We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful flowers and Traditional Thai smiles greet you”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #47 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I havve been staying at the Emprees for 7 years. It was the first hotel I ever stayed at in Chiang Mai. Before you even get in there is a warm greeting from the door staff and the lobby area is full of fresh flowers. There is a simple elegance to the hotel. The rooms are large and decorated in Thai style.
It is a few hundred yards from the night bazzar and in a quiet area.
Breakfas it really good with a wide range of western and oriental food. All fresh and delicious. Even the local Tuk Tuk drivers who wait at the end of the road are friendly.
The free wifi worked perfectly allowing me to do whatever work I needed to do.
I have said this about hotels before. Why pay a high price for the inpersonal service of the big chains when you can stay in luxury in a traditional hote.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from Chiang Mai, We had a lovely stay, friendly staff, excellent service from the restaurant staff. Rooms traditional Thai style ...surprise treats on our pillow every night.
Although the hotel is very busy with guided tours staying, we felt still very special as a family of four.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanghailil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nine of us stopped here on a visit to Chiang Mai and as we arrived they had the buffet meal underway that was superb. We very quickly booked in and dashed to the restaurant to enjoy what can only be described as heaven on a plate. Our room looked out to the back of the hotel where there was a large body of very stagnant water to the left: we told our friends this was the swimming pool and if you went in it you would end up in the place to the right (this was a cemetery) Only kidding folks, the hotel pool was good. We had booked on a bed and breakfast basis and what a breakfast buffet there was to enjoy. I for one do enjoy my first meal of the day and this exceeded my expectations...eggs cooked how you wanted, bacon, sausages, grilled tomatoes, toast, jams, waffles etc etc the list is endless. Just around the corner, a 5 minute walk is the Night bazaar: another place to visit. You will not be disappointed here.

Room Tip: They were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the plus side, the flowers in the tastefully-decorated reception area are beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, the swimming pool inviting and the location is convenient. On the down side, the safety deposit box is a little inconvenient as it is not in the room, the price of laundry is exorbitant and the wi-fi costly (it should be free!). The big plus factor is that the breakfast is great with a choice that will satisfy any taste! Overall a very pleasant stay but with a lingering bitter taste of paying the price for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastidi0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 15th Dec till 19th Dec. It was really an amazing experience. Right from the time we were received by the hotel staff till the time we were dropped at the airport every moment we were made to feel special.
The rooms were very good and spacious and the central location of the hotel was an added bonus. The Wifi was free and the staff was very friendly and courteous.But the real "WOW" moments were being given flowers and choclates every night during our stay!!!
The only improvement that I wish to recommend is the breakfast. Even though the spread was huge and covered a variety of items, but it was absolutely same everyday during our stay. Wish you guys can improvise and change the contents of the menu for the breakfast on a regular basis to add variety! :P

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subhothecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel is filled with a lot of foreign tourists, it has a nice pool. The food is good, at least the breakfast buffet. The location is ok, within 10 minutes walking distance one is at the Night Market.
Wifi is now available, but it is very expensive. Especially considering that just 20 m from the entrance there is a lovely coffee shop with excellent (ice)coffee which offers Wifi free of charge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpan9_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I can only imagine that the warm welcoming staff referred to by other reviewers, were not working the day I arrived. Staff I spoke to were surly and not at all like I had experienced in other hotels throughout Thailand from 3*to 5*. This was also the only hotel I stayed at that charged for wifi. There were people in the bar that evening who were clearly repeat guests so the hotel must be right for some people but it somehow did not feel Thai. It was almost trying not to be. Door staff did not bother to open doors when you approached. Staff at front desk were particularly rude. The cocktails in the bar were good and the breakfast a good quality. But overall, an underwhelming experience. Not likely to return as other hotels in the area are far nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0ve-t0-travel-m0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 199/42 Chang Klan Rd, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $56 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing