We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Ranked #139 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Having spent the two previous nights in a "flashy" hotel this place was a welcome relief. Okay the decor is a little tired but it had all I need in a hotel room. Tea making ,facial tissues,clean bed,good size bathroom,air con,and in room safe( no charge) The staff were very helpful and the meals were good value for the price. The hotel is in a wonderful position for exploring the old city and for the weekend markets (much more authentic than the night markets )
The Amora is great value for money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    240
    142
    67
    54
See reviews for
80
177
63
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

We chose this hotel based on reviews in our trusty Frommers guide and here on Trip Advisor. For the most part our stay here was great! We stayed for 3 nights in early January. The location is perfect, just outside one of the old city gates and about a 15 minute walk to the Night Market. Super close to lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were big, clean and comfortable. And our room had a great view over the city. My only complaint was the noise- we were there over the New Years long weekend so the sounds from the live bands playing down in the street below might as well have been inside our room for how loud it was. Not the hotel's fault though. We just used earplugs and we were fine. Breakfast was fine, had something for everyone, and we were able to easily organize day trips from the excursion operator in the hotel lobby, which was really convenient.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

Horrible staff, when we arrived they could not find our booking and would not help at all. They told us we had to contact the agency for help. Once we talk to the agency they wanted to to talk the hotel staff, but they refused to help.

Rooms and beds are very small, there is a safe but you have to pay 100THB to use it. I have never heard a hotel charge to use a safe.

Breakfast was the worst ever, most of the food was cold and hard.

Stay at Holiday Inn instead, its only an extra 500 THB and a 1000 times better than this piece of crap hotel!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Checking Out
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Bangkok,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

This hotel advertises to be ideal for businessmen, but please be advised that it applies some outrageous and ridiculous charges.

One is for the use of the in-room safe - 100 Baht per day!!! I never heard that any hotel in the world charges separately for the use of the safe in the room.

Second, and surely noteworthy for business travellers, is the extreme high costs for the wireless internet connection in the room. A hefty 550 Baht for 24 hrs. Whereas many hotels in Chiang Mai offer free internet for hotel guests, this hotel really rips off those guests that need to work during their stay.

So when choosing a hotel in Chiang Mai please do not forget to add another 650 Baht (or almost 50%) to the room price, which makes this hotel unattractive compared to the many better choices in town.

Be warned!!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank kphammes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#77 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#68 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai

Property: Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Address: 22 Chaiyapooum Road | Tambol Changmoi, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#56 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Tapae Chiangmai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing