We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhhh... Older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Ranked #188 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ehhhh... Older hotel”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is quite old - it's in a good location, maybe a mile or so out of the old town of Chiang Mai. The style of the hotel is very 70-80s decor and has a funky smell; the rooms are quite big, but not worth the price range and didn't feel clean; the breakfast was great, lots of variety and buffet-style. We had the power go off multiple times during the night we stayed, and all of the resources provided were not working (torch had no batteries, backup light was dead, front desk had no answers, etc.).

My husband and I stayed there for one night on my in-laws recommendation. I think it worked better for them since they were traveling with the grandparents. I came away from the hotel feeling as though I needed a shower and to check my belongings. I wouldn't stay there again - saw better hotels for less money when touring Chiang Mai

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    105
    72
    24
    17
See reviews for
23
52
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Chiang Mai Orchid is not a great hotel by itself. I'd say its a good hotel, but given its location, and value for money, I'd say its a very good choice for travellers to Chiang Mai.

Interiors: The hotel lobby is old style, somewhat traditional I guess and I really liked it. Rooms are spacious. But beyond that, the hotel has become old. The beds are ok but not great.In fact they are on wheels and if you sit with your back to wall, they start moving. They have a musician or two playing in the lobby area in the evenings which I liked.

Food: I pretty much just had breakfast which was included in the room rate. Decent breakfast. Mostly Thai style rice / meat dishes based, and bread / eggs / sausage based. They have fresh fruits, milk, cereal.

Location: I liked the location a lot. Its on Huay Kaew Road which is busy but not too busy. Quite a few sushi restaurants, coffee shops, one good mexican restaurant within in walking distance. There is a shopping center next door which has a good food court and all kinds of grocery etc shops. Its close to the airport and to Chiang Mai University. Ofcourse Chiang Mai is a small city, so maynot be a big deal for many. Within shouting distance is a road (dont know the name) which runs along a canal. It has a pavement for people who might want to walk, jog. I liked this also quite a bit.

Value for money: They charged about USD 65 for a room with two twin beds.

Overall, I think its a very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Subhrajit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were referred to this hotel by the Mercure staff as they did not have any room available. So I expected something like Mercure (although I must admit I don't know the Chiangmai Mai Mercure). The hotel must have been a top hotel in it's day, but nowadays it is quit tired and in need of a renovation.

The room we had however was spacious and clean. And even though it was located at the road side of the hotel noise was pretty low. We had a rate including breakfast, but I would recommend to choose without as breakfast is not that good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel. Having been to Chiang Mai many times, I'd always thought it was one of the best hotels near the university. The entrance is imposing in the Lanna style, but the rooms are tired, and quite grubby; marked walls, creaky bed, mouldy bathroom with water leaking through the cieling from the bathroom (or toilet!) on the floor above. The walls and doors are paper thin, so that it is very noisy. There was no safe, and the lighting was so dim that one nearly needed a torch to find the light switches! Breakfast was ordinary, to say the least.
The redeeming feature of this hotel is it's proximity to Kad Suan Kaew Shopping Centre, Buddy motor cycle hire (just across the road) and the old city.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the corridor-that way you get noise only from one side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadrider_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks good from the outside and that Is as far as you Should venture. The hotel is quiet old and 1s in desperate need of a renovation. My room was not very clear, the towles were used and dirty from the previous guest, bathroom in general was not clean and looked as if it had not relieved a good clear In a long time. I would advise staying at one of the many guest houses near by they are cheaper and much clearer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in need of a face lift. My husband booked this hotel because it looked like the pool was nice and it was in a central location. It had a great breakfast buffet included, rooms were clean, but the location was not great. The gym was quite old with 80's aerobics posters all over, holes in the ceiling and rusted equipment. We did have a good laugh - after all most people are not coming here to work out. Overall it was clean and comfortable, but next time we would recommend a guest house or boutique style hotel closer to the action.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seekthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel the Chiang Mai Orchid is anything but a 4 star hotel, the best rating I could give it is a 2 star. I am currently staying at this hotel for 4 days and realize I made a big mistake trusting the pictures of the hotel on the internet, if you pay more than $40 per night, you paid too much, the WiFi sucks. The only thing good about the hotel is its location and the mall next door.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, not more than 10 years old. Did I mentions the WiFi sucks big time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#93 of 386 in Chiang Mai
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Furama Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai
#231 of 386 in Chiang Mai
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#156 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#152 of 386 in Chiang Mai
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#123 of 386 in Chiang Mai
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
#214 of 386 in Chiang Mai
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Address: 23 Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Chiang Mai Orchid, you have a choice of seven different types of rooms altogether there are 266 of them. All are designed and decorated as living testimony to the artistic elegance of the Lanna Thai Era combined with the most modern state of the art convenience facilities. And to top it all, each room has a scenic view of beautiful Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing