We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location in a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Ranked #156 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent location in a nice hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for few nights. we liked the location - few minutes walk to the market area and lots of restaurants. theres also lots of spa around. the rooms are nice and breakfast also.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickiss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    396
    236
    124
    86
See reviews for
141
337
106
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I came by Bus from Chiang Rai which took about 4 hours. It is a large Hotel away from the street in a " Garden " more or less with trees around the hotel. If you are on the upper floors you can have a view of the city. Has a nice large entrance hall and a Swimming Pool in the back. In the morning you can eat on an outside patio and listen to the birds.A good size room for 2 was 5400,- Bath for 2 nights with breakfast which was nothing special. For almost $ 100,- a night in Thailand you can almost get a room in many cities in Europe with a much better Breakfast but the rooms are only half of the size as they are in Thailand and every year I go to Thailand the $ is worth less. Even in Bangkok the Hotels are cheaper than in the north, including Chiang Rai.
The Hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the night market which must be the biggest in Thailand where you can get " cheap " food, some of the Restaurants in the area are also open during the day.
The most interesting part in Chiang Mai is the old city with many small Temples and most houses build of wood.
Around Chiang Mai are many interesting things to do. Elefant rides, " River rafting " Water Buffalo rides,
claim around 100 stairs to a temple with a beautiful view. It would be best to have a private guide for doing it. I was in Chiang Mai at least 15 years ago and it has changed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on at least 6 or 8 occasions during Sixes cricket week in early April and although we love the location, peace and tranquility of this hotel, we will not return. I am sick and tired of the annual check in battle where I am told that there are no non smoking king bed rooms left and that I have to accept a Twin room.
Having had this battle every time I arrive I stand my ground and eventually get what I asked for. Why should I have to do this every time?
The group that arrived just after us watched the show, took notice and were then forced to endure the same routine with the same result.
Everything else about the hotel was fine but the check in procedure lost us.
My service rating only applies to check in.

Room Tip: If you want a King bed and are offered a Twin room, stand your ground. Amazingly, one will be found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Nice hotel located close to the night market. Very nice and beautiful lobby. Good and experienced staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aklyuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful lobby. We were told that they had a flood and had to renovate. The rooms are okay. The king bed we had was very nice. And the rooms were clean. But the rooms didn't wow like the lobby. The pool is nice but no view. The breakfast is okay. Location is about 5 minutes to the night bazzar, so the location is good for that. They do have wifi but you need to pay 200 TBH/ hour. YOur better off walking down the street to the left until you get to the second coffee shop were they have amazing coffee and free internet. Our coffee was 60 TBH. It's the one next to the nice resturant. Tuk Tuk to airport or bus station 100 TBH. The only problem was that we forgot to book for 2 guests. The hotel made it our problem to fix with agoda and didn't offer to much in help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The entrance to this hotel is extremely luxurious, just like the entrance of the Great Palace hotel, with elephant statues at the entrance, and Buddhist statues inside. Our room was at the back of the hotel facing the pool, and a long walk away from the lobby. The room itself was nice, provided a bathrobe and slippers, and two complimentary water bottles. There is no safe in the room,

The hotel breakfast was varied, but not tasty. The service was non existent, and the French toast tasted bad.

The hotel has a spa which provided a massage at a price of 2000 baht, not including service or 7% tax. Better go to the night market, and have a better massage for less than 300 baht at the parlour next to the Royal Princess hotel.

Overall, the hotel provided good value for the money paid, however, we had to wait a long time while checking out before our room was checked by the staff, and that when the staff was told we are hurrying to catch a flight. I also did not like the fact that hotel insisted we use the its own cab service to get to the airport, which cost twice as much as it should have.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Very simple hotel near the night market. I think it is good for groups of tourists. Breakfast is very simple and a bit boring. large Clean and comfortable room furnished with Oriental style medium. Service is okay but nothing more. For $ 45 including breakfast maybe that's okay. Swimming is not very inviting. I do not really like this hotel. Maybe I got used to more?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cirrus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#158 of 383 in Chiang Mai
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#104 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Address: 92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing