We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Ranked #135 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On our trip to Thailand we stayed at 7 different hotels in a 2 week period. This was the worst of them and one of the most expensive.

Pros: good location

Cons:
customer service: We needed help trying to reach some family at a nearby hotel. We go separated. The hotel reception asked us to figure it out. We tried, and when questioned again they said they'd have to charge us to help.

Parking: we rented motorcycles. As soon as you pull into the the drive to drop someone off or pick someone up, they'd tell you to move. It was beyond ridiculous. We were a tiny motorcycle in their big driveway not blocking any traffic waiting 2 minutes.

Wifi: $15 USD a day. It is not free like agoda says.

Dirt: disgusting and unclean carpets and elevators. No air conditioning in the hallways.

Breakfast: slop.

Noise: thin walls.

We eventually moved to another hotel and paid $25 USD a day with free wifi and clean rooms.

Bottom line: a waste of money. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howardchang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 599 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel was GREAT considering how little we paid for it. I traveled a lot on my recent trip to Thailand, and this was by far the cheapest yet nicest hotel we stayed in. It's no 5-star hotel, but for someone on a budget it's perfect. It's clean, the service is excellent (there is a bellboy that picks up your baggage and shows you the room), and it's close to the night market, temples and right across from old city. We could basically walk everywhere we wanted to go.

The hotel is a bit old and there are telltale signs like a kind of stained carpet, but I didn't mind. My room was always super clean, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked great, and I had an overall pleasant stay. I wouldn't pay a lot of money to stay here, but since I got this hotel for around $26 a night I thought it was a steal. They also have a little traveling agency within the hotel to help you book trips, and they weren't that badly overpriced.

So, if you are on a budget and are looking for something MUCH nicer than a hostel or crappy hotel... definitely stay here! It was definitely an upgrade from the gross hotels we previously stayed in that cost much more.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the "princess" suites (not that expensive), and request non-smoker if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celinne_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a great bargain when we bought the air fare together with the hotel. This hotel has a great location. One of the main reasons why we chose this hotel is that the annual flower parade passes by close to this hotel and that was our main reason for visiting Chiangmai at this time.

Not only that, you can also walk to the Sunday night market where you can get lots of interesting souvenirs.

Overall hotel was good, with a huge and spacious lobby area which is very inviting. Buffet breakfast was reasonable too...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynamic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

the hotel is very clean with good breakfast and a great location close to the temples and bazars but it's very old !! everything is old i liked staying there but i'd recommend for a new hotels unlike this one !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, especially for the Sunday night market which is a highlight of Chiang Mai. There are some nice views to be had from the upper floors. There is a 32-inch flat screen TV with some decent movie channels. The rooms seemed clean and large enough. Despite these good points, and some positive reviews, I strongly recommend against staying here.

First, the bed is WAY too hard and my wife and I both woke up with back pain (happened in two different rooms so I doubt it was a fluke). I slept on top of the blanket and a towel, which I've never done before. I should add that we have stayed in many, many hotels in Asia and this is rarely an issue for us - we actually like firm beds, but this beyond firm. Second, they don't guarantee a non-smoking room, so you might get a smoky one, like we did. They wouldn't move us, saying the hotel was full. Third, they want about $17 per day for internet! You thought you were getting a good deal on the room rate? Think again (if you want to use the internet). Most hotels in this price range include free wifi. But the way, there are some coffee shops nearby where you can get internet for the price of a frappe ($3), which includes a frappe. Fourth, our room was unlockable on the balcony side, and it would be very easy for someone to step over the rail and come inside (in fairness, this problem might be unique to our room). Fifth, we had to ask two times and wait a few hours just to get bath towels.

There are so many great places to stay in Chiang Mai that are either much nicer or much cheaper (or both) than this hotel. Look around a little. Leave this one for the large tour groups (we saw several huge busses outside).

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor, because people can break into your room through the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and I like it because it is conveniently located right on the east side of the moat, near the Tapae Gate. This is the area where I prefer to stay in Chiang Mai. It is a large, older hotel with 12 floors, so it does not have the cozy charm of a small boutique hotel. Rooms have sweeping views of the city. The windows in my room, however, were covered with fingerprints of past guests. It was the same when I stayed here 2 years ago. Apart from the windows, the room and public areas are well maintained and clean. The air-con was noisy.
Breakfast is adequate with choices for all tastes.
The pool is in the shade most of the day.
I will probably stay here again when I return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

june 2012 i was there with my friend and stay for 2 night the service was very good the food excelant , room is very clean , change new towel 2 times a day , staff very nice and frienly, fast service , the room had alot of space , and bath room was santary , very nice and feel good to stay there in this hotel the center of town , very convenien , i realy recomment to traveler take a rest here and exsperien for your self you will say wow, sincerely piney

Room Tip: room on the east more quite and you can see the best view of sunrise in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 705lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#94 of 394 in Chiang Mai
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#101 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#65 of 394 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai

Address: 22 Chaiyapooum Road | Tambol Changmoi, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $47 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Tapae Chiangmai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing