We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything you need, but need renovation. badly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #65 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“everything you need, but need renovation. badly.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you try to review the hotel - you come to a conclusion it;s perfect: vast and Luxurious public areas, great location, excelent breakfast, clean, rooms furnished with all you need, including free WI FI. But... we didn't like it. Rooms are old and worn out. This hotel needs it's rooms renovated. badly. urgently. if they do it - it'll be perfect.

Room Tip: when you read in tripadvisor that rooms were renovated - go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raanan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Raanan
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! We have taken note of your kind comments. Unfortunately you did not like it with us and your suggestion about renovation is understood.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    767
    392
    100
    47
See reviews for
282
550
113
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very nice. In a good locale for night bazaar. Pools were v good (dont forget sm pool on level 2 - no kids, actually we had it to ourselves whole time). Gym was v poor. Dont book taxi at taxi desk! Expensive! Get a card from taxi driver that drops you off. Half price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smatt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Smatt
Thank you for your first post here on Trip Advisor!
Please read our comments to your second post - thank you
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a great hotel due to its proximity to the night bazaar. The staff were very friendly and courteous. We only stayed one night and the cooked breakfast items were cold. Also the swimming pull is not completely secluded from the path behind it and I was hit on the back by someonen throwing chewing gum over the fence! All in all an okay hotel, I probably would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Cara
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us here in Chiang Mai during your recent trip. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again. Please let us know when you intend to visit.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the location is great, the rooms and pool okay, the hotel was crowded with noisy Chinese people. There was no place for us at breakfast, twice, and the elevators were occupied on almost all occasions. It seemes that the restaurant cannot feed so many guests in the morning, making especially the breakfast time horrible!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Marleen
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying here with us during your trip to Chiang Mai. We do understand your comments. Breakfast times can become crowded and irrelevant of the nationalities. Some days guests come early some days later for breakfast.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel now 4 or 5 times, this was the first time that I stayed there with family, so we got a bigger room which was located at the top floor. the room was big enough even with a bed for our daughter. But on the roof the engines for the air con were a bit noisy. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast buffet basic, the shabu shabu not really our thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnghenryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Pnghernyb
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! It is nice to know that you have stayed several times with us and that you came this time with your family. We do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved the staff at the hotel, always so friendly and the location was also a great location. We walked to the night markets every night and was so easy to catch transport anywhere. The ladies in charge of booking tours were also so great, always honest with prices and give you great deals. Only downside was the pool closed at 6pm, otherwise great hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Bec
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during the time here in Chiang Mai. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back on one of your next trip to this part of Thailand. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team & Peter Schnyder - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel but I will find somewhere else next time! Other times have been ok but cheaper - this time no deal and a terrible room - 823!
The sink was broken so we had to brush our teeth and wash in the bath. The problem was the bath only let out brown water with bits in it! The toulet exploded water outwards when you flushed it but only for te first day, after that it stopped working altogher so we had to use the one in the lobby. Housekeeping kept taking our towels even when they were clean, without replacing them. One day I started ringing from 8am to get towels - by 4pm they still couldnt provide them so we went down and got pool towels so we could have our morning shower! The breakfast was great if you went early - forget it after 9am - all the tables are dirty and a lot of the food is gone!
The rooms could really do with some maintenence and not worth it unless you get a good deal! The pools were great though - clean and plenty of towels!
Would definitely give it a miss next time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Wilp
Thank you for your third visit and for your post here on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate that you have been staying in a room which was not 100% functionally. We do apologize for this. We do move guests to another room if they are not comfortable in it or other shortcomings may occurred. Perhaps you may change your mind and if our hotel has a good deal you will be staying with us again. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing