We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean place with helpful staff in a nice area”
Review of Varada Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Varada Place
Ranked #25 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although a small taxi ride from the main tourist area, this place in a great place to stay. It is in a area with narrow quiet streets. There is a small bar about two doors away and a great place for breakfast about 2 minutes walk away. To get into town it will cost 30 baht and take about 10 minutes. The lady who owns it is very helpful and speaks great English. There is a small travel agent next door with a nice lady who can help with bus trips etc. The hotel is very close to the airport. Laundry machines outside 20 baht a wash or a cheap Laundry service for 40 baht a kilo. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Varada Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 679 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Varada Place for a couple of days while passing though Chang Mai. It was handy to Doi Suthep mountain, Nimmanhaemin road district where there are some great cafes and shopping. An only 10 mins walk to the old city wall. The room was very clean and had all the facilities travelers require. It is easy to get to from the station or bus depot, get on a red taxi and ask for Varada Place, or Rachaphruk road off Huay Kaew road.

Room Tip: rooms at the northern end over look a late night bar...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A friend recommended Varada Place to me and I couldn't have been more satisfied. If you are looking for a monthly or long-term stay, I highly recommend it. I rented a room for one month and was completely satisfied with the experience. The building is very new - constructed within the last two years - so everything is in excellent condition. The owner, Varada, is almost always present at the front office and is a wealth of knowledge and advice. The prices may be a bit more than you might be able to find elsewhere, but the rooms and building are very new and clean, and the staff are respectful and helpful. Varada will almost certainly go out of her way to ensure that you have the answers to questions you have, even if it means driving you to the best store to buy something you need for class, your job, or for your room (she did this with me on several occasions). Regarding location, the hotel is within walking distance of the Kad Suan Kaew shopping mall, which has a Tops Market on the ground floor for your grocery-shopping convenience. There are numerous cheap places to eat around the hotel as well, as the Santitham area is a mostly student-populated area (though without the noise and nocturnal disturbances one might expect from such a place).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side can sometimes be a bit louder due to the bar not far away in that direction...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gogandhi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ok to start off if you are used to staying at Hiltons and Marriots forget it. For those who are on a bit of a budget and want a nice clean friendly well located place well look no further. This well located little hotel is right near all the good things Chiang Mai has to offer. 10 mins walk to 'The Harbour' a Japanese inspired food precinct, 2 mins walk to one of Chiang Mais' major shopping malls, right around the corner from a Mexican restaurant and a trendy little pub, 10 mins walk into the delights of 'Old Town' Chiang Mai and Wat Chedi Lang and whatever other delights you are fortunate enough to stumble upon. But thats not all this place has too offer. The friendliness of the owners is what makes this place. Abe (the owners husband) is a UK expat who is great to talk to and let you know the sights to see and things to do in Chiang Mai. Having Lived in the UK his English is excellent. His wife, the owner (who's name unfortunately escapes me) also speaks very good english and having grown up in Chiang Mai is a wealth of local knowledge surpassed by none.
They made me feel at home here and she (the owner) even took me out to a local restaurant for lunch on my last day which is something I've never had any hotel owner do before. The w-ifi is great and the rooms are clean, they aren't brand new but really who cares?
I had a fantastic stay in what was a fantastic town full of fantastic people

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANTtheAUSSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went to the Ram Hospital which is very near the guesthouse.Varada the owner offered me a lift and said she would bring anything i needed to hospital. The rooms were spotless and new. Great friendly staff including all night security guard. I couldn't ask for a better place to stay in. Extra bonus it is a great price too!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank weaverwoman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Finding a good and cheap place to call home is never easy, but varada place comes close.
At 4,500b a month + extras and utilities would set you back 6,000 a month.
Great location and clean new condition apartment block, rooms are small but ok, bathroom is excellent and also the balcony is good size.
On the downside, wi-fi is down about 10% of the time and noise is a concern which mainly comes from traffic and a roof top pump which operates 24/7 but floors 1 and 2 should be ok.
Also the lady that owns the place also runs the place which is a plus.

Room Tip: Stay down the on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Varada place is located in my favourite part of Chiang Mai. It's minutes to the main shopping mall. About 15 minutes to the trendy Nimmanhaemin area, and about 7 minutes to my favourite restaurant, Imm Aim.

The building is new and very clean. The cleaning staff and night security are very trustworthy and the owners are great people. All around a great place to stay. The rooms are a little small, but for the price, I can't complain.

A few days before leaving, there was a major Internet access upgrade. I only wished it were sooner. Login and access speeds substantially increased.

Room Tip: I think I would choose a higher floor to minimize late night street noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#53 of 387 in Chiang Mai
594 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#24 of 387 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 387 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#18 of 387 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#85 of 387 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#192 of 387 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varada Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varada Place

Address: 10 Ratchaphruek Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $16 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Varada Place 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varada Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing