We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”
Review of Rich Lanna House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rich Lanna House
Ranked #47 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I like to start with the things to improve first.
There is a young woman that works there (with a Hello Kitty watch) that is not at all helpful. True many of the people who work there and sometimes they are not overly helpful but this young woman with the watch I feel needs to be spoken to. I had difficulty with my ATM card, she just said sorry and offered no help. Their computer was not working and she said I should go to an internet café but didn’t even know where one was. I asked for a place close by to eat when I first arrived and she just told me walk and I would find something. I wasn’t looking for “something” I was looking for a recommendation. I asked for a car to take me somewhere so this same person negotiated a rate and then the driver was later inappropriate. I shared this with her and I got the same response “I’m sorry” which I feel she was but I question if she advised the owner of this so to address it with the tour taxis. I only seen the owner once, when I was leaving ( I stayed for 6 days) I think she needs to be more involved or present.
Location;
This was great. There was a morning market across the street less than 5 minute walk (this had food, clothes etc…) and a night market with cheap and delicious eats. I had a great meal for 30 Baht.
From here I walked to the Post Office, a jazz club North Gate (which was fantastic), a few temples, mobile shop, and good restaurants. There is a massage place to the right (first street turn right and it’s on the left) that was really good.
Breakfast:
Average, same things each day which was a bit tiresome
Room:
Excellent. Clean, spacious, bed was comfortable, just as you see in the pictures. You get slippers and robes which I always appreciate. The linens were clean and crisp and new. I was on the first floor which I liked as it right across from the pool.
The hotel smelled so good, welcoming and calming. Although it’s on a main street I didn’t really hear noise.
Pool: it was a bit cool but I enjoyed it. Loungers by the pool were comfortable and sunny or shady spots could be found. I was able to swim whenever I wanted which I appreciated.
They gave a small gift upon leaving which I loved. I would stay here again, I think it was a good value, location, safe, I felt like it was my little apartment and very well maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livinginshanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Rich Lanna House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 29/12/13 through 1/1/2014. We have travelled widely but this hotel is one of the best we have encountered. The overall ambience of the hotel is fabulous. We also loved our room, which was spacious and nicely furnished. The breakfast is great and the breakfast room lovely. The hotel is well located within the old part of the city. The staff were also a highlight. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: I believe that we had a deluxe room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmckenzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Very cute guesthouse, decorated in traditional thai style.

Rooms were spacious, beds comfortable, good water pressure in the shower. There is wifi in the lobby and the rooms. Thing to keep in mind there are 4 floors and no elevator.

Breakfast was nice as well - fresh juice, a few European items, a few Asian items, cereal, some pastry.

Cute pool area, but way to cold to try it out.

Walk to the night market, shopping dining is about 15-20 minutes, there are couple of restaurants right outside, as well as food carts close by.
Guesthouse itself has a great little coffee shop.

We could not find any massage places close by, but discovered a great yoga studio within a 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The husband and I stayed here for 2 nights.

Pros:
1) Rich Lanna House is very well located - Inside the moated city centre and within walking/bicycling distance of Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang.
2) Staff is very helpful. They let you borrow their bicycles. They even arranged a 2 wheeler for us for 250 bhat a day.
3) Rooms are comfy

Cons:
1) They have no arrangement for mosquitos. Carry your own repellent patches and cream please.
2) Walls are a tad thin. Do not take the room right below the breakfast parlor.
3) Breakfast is average at best.

All in all it was a great stay and I will have no compunctions in staying here again should I visit Chiang Mai again.

Room Tip: Don't get the room below the breakfast parlor if you are looking to sleep in post 7 AM.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just like the descriptions - super boutique hotel on the edge of the old-town area. The friendly staff at reception worked efficiently and even carried our luggage up the stairs like it weighed nothing. Our room on the first floor was well appointed with a really good bed.The pool looked inviting but the weather was really too cold to allow us to try it out. Breakfast with fresh orange jiuce and good coffee was a mixed Western and Asian experience. The breakfast was served in a fine little room, which was however just a trifle cool in the early mornings; the waitress was wearing an anorak.

All in all we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was spacious and lovely, with hardwood floors and beautiful wooden cabinets. Very comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast is small but quite good, and the location on the edge of the old city is very convenient. They don't speak too much English in the hotel, but were very helpful and kind nonetheless. They have a pool, which is beautiful, but small. This hotel is a beautiful oasis inside of a sometimes slightly chaotic city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers a very clean and well equipped environment at a handsome location close to the city. The hotel interior is new and of very high quality in the old northern thai lanna style (wooden furniture with ornaments etc.). Being there you feel like in a living room.
Like traditionally lanna style the rooms are very small and not very high. However very clean well equipped. Good breakfast. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beilib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#77 of 776 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#38 of 776 in Chiang Mai
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 776 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 776 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Canal Boutique house
Le Canal Boutique house
#32 of 888 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#49 of 776 in Chiang Mai
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rich Lanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Lanna House

Address: 2 Soi 3 Sriphoom Rd. T.Sripoom A.Maung, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Hotel Class:3 star — Rich Lanna House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rich Lanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing