We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing chicken!”
Review of SP Chicken

SP Chicken
Ranked #67 of 2,056 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing chicken!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Not much more to add that hasn't been said. The chicken here is delicious, and budget friendly. Come here, you won't regret it. We'll be back for more. The new place is right by Wat Phra Singh temple, small lane to the left of the temple entrance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy_Buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    134
    45
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Watch out for the spicy chicken soup!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited SP Chicken on TA recommendation, particularly as it was a few steps from where we are staying at Rich Lanna.
We had a half chicken, cashew chicken, veg in oyster sauce, steamed and sticky rice and their spicy chicken soup. All really lovely food. A chili in the spicy soup nearly took my wife's head off though, so we were forced to drink a couple of bottles of Singha to cool her down. :-p
Relaxed service, obviously popular with locals and farang alike. Moving on the 10th May to opposite Prasingh Temple, according to the posters up in the restaurant.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareandAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

With so many places to eat in Chiang Mai, it is tough to choose which place is good. After reading a blog about the place, we found out that it was also rated well on TA. And I have no problem adding an excellent rating for them. Ordered 1/2 chicken, fried morning glory, and bbq ribs. All our dishes were great. The chicken is tender and juicy and the ribs had a fantastic dry rub on them. Would definitely go back more.

The staff is friendly and the restaurant is clean. There is a menu in English if your Thai isn't up to par. Prices are good for what you are getting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItchyFeetPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing chicken, friendly fast service”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

SP chicken is a staple of any trip to Chiang Mai. The food is fresh, inexpensive and delicious as most food in Thailand, but here they focus on rotisserie chickens, as succulent and juicy as anywhere i’ve had. Very tender, flavorful chicken, with the usual sweet tangy chili sauce, and a wide range or sides and other bites including a very good Som Tam. The owners are very friendly and they take much pride in the restaurant. The chickens are a bit small so order 2 if you are in a group or very hungry. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing chicken”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

SP Chicken is some of my favorite gai yaang (roasted chicken) in the entire city. It is amazing. I usually get a whole chicken, some sticky rice and a salad or stir fry to share with friends. Be sure to go a bit on the early side if it's a weekend as they may run out of chickens at some point.

There are a few mosquitos, so wear your bug spray if that bothers you!

I heard a rumor that they're switching locations in May 2013- so if it's after that time you'll want to ask around about their new spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MG888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SP Chicken also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to SP Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing