We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming hotel and very helpfull staff...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew to your Saves list
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Huay Kaew Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #90 of 358 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming hotel and very helpfull staff...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this very charming hotel.. The staff were extremely helpfull with everything..
Breakfast is quite good - you can almost get everything you like... (The tea wasn't tasty..)
You don't get free wifi - but have to pay, 600 bath pr. day and 1500 bath pr. week - you get acess for one user at the time !!
A bit strange system I think, especially when you have to pay..
The hotel is very very - 2 minutes walk - close to a shoppingcenter with lots of shops.
The pool was Nice and big - but the sunbeds really need to be changed, they are old and very heavy and extremely hard - you can ask for two towels....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MEB280164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    160
    114
    51
    26
See reviews for
74
108
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We've been really dissapointed. From outside, lobby, reception, lift it looks like a luxury hotel but it is not. The rooms are standart, service is bad and the breakfast included is not good. The swimming pool is really huge. Directly from the hotel you can access the shopping center next door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Second visit to Lotus (just to be fair) - Rooms/ hotel adequate for very old "classic" Chiang Mai hotel. However, if you want to be GUARANTEED of a miserable dining experience, by all means, dine on the first floor restaurant.
Absolutely, the worst example of wait staff encountered in my many trips in the northern hemisphere. Indifferent - sullen -don't quite express my message but I can state that if I had a staff of this nature, I'd be out business very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve4diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and so sorry for this matter. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I spent five days there. The hotel may be a little older perhaps, his charm but it has not lost. I liked it wonderful. The people at the reception are very welcoming and can communicate well in English. Chiang Mai is a very beautiful and compact city. The hotel is therefore also never far from attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fransico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is nice but could use some updating in the rooms and the halls. There is no air conditioning in the halls and we were on the 12th floor which got very hot. The breakfast is a fabulous buffet. The pool is pretty nice and it is connected to a big mall which has plenty of places to eat and shop, get massages, etc. We had a conference here and the main room was very nice however the smaller rooms for workshops were old and needed updating. The staff is very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimeerae75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to received your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichenau b. München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stupendous lobby; nightly entertainment;excellent for cyclists;
central position - behind a major shopping centre;
super-sized swimming pool, with however insufficient shade;
attentive doormen;office facilities;

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel one night. The rooms were large with good A/C and a fair amount of television channels. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub, but they were only moderately clean. The breakfast was good and the servers there were attentive. There's no free wifi, but you can pay by the hour, day, or week. As others have noted, there is a mall attached to the hotel, so lots of shopping to be had. Right before we were ready to leave, the hotel had a scheduled power outage at 0800 in the morning, so the elevators worked, but there were no lights or A/C in the rooms. This was a little disconcerting so I was glad that I'd already packed my bags and was getting ready to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We so sorry for the power outage on April 9-10, 2013 at 08.00-09.00 because the Provincial Electricity Authority will be improve the system. We are extremely pleased to received your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#107 of 358 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Furama Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai
#186 of 358 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#55 of 358 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#71 of 358 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai
#67 of 358 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#50 of 358 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew

Property: Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Address: 21 Huay Kaew Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew is one of Chiang Mai's leading convention hotels, situated in the heart of the city. The hotel's location is unique, sitting adjacent to Kad Suan Kaew Shopping Complex and just a walking distance from Nimmanhaemin rd. Surrounded by Chiang Mai's best attraction and entertainment facilities, guests really are spoilt for choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing