We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$103
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$105
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$558
$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$136
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$176
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$376
$340
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,772)
Filter reviews
1,772 results
Traveler rating
320
840
429
119
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
840
429
119
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaarroyal suitelarge hotelbuffet breakfastan upgradebit datedtour deskhotel is in a great locationmassage placesstayed here for nightsold citydeluxe roompool area istuk tuknice poolchang maipools
Filter
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 1,772 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the hotel is dated but it is centrally located, offers great facilities and has the best staff. From the lovely room attendants, bistro staff, reception and door staff, and the car park guards. Thank you for the greetings and smiles. Even when we got caught in the thunderstorm during the Sunday walking markets, you laughed with us and made us smile. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cranium59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Cranium
Thank you for you stay here with us and your post on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that you have truly enjoyed your time here in Chiang Mai. We do look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and peter s - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights as part of our travels around SE Asia. Having stayed in plenty of budget places the Imperial Mai Ping was a pleasant change with very friendly staff, a large pool and good breakfasts. Only 2 small suggestions. Firstly they could do with some more sun loungers by the pool and secondly the wifi required separate log ins which sometimes didn't work (although the receptionists were very quick and happy to provide new ones).

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Lucy
Thank you for staying with us for six nights and for your post here on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you spent a good time and your comments about WIFI and sun loungers have been noted.
It would be nice to welcoming you back if you visit the North of Thailand once again in the not too far future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and peter s - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My friend and I traveled from BKK to Chiangmai by train and arrived in the morning around 8 am.
We didn't expect they will let us check in at that time because it wass too early.
Once we arrived at the hotel, FO staff informed us to register first and that we can leave our belongings with concierge.
It was what we planned. We left belongings with concierge and decided to take a small rest at the lobby before going out to observing the nearby area.
However, before we went out, I went back to Front Desk and ask for more information about the room.
FO staff told me that the room had been cleaned and we could check in.
It was nearly 10 am which was very fast. We were very happy and appreciated.
The room was quite old. Even there is a little moldy smell in the room but it was clean and room was comfortable.
I am used to wearing slippers at home and every where in-house or office but they didn't provide slippers in the room.
Facilities in the hotel was still in good condition but fitness room was a little small and seemed neglected.
The breakfast was fantastic.
Staffs were friendly, polite, very attentive and eager to offer help.
The hotel is located close to night market and shops.
I considered this as a very convenient location.
From the hotel, you can reach Art in Museum by 20 mins walk.
To sum up, the standard room of this hotel is comfortable enough and worth what you pay plus the excellent service experience from every staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wenyuan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Wenyuan
Thank you for your time to post on Trip Advisor and to have chosen our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai. We are happy to read that you have overall enjoyed your time here with us. Your comments will be shared with our executive staff.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and peter s - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was kind of average. Not terrible but not good. The staff was great and very helpful, the stay did not include breakfast which kind of sucked. The hotel is super dated and in serious need of a renovation. The location is pretty central, close to night bazaar and just a few min walking distance from the town. We walked everywhere. My biggest complain with this hotel was the bathroom. It had mildew, meaning they do not do a good job at all cleaning the bathroom, which I think its a pretty important detail. The bed is super hard but surprisingly not uncomfortable. I don't think i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Arleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Arleen
Thank you for your stay here with us and your post on Trip Advisor. It depends of what kind of arrangement guests book for, as almost all guests who stay here have their breakfast in our hotel. Certainly our hotel has aged and we would like to apologise if your bathroom was not in tip top clean condition. There are plans to have the hotel renovated in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Team and peter - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel, 6 years apart. The hotel is very welcoming and the staff are friendly and helpful. In my opinion the location is very good for the night market and for generally getting around Chiang Mae. Also, every taxi driver and tuk-tuk driver knows it.

Breakfast is good, although it was very busy, but there was always enough food. It took a while to realise half of the breakfast things are outside!

The pool is good, again this was busy at certain times. The staff here are good, although there needs to be more staff at busy times to order drinks etc.

My only criticism if the hotel is that the rooms, particularly the bathrooms, are a little tired and dated. It's all clean and working, but looks a bit shabby.

However, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Blou17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Blou
Thank you for visiting us again and for your post here on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read your comments and have taken note of your suggestions. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel once again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and peter - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews