16 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Varada Place 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Varada Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing