We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly just above average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Ranked #143 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great looking foyer and reception and most staff pretty friendly. Sufficient English and good location. The downside was the hassle it took us to get more than the one tea bag provided. The night reception staff bordered on rude, however the bar staff were helpful. Beds were hard as a rock, which seems to be pretty common and breakfast suitable. We were on a motorbike and the security was pretty good. Be sure to visit the Sunday night markets. Walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 586 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed in the Amora for a week in late January. The location is great, opposite Thapae gate so make sure you are there on a Sunday to experience the walking street market.

The lobby area of the hotel is really nice, we were checked in quickly and efficiently even though we had 2 separate bookings - we booked 3 nights through expedia, then wanted to extend our stay but expedia had no rooms left so we booked another 3 nights directly. The hotel were really helpful and we were able to stay in the same room for the whole stay.

We were in a deluxe room on the 11th floor and the room was absolutely fine - good shower with hot water, nice spacious room and modern decor. The TV had a few English speaking channels including BBC world, Fox and a couple of movie channels. The bed was extremely hard though.

Breakfast was always good - the breakfast room is getting a little scruffy and there is a mish-mash of different chairs and tables but it was always clean and the food was good. I think the hotel has a lot of Chinese/Japanese visitors and so there was quite a lot of Asian breakfast options. However they did always have a man who would make you scrambled eggs or omelettes, there was waffles, french toast, toast, pastries, cereals and fruit. The only thing they could improve on is that the only option for spreading was a big bowl of cheap jam, and butter was little chunks put out in a bowl of ice every morning, which after about an hour turned into chunks of butter floating in water.

Overall a very good hotel in a good locations, and with friendly helpful staff. If we come back to Chiang Mai I would be happy to stay at the Amora again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed 5 nights. Booked 4 rooms, 3 with extra bed. Spacious and clean rooms. Comfortable King size beds. Need to request for extra pillows since only given 2. Room comes with the usual tea/coffee making facilities, safe deposit box, TV, free drinking water and refrigerator. Bathroom with bathtub. Provided with soap, shower gel and shampoo. Had problem opening the safe deposit box the night before departure. Was promptly opened by hotel personals with a gadget. Split airconditioner was noisy as the outdoor unit was outside window. Hotel fully occupied as it was around Chinese New Year. Couldn't find time to use swimming pool.
Lobby was spacious. Receptionists was efficient and helpful. The bellboy was very helpful in arranging tuk tuk or songteows by roadside of hotel, informing us of the fare.
There is a tour counter at lobby. We arranged our transport to airport from there. 2 comfortable vans for 13 of us costing 1200baht.
Breakfast spread is very good. Plenty to choose from, local and western with egg station. Waffles with maple syrup. Only problem is short of waiter/waitress. Hence slow in clearing tables. Table cloth at big round tables not change at all. Should not have it in the first place.
Otherwise, the hotel is value for money. Especially so if purchase via alternative website during offers such as today at USD25 per night excluding taxes.
The hotel is situated in an ideal location. Short walk of about 15-20 mins to Waroros Market (Chinatown). Just turn right immediately after Mike's Burger, which itself about 3 mins from hotel. Strawberries are in season, sweet and big, about 170baht per kilo. Plenty of strawberry juice at stalls. Only 4 mins walk to Thapae Gate. Sunday Walking Market starts about 4pm from outside the Gate to the other end at Wat Phra Singh. Also branches out at 2 other junctions along the way. Also within temple grounds. Start early if plan to cover as much as possible. Most probably won't be able to explore all stalls.
There are 2 bookstores at street behind hotel. Bought Nancy Chandlier's map at 230baht but hardly use. Also hardly have time to go through. Will be useful if staying more than a week or planning to come back. If not, a simple, free, official tourist map will do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrClementLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Given the rather mediocre ratings of other travelers, I wasn't expecting much of Amora Hotel. Perhaps as a result, the place turned out to be better than I had expected, but I have to agree with fellow travelers that it's still pretty "average".

The lobby is large, clean, bright and fairly comfortable. And the room I had (I guess called a "Princess Suite" but seems to be their standard room) was large and generally very clean. I had no qualms about walking about on the room without shoes, it was that clean. The beds were hard (comfortable for me) and the linens very clean. The TV selections included Fox, BBC, and Asian News... but not much else in English, but OK for me. Reliable and reasonably fast free wifi in the room.

Bathroom amenities were so-so, and the light over the bathroom mirror was either burned out or I was too stupid to figure out how to turn it on.... in any case, I found the bathroom too dark for comfortable shaving each morning. The bathtub seemed not to be so clean (or was it only because the bathroom lighting was poor?). Water temperature also not very hot. Towels OK, but the staff seemed to be rahter stingy with them; after the first day, they only provided one towel even though the room was a double room (admittedly, I was occupying the room as single occupant, but why not provide a second towel?).

Breakfast was mediocre; nothing special. No bacon; no cheese for omelets.... the hotel seemed to be working hard to keep costs down by providing only basic breakfast offerings.

The location, right on the moat, is convenient to many shops, restaurants, and (especially) to the Sunday market. The hotel also has an in-house "spa" (massages twice the price of most massage places outside, but not as terrible as many hotel spas) and a small, but nice, beer garden just outside the front entrance (a bit close to the road and therefore a bit noisy, but not bad).

I found the staff to be somewhat unfriendly, especially when I requested late check out. Seems like after they had my money, they weren't that interested in making me happy or being accommodating.

All-in-all, a reasonably comfortable place, and reasonable value for money, but it doesn't stand out among all the other similar places in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was a great experience. Really friendly staff, not amazing english but It was good. We had a nice room, great facilities, great location. Would recommend that people stay here. There are tuk tuks and cabs always outside the hotel, ready to pick up travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We, as a group of 4 using this hotel as a base for a bike tour of northern Thailand, were disappointed. We stayed for 2 nights and then returned after 5 days for our final night. The beds were hard, air-conditioning noisy, and the idea of a bath over a shower is now getting too much. The soaps/shampoos were very very average. The cleanliness of the rooms left a bit to be desired and the idea of no English speaking TV channels was a bit hard to deal with - French and I think Russian but no English.The staff were helpful although struggled with English - but hea itsThailand and they did reasonably well. The breakfast was more pitched towards Chinese / Eastern style but there was enough to accommodate westerners. I could not recommend this hotel even at the rate of Baht 1600 per night (about $US 50)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the air conditioning that has a silent mode
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonycBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great value for money, AUS $250 got us 5 nights here (a promotion), in a clean room, friendly staff, good buffet breakfast (although they pack up 10:15 not 10:30, so don't be late). Mattress is very hard, but free wifi a huge bonus to make up for it (not impressed how much other resorts charged so we don't take that for granted!). Nice view if you get a room with a 'mountain view' on the non-smoggy days. Walking distance to most attractions eg night markets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#39 of 386 in Chiang Mai
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#88 of 386 in Chiang Mai
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#72 of 386 in Chiang Mai
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai

Address: 22 Chaiyapooum Road | Tambol Changmoi, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $34 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Tapae Chiangmai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing