We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #63 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfy”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from May 11- May 15 2013
Large Hotel with a large lobby..
Checkin was very smooth and free wifi which I m using to write this review on my last night here is v strong.
Room was fairly nice with a big bed n 2 chairs to lounge. Toilet very clean but did nt come with toothbrushes... called rm service n thy promptly brot a pair of brushes n paste. on the third day wen we ran out of paste n called for some we were informed during bfast tt thy do not hve that service. .. weird. we did still call n ask again In the evening n finally got them.
bfast was a huge impressive buffet spread but got bored by third day with the menu remaining almost the same daily...
Very near the night market n a good massage parlour we frequented daily.
Very peaceful n quiet hotel.. n again v clean. new towels n room made up daily.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thasha1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Thasha
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your trip to Chiang Mai and having taken the time to post here on Trip Advisor! Your comments have been well received and our staff are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team -
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    758
    388
    100
    47
See reviews for
279
543
112
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel!
Excellent location, amazing food in the hotel and just a street away. Make sure you book breakfast online with your room as the variety and amount of buffet breakfast you have each morning will keep you full until the afternoon!
I recommend the hotels facial to treat yourself with!
Do it!

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe queen at a great price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Amber
Thank you very much for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying at our hotel during your trip to Chiang Mai. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our first hotel on a driving tour around the Golden Triangle. We stayed here 2 nights (one prior to our trip and one on our return).

It is a large hotel where many group trips stay but both check in and check out go smoothly with a minimal wait. The staff is also very friendly and there was no problem leaving our extra suitcases at the hotel when we left for 5 days to drive through the Golden Triangle

The rooms are comfortable but the bathrooms could use an upgrade. The air conditioning works well and thus comfortable sleeping. There is free wireless internet in the rooms.

The breakfast buffet has both Western and local choices. The staff is quick and efficient and even though there are many guests seating is readily available.

The pool is clean and refreshing in the heat of Chiang Mai.

The hotel is within walking distance of the lively night market and there are also multiple local evening markets close by as well as shopping and dining.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuAlAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear RuAi
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor! Your well written comments have been well received and much appreciated. We thank you very much for staying your first and last night of your north Thailand tour at our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you are on a budget stay here. For less than 40$ you can have very good location.
Big room with a safety box and a Good pool. It is clean but not like a hospital..
However, service is nothing special.
I agree with other reviews that the hotel needs renovation. Urgently.
The most wired thing was that when I asked at the reception to stay 2 more days they gave me a price higher that I could find at hotel's website. When I told at the receptionist that, she adviced me to book the 2 more days at the hotel's website and to forward the new reservation via email at the reception !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doxapatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Doxapatri
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. We appreciate your down to earth comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and even extended your stay. Our receptionist did the right thing to recommend you to book your room via a website, as we are obliged towards our business partners not to sell direct with their contract rates. Thank you for your kind understanding and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here during Songkran and our son stayed within the walls at a backpacker lodge. Imperial Mai Ping was great. Clean rooms with firm mattresses and a fantastic buffet breakfast included every day. Everything is within walking distance, ( 10 mins to the moat), or jump on a tuk tuk. If you're going during Songkran expect to get wet.....really wet and go with the flow, don't get upset if someone dumps a bucket of water on you. (We witnessed some stupid tourist that did just that....so we wet them some more!!!....Be prepared and pack important stuff in Ziploc bags)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzravencan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear NZ Ravencan
We were very pleased to read your post here on Trip Advisor and that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and also all the Songkran Festivities. Every year we accommodate more and more guests who just come here to celebrate Songkran. It was nice to see so many people getting soaked and come back to the quietness of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and it would be nice to see you next year again here. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel book by a local friend in Chiangmai. Hotel look big and clean and price is reasonable. We booked a superior large bed room at the end they gave us a large bed room with a private corner single bed room. Very good location to go to Mae peng night market, if u want to go to the restaurant near by Mae ping river will suggest u to take a tuk tuk there. Here, in Chiangmai everyone are so friendly. Surround this hotel with lots of massage centre, you can easily find a massage centre but if you want to look for good one a bit difficult. If you want to tailor made your suit surround here also easy to get. WIFI is free and good signal and additional swimming pool here is nice. Overall I can say worth to stay here. Don't hesitate to choose this hotel..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineLing126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Elaine and family
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your post on Trip Advisor! We are very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. Our location makes things certainly easy for people to move around, as many important spots are nearby. Our hotel has actually a very good Spa where we offer great massage and many treatments. Perhaps you will re-visit Chiang Mai again in the near future and we would be very pleased to welcoming you back.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to score a royal service suite. The quality of the fit out of this hotel is splendid. The pools are great and excellent restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a wonderful tasty start to the day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Tony
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. We very much appreciate your honest comments and that you have truly enjoyed your time with us. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our place on another occasion. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,770 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing