We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenience hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice and convenience hotel”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My stay at the Imperial Mae Ping 22-25 Dec 2013 was great. Hotel located closed to the night market with lots of street food and massage shops.

Good wifi throughout the hotel, breakfast was great with lots of choices of food. Although the hotel is a bit out dated and it's worth for money.

It's easy to walk to the old city to visit temples or walk to the Pink River bank to enjoy a relaxing meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Alvin
We thank you very much for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and to have stayed with us last December. It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked Chiang Mai.
It would be nice to welcoming you back to here when you next visit the North of Thailand again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    773
    395
    101
    48
See reviews for
284
558
115
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights after getting a room on hotels.com for about $65/night all in, including breakfast. The hotel and room itself are both pretty good, but dated, but not to the point where I wouldn't recommend. The pluses include the free breakfast (which is good and seemingly suits are nationalities), close location to the night bazaar, and a two for one happy hour in the bar on the first floor. One thing that was a bit annoying was the gym equipment in their fitness center is completely unusable. The weight and cardio machines are completely broken. However, this wouldnt stop me from staying again, hence the four rating

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Joel
Thank you for your recent visit here in Chiang Mai and taking your valuable time to post here on Trip Advisor! The staff of the fitness equipment company will be servicing our equipment within this week.
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our hotel and we thank you for recommending us to your friends. Please let us know when you plan another trip to the Northern part of Thailand.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a deluxe room here for four nights. Pictures of the hotel rooms, grounds and amenities are rather different from reality. Everything is much older and not as clean as I expected. Overall, our hotel stay is average but acceptable considering the price. However, in retrospect I would spend more for a nicer environment.

There are two problems with our experience here. One, the tour vendor in the lobby sold us a tour with faulty information. We wanted to take a day trip to Chiang Rai and the agent presented us with three options. We opted for the first option with visiting the white temple in Chiang Rai, golden triangle and hill tribe. The pick-up time was at 7 am and return at ~7pm. We specifically did not want the two other longer options with river cruise and Karen tribe visit as the return time would be quite late and we were not interested. However, when we got onto the bus, the tour operator told us that all options are part of the tour which would make our return trip to at least 9 pm. As the tour went on, we realized that we were not the only ones not aware of this as others had plans for other activities but could not do them because of this.

Two, when we came into Chiang Mai, we took a taxi to the hotel for 120 Bht which seemed to be the standard. However, when we asked the hotel about a taxi back to the airport, they charged us 200 Bht. I asked the hotel taxi agent why this is the case, she just said that it was a different company. My advice is get your taxi driver's card when you leave the airport and call the driver directly and agree on the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Maca Bebe
Thank you for staying at our hotel and to post here on Trip Advisor! We are sorry to read about your experience with the tour vendor and the taxi counter. Both of them are rented by two different outside companies and we have no control over them. However, we will discuss your described experiences with them and inform them your experience.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Staying at this hotel was enjoyable. The rooms are nice and the hotel itself is slightly outdated though I would certainly stay here again.

The location to the night markets and bazaar is perfect. And be rest assured that it is very safe to get back.

Hotel staff would not let us check in until 2pm, which was no problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Josh
Thank you for staying with us here in Chiang Mai during your recent trip and to post on Trip Advisor!
Your comments are very much appreciated and we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Chiang Mai is certainly a safe place. Our official check-in time is 2pm.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Felt so safe in this hotel!! Staff are lovely and the hotel is clean and modern!! Beautiful decor! Good location a short walk to the Chiangmai night market- what a buzzing atmosphere!! You really need to go for songkran as the atmosphere in the streets are absolutely amazing and so much fun!! Just take a raincoat!!! You really feel a big part of the fantastic celebrations taking place!! Great hotel with a breakfast to die for and two lovely pools to relax in on a hot day!!!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgielouisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Georgie Louisse
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during the fun loaded Songkran Festival. It is certainly a great experience to be part of the festivities. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel this coming April.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Me & wife stayed there from 10/1-13/1/2014 for our anniversary. We stay room 1026 at the 10th floor. As expected & as review by most travellers, there was an old carpet smell or damp smell the moment we entered our room but the smell disappeared about 5 minutes after we on the aircond. Room is spacious & clean with a comfortable bed. Bathroom clean & with very powerful water pressure. Free wifi in room not really strong, unstable but acceptable. Breakfast was good with varieties of asian & western food.
The only disappointment was no reply or late email replies which took days for enquries & confirmation. That also they will reply very short (in 1 or 2 sentence) with less courtesy & most enquries not fully answered. I almost given up & wanted to cancel my booking as I only receive a reply 5 days later after sending 3 emails. I would like to suggest to the GM, Mr Peter S to also reply to those email enquries or at least set up a department specially to answer to all emails within 24 hours instead of just efficiently responding to reviews in TripAdvisor.
Overall, your hotel would have got a full 5 star rating from me if not because of the emails issue.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephwong74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Mr Wong
Thank you once again for staying at our hotel during your recent trip and to post here on Trip Advisor! Your recommendation about replying to e-mails faster are much appreciated and since our recent correspondence our reservation staff had been instructed to improve. The FREE wifi service is constantly being upgraded and the signals are getting stronger. By end of the month all floors will have better connections.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a glorious days this hotel knew!
Overall clean well-located modern hotel - but, it really about time for renovation.

PROS:
1. Location! 7 minutes walk to the night bazar, 12 minutes walk to the old city (we were lazy - so we took a taxi), and surrounded by many convenience stores, laundries (60 cents per 2 pound and its ready on the same day, wrapped and folded, and many Thai massage spas.
2. Breakfast is good, including many items both local and western.
3. Pleasant big pool facing east and south gives an ideal tan.
4. Magnificent Lobby, ideal to sit with friends or just have a relaxing moment.
5. Friendly and helpful staff :-) from the guard at the parking through the receptionist to the workers at the dinning room and the pool.
6. Not many notice, but the grounds are well kept and really worth a walk in the gardens.

CONS:
1. As mentioned it's really time for a renovation: Outdated decor everywhere like going back in time to the 70'-80': Old elevator, rusty bathroom with faded and cracked ceramic, worn carpets and creaking furniture.
2. wi-fi signal inside the room is very weak and if you want get on-line you must go outside to the corridor.
3. gym condition is miserable none of the machinery works properly and some of them are older than me.


After all I do find this hotel suitable due to competitive tariff (about 55 dollars) just have low expectations

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Assi
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your last year's trip to Chiang Mai. Your comprehensive write up is much appreciated. Our FREE wifi is constantly upgraded and improved. At the present works are proceeding and by end of this month the signal strength and easy access is possible in all the guest rooms. The company who provided the gym equipment has been called to make sure all is working properly.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing