We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location for Songkran” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great location for Songkran”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here during Songkran and our son stayed within the walls at a backpacker lodge. Imperial Mai Ping was great. Clean rooms with firm mattresses and a fantastic buffet breakfast included every day. Everything is within walking distance, ( 10 mins to the moat), or jump on a tuk tuk. If you're going during Songkran expect to get wet.....really wet and go with the flow, don't get upset if someone dumps a bucket of water on you. (We witnessed some stupid tourist that did just that....so we wet them some more!!!....Be prepared and pack important stuff in Ziploc bags)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzravencan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear NZ Ravencan
We were very pleased to read your post here on Trip Advisor and that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and also all the Songkran Festivities. Every year we accommodate more and more guests who just come here to celebrate Songkran. It was nice to see so many people getting soaked and come back to the quietness of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and it would be nice to see you next year again here. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    747
    381
    98
    46
See reviews for
273
535
109
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel book by a local friend in Chiangmai. Hotel look big and clean and price is reasonable. We booked a superior large bed room at the end they gave us a large bed room with a private corner single bed room. Very good location to go to Mae peng night market, if u want to go to the restaurant near by Mae ping river will suggest u to take a tuk tuk there. Here, in Chiangmai everyone are so friendly. Surround this hotel with lots of massage centre, you can easily find a massage centre but if you want to look for good one a bit difficult. If you want to tailor made your suit surround here also easy to get. WIFI is free and good signal and additional swimming pool here is nice. Overall I can say worth to stay here. Don't hesitate to choose this hotel..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineLing126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Elaine and family
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your post on Trip Advisor! We are very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. Our location makes things certainly easy for people to move around, as many important spots are nearby. Our hotel has actually a very good Spa where we offer great massage and many treatments. Perhaps you will re-visit Chiang Mai again in the near future and we would be very pleased to welcoming you back.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to score a royal service suite. The quality of the fit out of this hotel is splendid. The pools are great and excellent restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a wonderful tasty start to the day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Tony
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. We very much appreciate your honest comments and that you have truly enjoyed your time with us. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our place on another occasion. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel seems to need litlle bit of an upgrade.The rooms are very clean but Tv should be changed.Great location steps away from Night Market.Good and Helpful Staff..Stayed one night and was pleasat.Nice pool and massage also restaurant very good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soli1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Soli
Thank you for your stay here with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and that you have taken the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and your com- ments are very much appreciated. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a slightly unusual review because I live in Chiang Mai and we recently hosted a large conference at the Imperial Mae Ping. However, I have no ongoing contract or business arrangement with the hotel. I simply wanted to write a review for others thinking about the Imperial as a venue for a small or large event, or even just thinking about going there for a few days stay. When you work with a hotel on an event, you get to see a little bit behind the scenes and get to know the people at the hotel. With this is mind, I want to highly recommend the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel for business, leisure or events. We found it an excellent location all round for our conference - the meeting rooms are well equipped and in a well laid out environment conducive to networking. The management is fantastic and all the staff worked together tirelessly to ensure our delegates had a great experience.

When you work on a big project like our conference, you look for great people to work with and the staff were absolutely fantastic throughout the planning and execution of our event. The Imperial has a wonderful senior team in place that were a joy to work with (some of them for more than a year!). They have a professional, but friendly 'can do' attitude. Special mention for the extremely dedicated sales/convention team, the amazingly calm and friendly front desk team, and the talented kitchen team. The food was varied and delicious! We got a lot of good feedback about it. After a week of staying there, I did not get bored. The Head Chef is very passionate about food and no challenge was too great, from set dinners for 80, to an outdoor banquet for 550!

I actually lived at the hotel for a week and would highly recommended it from a guest point of view. It's a convenient, central location in Chiang Mai that is relatively calm and peaceful but you can walk in 2 mins to the Night Bazaar. It sits on a huge plot of land - larger than any hotel in central Chiang Mai that I know of - that makes it feel relaxed and uncrowded compared to some other hotels near the Night Bazaar area. Guest rooms and floors have had recent renovation. The whole hotel has a friendly 'cozy' feel to it that many people commented on. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, which is a huge bonus. The wifi system had it's struggles with over 500 people trying to use it at once, however this is Thailand and I am not sure we could have done better elsewhere. The IT staff were excellent and worked hard all week to ensure it was working as well as it could be.

On the final day of our conference, we asked the senior hotel staff to come into our meeting room so we could say thank you to them. Over 500 people from all over the world were there, these are people very used to travel, conferences and meetings and they gave the staff a totally unscripted, spontaneous standing ovation... I think this speaks for itself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jo
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel team including myself, thank you for your detailed write up about your experience at our hotel. We are all pleased that the conference went well and it was our team who made it possible. Thank you for choosing our hotel as the venue of your conference and it was great to see you all here networking and discussing business during the stay. Food was certainly an important issue and our Executive Chef - Stefan and his crew were happy to prepare you every day with different foods. We look forward to seeing you again soon. In the meantime,
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is my third visit to the Imperial Mae Ping. We were warmly welcomed and it was my friends birthday on the dy upon arrival. The hotel organised a cake for us and it made my friends birthday even more special. The staff were very helpful and friendly and always greeted us warmly. The location to the night bazzar and sounding areas of Chiang Mai is perfect. I will definitely be staying here again next year. Breakfast is fantastic too and I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1986_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Jules
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post here on Trip Advisor! It is always a pleasure to welcoming repeat guests to our hotel and we thank you for your loyalty. Our staff are happy to read your comments and all of us do look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Chiang Mai from 04-07 Apr and stayed at Mae Ping hotel.
The hotel is not new but clean and we enjoyed the warm services of the hotel staff.
We were privileged to have met Peter the GM and enjoyed the warm reception.
One good point about the hotel is the location. It's a 5 min walk to the busy night market,
pubs and eateries.
The suite was comfortable ,spacious and clean. For the Singapore food lovers, you should not miss the breakfast which offer a good spread.
The wi-fi isn't the fastest but decent enough for normal surfing.
There is a free shuttle that brings you to the largest shopping centre near the airport.
They do have decent Thai massage service where you can have it in the comfort of your hotel room.
No major complain here and have very much enjoyed my stay while there and will be happy to be back again in my next trip.

From Victor

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Victor
It was a real pleasure to meet you during your stay here at The Imperial Mae Ping in Chiang Mai. We very much appreciate your kind comments and are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we all do look forward to welcoming you back to our place in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing