We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Ranked #147 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgraceful!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Only stayed one night, got out as soon as we could. The lobby is incredibly deceiving, very clean and expensive looking, then you enter the lifts to your rooms and soon realise it's a filthy upgrade from a backpackers. The rooms are filthy, you would never take your shoes off to walk on the floor, the free shampoo containers and shower cap boxes are empty and we actually felt dirtier after showering in the putrid bathroom. We ate breakfast off a table crawling with fleas, disgusting!! Do not waste your time or money....

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveyaguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    248
    149
    68
    56
See reviews for
80
185
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was fine. Amenities and room pleasant, good food options at the breakfast. The busboys and taxi drivers from the hotel were excellent, quick and knowledgeable.

However, the desk staff were absolutely hopeless. They could not find our booking and took half an hour to check us in.
When we went to check out, they left us standing there and served other people around us. We eventually left our key on the desk and left, lest we miss our flight.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Booked 3 rooms here for a family group of 7 for a 3 day weekend break.
Rooms on 7th floor were brilliant.
Breakfast was included in the deal & very good, both for the Thai nationals amongst our group, and us British, win win.
Pool was a little cool at first, but we had it to ourselves.
Reception staff very helpful, could not fault them.
Enjoyed the al fresco bar, as we watched football on the big screen outside.
Was within walking distance of night market and evening entertainment.
All in all an excellent hotel, excellent value for money, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our 3 rooms on 7th floor were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7ony55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

As a family of 4 we spend 5 nights at the Amora the week leading up to Christmas 2013. We booked an Ambassador Suite which was made up of 3 rooms (1 King, living room and a room containing 2 single beds) each room also had it‘s own bathroom so there was plenty of space. We were located on the 12th floor, which offered fantastic views over Chiang Mai including many landmark sights. The suite was very clean and nicely decorated with lovely Thai style art.

The location was second to none, directly opposite the moat and the edge of the Old City provided easy access to both the Old City attractions and bustling and funky district between the Old City and Night Bazaar. Within seconds you can be at the Tha Phae gate (start of the wonderful Sunday night walking market), ATM’s, shops, bars and restaurants. For those who like a hamburger or hot dog fix Mikes Burgers is only a few metres up the road serving up yummy American style food (great for kids who won’t eat local food). The only food we ate at the Hotel was breakfast which was decent (nothing fancy but great omelettes) and offered Asian and Western choices.

The Staff were very friendly and helpful despite little English being spoken by many, I don’t expect English to be spoken but it would assist given the large number of Westerners who stay at the hotel. We also spent some time at the day spa which was very clean and tranquil and reasonably priced by western standards.

Overall I was very happy with my stay at the Amora and would not hesitate in staying again if not just for the location.

Room Tip: Room Tips: the higher the better for views and less noise, a suite will provide more room, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here with my family for 7 nights from 19th-26th December 2013. Not luxury but comfortable.

Good Points:
- Location is great, right by the Tapae gate.
- Feels very safe both in and out of the hotel.
- Quite large rooms.
- Nice big bathroom.
-Big selection at breakfast - although not that much Western food - but you are in Thailand!


Bad Points:
- I don't think any of the staff recognised me at any point or made an effort to. That being said they were all very nice when I approached them.
- Rather hard beds, you do get used to them.
- Trying to be festive and play Christmas songs, but the songs were on repeat and sung by children, sweet at first, incredibly annoying after a while. A nice try though.
- Very overpriced mini bar including very expensive water.
- Could do with a refurb in places, didn't bother me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tansyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 6 night's. The last 3 nights the gave us an upgrade to the a deluxe room same as superior only better view. The rooms are big. Water cooker with tea and coffee. Aircon is noisy and the mattress hard but you get use to it. Location is nice. The breakfast is a little boring but the last 2 days we had waffels and the last day even French toast. For the price not bad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the Amora for 6 days in early December and found this hotel to be a perfect place to stay while in Chiang Mai. The location is very good. It is very close toThe Tapae Gate and just a short walk to the night markets, Sunday markets, shops and restaurants. For us it was a comfortable walk to most places.

Check in was smooth. For the first night we were upgraded from a superior to a deluxe room because of heavy bookings. We were then moved to the superior room the next day. Aside from a little more art work on the walls I could see absolutely no difference between the two rooms. Both had great views over the old city.

Staff were friendly and helpful. It was encouraged that guests drop off the room keys at reception when going out for the day which we did. It was never a problem picking them up at the end of the day.

In general the rooms were very comfortable and roomy. We had a king size bed. The mattresses are very hard so this may be an issue for some. I typically don't like a hard bed but I found that I did get used to it.

Our room was clean, and unlike the experience of other guests who reviewed this hotel I had no concerns in this regard. On our second last day the air-conditioner in our room stopped working. It was unable to be fixed so we were moved to another room for the final night. The staff were always happy to oblige.

The buffet breakfast was one area that I feel could be improved. The range of food was average and often a little cold. The egg bar was very good and they made tasty omelettes.

My daughter stayed for 2 nights during our stay and we had no problems getting a fold up bed put into the room. We paid an extra 700 baht per night for that.

The pool area was small but adequate for an inner city hotel. Wifi was available in the lobby but I had trouble logging on from my room.

I would definitely stay at the Amora again. Overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#67 of 383 in Chiang Mai
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#44 of 383 in Chiang Mai
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 383 in Chiang Mai
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai

Property: Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Address: 22 Chaiyapooum Road | Tambol Changmoi, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Tapae Chiangmai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing