We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Ranked #151 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We found this hotel to be very comfortable. The rooms were nice and clean, the beds were comfortable, bathroom spacious and clean. The outdoor swimming pool was beautiful and lots of lounge chairs for sitting in the sun. The traditional music in the lobby every evening was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable and included a buffet breakfast which gave a fair variety.
The only negative was the smoke in the building from all the brush burning in Chiang Mai.
The other thing that I took offence to is the hotel staff that call their friends or family when you request a cab. This sets the hotel guest up to pay more than is required for trips in and around the city. I feel that the staff of the hotel should be making every effort to advocate for the guest. On one occasion we were going to a temple.....it should have cost no more than 200 baht. The bell person got a family member and when we got to the temple he charged us 500. Metered taxi is the way to go..
Other than this the experience was great!!

Room Tip: Request a room in the new side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maubfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

my wife and i spent 5 nights at the CMP Hotel and found it reasonable good value for money (A$50, inc.b/f)
the rooms are getting a bit dated. on our last visit we stayed in the new wing and i think for the few extra dollars that is probably better value.
WIFI is good and the view from the higher floors was quite nice. the reception staff are extremely courteous and efficient, the same cannot be said for the breakfast staff, they are all unhappy and surly. breakfast was good, except they fry the eggs early and then put them in a dish and unless you are lucky and get them when they leave the kitchen they are cold and the oil/fat has started to congeal.
the lobby/foyer is very impressive, but the entrance to the hotel from the street is poor. there are barricades and it is just an unpleasant, unattractive entrance to the hotel.
if you want a car for a trip DO NOT use the cars in the hotel grounds. their prices are highly inflated (by up to 500%)
my wife and i are in our mid 70's and really enjoy visiting Chiang Mai, but i think there are probably better value hotels for the same amount of money.

Room Tip: possibly a room on a higher floor with a view of Doi Suthep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastBatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel is old - but has a good feel with a huge lobby with plenth of seating and traditional thai musicians playing in the evening.
We had a deluxe room in the "renovated" wing. The room was large and clean with new carpets, a huge bed and a good overall feel...not 5 star - but confortable.
The bathroom with shower over bath was not new - but everything functions and there was enough space.

The swing pool is a good size with a deep end and shallow, enough chairs and BYO was not a problem with the bar staff.

Breakfast was good, plenty of selection and a good range of asian foods, western fruit, toasts etc...more than expected.
The only bad point was the coffee.

Also some background music would have helped the atmosphere.

The staff were very helpful and spoke limited english.

Overall for us$56 a night - the hotel provided excellent value and a good base to explore Chiang Mai.

The 7/11 over the road + an excellent bottle shop.
Good massage nearby turn right and stop at the first shop you come to.

Night market is less than 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Nook the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwijeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in early April on the 11th floor.

Walked through an imposing lobby to reach the front desk. Check in was easy as our rooms are prepaid. We asked for rooms with connecting door and the only one available is on the smoking floor. However no stale cigarette smell in the corridor nor in the room which is a big plus. Corridor is carpeted and so is the room. Though I am not a big fan of carpet, the one in this hotel is reasonably clean (I walked bare footed a couple of times and the carpet fiber felt quite acceptable) and anyhow, bed room slippers are provided.

Room is large and mine came with 2 single beds. Mattress firm with choice of many pillows - soft thin or thick. A dresser/desk with a cushioned stool, 2 arm chairs and a round table, wardrobe and a chest top make up the furnishings. Kettle, mini fridge, flat screen TV (limited channels), bathrobes, hair dryer, 2 bottles of drinking water (replenish daily), full length bath tub with shower, shower curtain looks clean and so are the tiles in the bathroom. Shower strength good with hot and cold water easy to adjust. Bath towels frayed at the edges but still soft and thick. No in room safe. If need to, can use the safe at reception. Some wall plugs have come loose so be careful. Thick curtain shields the glare. Good sleep quality.

Didn't use the swimming pool which is on another block of the hotel. WiFi is free but connectivity is very poor - I spent more time re-connecting (the usual routine of typing in user name and user password) than actual time on-line.

Breakfast buffet is more than adequate with both Western (fried eggs, ham, sausages, bacon etc) and Thai dishes (fried noodles, fried rice, porridge etc). No egg station but they do have an omelet station - I am perplexed but didn't really bother me. Plenty of salad and local fruits. I liked the coffee.

Night Bazaar is less than 10 minutes stroll away but there's a 7-11, a laundry shop, an ATM and a noodle shop right across the street in-front of the hotel. There's also a spa about 3 minutes walk away (ChangDang or something to that effect) that provides quite good Traditional Thai Massage.

Hotel provides shuttle service, on a fix schedule, to the airport and it costs B120 per person. However we called an outside taxi service and we paid B200 for the 2 of us on the day of departure.

Hotel is showing its age but for the price and the location - it is hard to beat. It is located slightly off the main drive but that makes it very quiet and going for dinner in any of the restaurants by the river is only B100 tuk-tuk ride away.

Didn't face any rude staff though there were a few "not-a-morning person" personnel during breakfast. In fact the concierge service was super friendly in assisting us to secure rides and showing us where to go for the massage. Would stay here again but would reconsider if the need for internet connectivity is a top priority.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKYSeremban_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was part of a tour. Stayed here two nights. Lobby is very nice with live music. Hotel front desk staff was helpful and friendly. They do have old fashion key to the room - single key that has to be left behind and key can be picked up after showing the room paper card. Breakfast was decent but getting special egg order took for ever and had to ask the manager on duty before I got it. It seems you have to ask multiple person before you find a person who understands you and is willing to go above and beyond.. No safe in the room but safe services (with individual boxes - small and large) available behind the front desk. They did not have a scale to weigh the bags before heading out to the airport. Close to night market but walking on the streets and crossing the main intersections with traffic is NUTS! Did not get a chance to check out the pool. Do not open windows as mosquitoes will be every where. Wifi a bit slow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StingrayNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel, decide to choose this hotel because of the location and might be because of the location which make them forget they are in hospitality industry, service is first priority to guest, very disappointed!
Staff is rude(receptionist by name call "Porn")room,"free WIFI" is slow,room is tired.Management have to look into this matter urgently as you are not the one hotel surrounding night bazaar

Room Tip: There is lot of others hotel surrounding worth better condition as this hotel is "tired" b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsoh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my wife and a friend during our short stay in Chiang Mai. I had read previous reviews on Trip Advisor and saw the reviews were mixed.

The good points first:
1) The hotel is ideally located for the night market, only a five minute walk away.
2) The lobby area of hotel is grand.
3) Service provided by reception was good, they answered all of our queries and helped chase up tour operators when they failed to arrive for day trip pick ups.
4) Breakfast was fine and provided everything you needed for the start of the day.
5) The price paid for accommodation was good.
6) Rooms were a good size with plenty of space

Areas for improvement:
1) The rooms were dated and in need of refresh, especially the bathroom with its discoloured bath mat and a problem with Ants.
2) The corridors outside the room smelt of out of date milk.
3) The pool was good, however, there is a huge piece of land around the pool which is simply concreted over and this could be developed into a lovely garden or sun deck. The pool area is covered by the sun for the whole day.

Overall the hotel was fine and with a few improvements could be one of the premier hotels in Chiang Mai.

Chiang Mai itself is OK with its night market and some historic temples, however, the highlights are further afield in the mountains such the Elephant Sanctuary's.

Chiang Mai is worth a stay for a couple of days and then it is time to move on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallPaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#70 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,696 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 394 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#172 of 394 in Chiang Mai
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Address: 92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $39 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing