We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SP Chicken

SP Chicken
Ranked #67 of 2,044 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Thai lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

After visiting several temples that morning, our guide recommended SP Chicken for lunch. It is a simple restaurant with a few tables but pretty basic setting. The food was delicious with good service. We decided to order multiple dishes and eat family style. We had chicken, sticky rice, kale, and papaya salad. Very enjoyable lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    130
    45
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Not the best rotisserie chicken I have ever had but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The chickens are very tiny compared to western standards.A whole bird is about 1/2 bird back home . I ordered a whole chicken assuming I would take some home but I did eat the entire chicken. I ordered rice with it and that was what it was . The meat was cut up in 12 pieces and served with one sweet spicy and one spicy concoction kind of a sauce . The skin was lovely and crisp but the bird was not freshly cook otherwise the juice would have just run out . The have the chickens kind of on top of the rotisserie sitting and waiting to be ordered. Yes I did it the entire bird but mainly I was very hungry and missed out on lunch today. It was okay but I certainly will not crave it soon. However I will give them another try and maybe I will get a juicy and succulent rotisserie chicken as I would have assumed it to be . Yes it is a whole in the wall place but well organized . Not the best chicken I

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crapfoodbites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsukuba, Japan
Level Contributor
208 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Thai BBQ Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is half open-air restaurant. It takes 15-20minutes walk from Thapae gate.

"Gai Yang" BBQ chicken was so juicy and good garlic smells. yummy!!
"Som Tam" Papaya salad was just OK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampaFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went by myself, ordered 1/2 chicken, papaya salad, sticky rick and beer. Chicken was very favorable, and eaten with the sauce, was delicious. papaya salad was just a great. i will probably come back to eat here again.
the place is open from 1100-2100

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall treat in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sp chicken is the definition of a hole in the wall. One of the sites where Chef Andy Ricker claims to have been inspired before opening restaurants in the US, SP chicken is a must visit while in Chiang Mai. It's a simple establishment and you should play to their strength. There were 6 of us, and we ordered one "whole" chicken and some beers. Without question, best chicken I've had in Southeast Asia. Great flavor, perfectly cooked, tons of herbs and garlic for flavor. Staff was incredibly friendly.
Note: SP chicken recently moved. Make sure you go to their new location- NOT the address on Sri Phum Road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serendipity789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SP Chicken also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to SP Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing