We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #69 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Imperial Mae Ping for our Honeymoon. We loved it. It is huge, fancy, staff is excellent and is on a great location.

Pros: 2 min walking distance from night market, 15 min by taxi to airport, 15 min walking to old city, great Spa!, good restaurant, 2 very nice pools, complete breakfast, free wiffii everywhere in the hotel, staff is amazing

Cons: the only thing i can think of is that they charge around 7$ per person for the shuttle to the airport but you can take a taxi for 10$ so whatever

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mariangeli84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Mariangeli
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Chiang Mai and for your post on Trip Advisor!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your "Honeymoon" and our services. Our location is certainly a big plus. It would be nice to welcoming you back to our hotel on the occasion of your wedding anniversary next year. Please let us know.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

March 2014 was my 8th or 9th stay at this hotel. Always found it to be a nice hotel friendly staff a great breakfast. The location for me is excellent. Have stayed in other hotels in Chiang Mai but for value the Mai Ping is our favourite. We stayed for 11 nights this time and was upgraded to a Royal Suite...Really nice.
Well done Mae Ping we will be back.

Room Tip: Stay for longer period and see if they will upgrade you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Garry
Thank you for posting here on Trip Advisor! We are very pleased to read that you have once again enjoyed your stay here with us. It is nice to have repeat guests, as they know best what is all about our hotel. We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back and wish you in the meantime a good time. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Grand Old Glory hotel in past prime time that need furburishing.Booked direct through hotel internet booking at 1691Bht++ with Breakfast.Room wasn't ready when we arrived at 1330 on 18 March 2014 & was told to comeback later in the afternoon.Went out for lunch and after lunch decided to hire a songthaew for 500Bht to Doi Suthep Temple.After an hour at the mountain top temple that give us a cooling enviroment but a hazy view of Chiangmai city,we arrived back at the hotel at 1730 for checkin.We were given a room 0933,facing the back of the hotel.Room was spacious,clean,air-con was ok but the water pressure for washing hand and brushing teeth was much lower as compared to bathing.Breakfast and daily room service was fine.We book a day trip to Chiangrai/Golden Triangle/Mae sai, through the hotel tour desk costing 1400 Bht p.p with lunch.
There is also free shuttle ,Green songthaew service to Chiangmai Airport plaza for shopping with the first pickup at Mae Ping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Return Guest
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us again after nine years! Your comments have been well received. Check-out time is noon and check-in time is 14.00 hrs. Our hotel is rather busy and therefore we thank you for your understanding that your room was not yet ready upon your arrival. It would be nice to welcoming you back again at another time.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were treated to the Royal suites, had a great 11 days in hotel, great food, pool and very friendly staff. The rooms themselves require a little love and attention. Had a little problem that was sorted. For me that's when you find out how good a hotel is when you have a problem they respond and sort things out, so very happy. The Mai Ping is a great location.
So other than they need to start updating a little like carpets that are a little stained (but clean) would recommend this as the place to stay in Chiang Mae.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Dr
thank you for taking your time to comment here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the Royal Suite. Our housekeeping staff are always reminded to pay attention to the small details too. Nice to know that your little problem was handled efficiently. Our location is certainly very good.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was a great hotel when we first stayed but our recent trip it showed signs of wear. Dirty carpets and not so neat.
Food was ok particularly the restraint which is excellent. Location is very good and quiet. Wouldn't take a lot to restore quality.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear David
Thank you for your stay with us and your post here on Trip Advisor! Your comments have been noted and rest assured that we constantly upkeep our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spend 11 nights March 2014, have spent many holidays at this hotel. Staff are really nice, hotel clean and our upgraded room (Royal Suite) was wonderful. The breakfast is great and I recommend anyone who is looking for good value in a good location to try the Imperial Mae Ping in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Stay longer and ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Brush
Thank you for your kind comments here on Trip Advisor and for your many visits to our place. We thank you for recommending us and we are pleased that you have once again enjoyed your stay here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel was nice enough, and the price was right, but it was clearly an older hotel whose rooms had not been updated in quite some time. We stayed in another hotel a few nights earlier in Chiang Mai (for the same price), and it was much better quality and value (the DeLanna Hotel). The lobby and pool area are very beautiful, but the bathroom was pretty moldy and old. The location is ok, but it's nearer to seedier parts of Chiang Mai. The front desk was also pretty rude when we checked in. See if you can find somewhere else that's in better shape.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eig_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Eig
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your time in Chiang Mai!
Your comments have been noted and unfortunately we have not had the chance to meet you personally, as it would have been a pleasure to do so.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#52 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#153 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#102 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $56 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing