We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #47 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
chorley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff here are very friendly. The hotel is large with a lovely swimming pool/spa and restaurants on site. We ate in the restaurant on two out of the 3 nights that we were there and had a wonderful meal on both occasions with impeccable service including a free gift and flowers for the ladies. The staff in the bars were always attentive and very friendly. The room was large with two double beds and a large bathroom.Decorated in traditional style. The bar area has wood panelling and felt like a bar on a cruise ship. The hotel is within walking distance of the night market but there are tuk tuks just down the road which are best for going to Old Town temples etc. Cant understand what the other people are complaining about There was plenty of choice for breakfast With eggs/cheese/salad/baked beans/rice and vegetables/waffles/pancakes/various breads/honet/syrup/jam/fruit/yogurt all suitable for vegetarians..If you want everything American then stay in America! The only downside that we found was that safe deposit boxes are in the lobby and not in the rooms

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChorleyWiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    598
    300
    67
    25
See reviews for
206
669
97
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed a Empress twice in last one year. I believe that it's at a great location. You don't get much of a disturbance in terms of noise and many things are available at a walking distance including night market. A great asset.
However little has changed as far the breakfast is concerned. It continues to be a problem for vegetarians like most of the hotels in South East Asia. The few items that are available are to cater for the South East Asia people.
Also one will notice that the smokers will congregate near the reception door and you have to walk through this smelly stang and I wish there was no smoking sign near the main reception door.
My driver for the dinner had failed to turn up and the reception got in touch with my travel agents in Chiang Mai and chased it up.
The furniture are varnished timber and this gives an appearance of very dark rooms. I wish they change the colours to give a bright appearance.
Yes we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harish Velji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Empress is great. Large rooms and impeccable service. Located in downtown Chiang Mai close too attractions and with transport everywhere.
This is a large commercial hotel not a little boutique place which is perfect if you want all services at your fingertips. Quiet rooms and comfy beds make for an nice change if you have been out in the country and don't forget the showers with water pressure (bliss).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Before I begin , I would like to praise the staff for their friendy and hard working attitude.

Here is what I thought of the Empress Hotel.

Con:
- overpriced. We paid 75 USD per night. This is a 4 star hotel in thialand but it did not meet the expectations of a 3 star American hotel.
- dirty. We had yellow stained towels 2 nights in a row (see picture) and our Bed sheet were stained on the first night
- noisy. We could here ours Mandarian speaking neighbors every night. We heard when they use the Shower and when they flushed the toilet.
- dirty untensil at breakfast buffet. The utensil used at the breakfast buffet downstairs is quite dirty. They use these green place mats that looked like it was last washed in 2010. I saw a staff pick drop a tonsil on the floor near the bread station only to return awkwardly onto the table
-old rooms. The rooms are quite old. We had clogged drains in the bath tub. The "engineer" took our multiple blobs of hair to unclog it


Pro:
-amazing staff
-decent food at breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizmo425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 5 nights at this hotel, situated off a main road in a quiet location. It is about 15 minutes walk to the Night Market and about 20 minutes to the Main gate leading to the Inner (Old) City. Tut tut rides were very inexpensive to almost anywhere, although be prepared to bargain.
We were upgraded to a room on the 16th. floor on arrival. Very comfortable room overlloking the back of the hotel. No noise at all.
All the staff, no matter where they were working, were very polite, courteous and helpful. Nohing was too much trouble.
The buffet breakfast was sufficient to please all nationalities. Because we had booked 5 nights we were given a complimentary dinner on our second night, which was unexpected and a lovely surprise.
Overall, I can honestly rate this hotel as excellent and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service was excellent and our deluxe room was nice. Breakfast was also o.k. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. The only disadvantage is that its quite far from the old town and therefore its a bit too pricey. It's 30-40mins walking distance to the old city. Next Time we'll go to one of the guesthouses or hostels closer to the old city as the hotel doesn't provide free shuttle service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_europe_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
224 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ten years ago this was THE place to stay in Chiang Mai. Its a bit worn, but it retains much of its grandeur.

Positives:
The breakfast buffet is unsurpassed.
the lobby has several places to sit and meet
fairly Close to night market
Room service good and timely
Service was excellent!

Negatives:
pool was always crowded, but they had other levels of patio for sunbathing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#39 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 199/42 Chang Klan Rd, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Empress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing