We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable hotel in a central location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel in a central location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My sister,her husband and me stayed one night after a mix up with a reservation at a different hotel. We were impressed by the check in staff. We were allowed to check in early and check out late in our rooms of choice.The rooms are a little bit dated but extremely comfortable with a bath tub and very hot water great after a long journey. The buffet breakfast was well presented with a mixture of Thai and foreign food and filling enough for any body's day trips. I have visited Chiang Mai several times and this was my first stay at the Imperial however it will not be my last.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FjkII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Fjkil
Thank you for your kind comment posted here on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us here and do look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future. Please let us know when you have the date. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    747
    381
    98
    46
See reviews for
273
535
109
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is well located, short walk away from Chiang Mai night bazaar and 15 minute drive to the airport. Hotel is mostly clean (rooms a little bit less than lobby), and there are mosquitoes in the lobby area and lobby bathroom. Food is great and offers variety. Elevators are quite small. Good free wifi and Internet connection in rooms. Staff is very nice. Overall, Imperial Mae Ping was definitely great value for your dollar spent!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishagug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Mishagug
Thank you very much for your kind post here on Trip Advisor and your stay with us during your time in Chiang Mai. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at The Mae Ping Hotel. The presence of so many mosquitos was this year very unusual. We are undertaking many efforts to minimize the discomfort caused by them. Thank you for your stay and kind regards from
The Imperial Mae Ping Team - Peter Schnyder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed again at the Mae Ping (about the 6th time). The hotel is in a great location,central to all amenities, staff are very good, rooms clean, bed is large and excellent. The breakfast is very good and well worth adding to your travel costs.
The only two downside comments is
1. There is no vent in the bathroom/toilet.
2. Internet connection is slow and drops out.
We took friends with us to this hotel ( you always hope people enjoy your recommendations) and they too enjoyed their stay.....
Well done Imperial Mae Ping.
Garry B... Bunbury West Australia

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area..(Quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Garry
Thank you very much for your post here on Trip Advisor and for your loyalty towards our hotel. it is very nice to have repeat guests. Your two -points have been noted and once the hotel rooms will be renovated, air vents will be added in each bathroom. The FREE internet is all the time being upgraded as more and more people bring their electronic gadgets. Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends. Please let us know when you next visit Chiang and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our place. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team / Peter GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This may not be the newest hotel, but its clean and tidy. Short walk to the night bazaar, and eating areas. Pool area is a nice place to relax, and wifi in all areas is a bonus. Happy hour was great 2cocktails a treat!
Rooms were clean, and a pleasure to hear the rooster when we woke up lol. Breakfast was good, lots of variety.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandrajw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sandra
Thank you very much for your kind and good comments about our hotel and your post here on Trip Advisor. Our staff were very happy to read your comments and do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you visit the North of Thailand. Kind regards The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of a tour of northern Thailand.
It boasts excellent location- very close to all amenities including 7-11, resturants, laundry (several stores offer this steps from hotel, much cheaper than within hotel itself, highly recommend), night market.
Staff were very gracious and kind. I was especially impressed by housekeeping, who were very speedy and helpful after we broke a glass bottle in our room, they were there within a few minutes and so nice. The lobby and public areas of this hotel are quite nice. They have traditional muscians some nights.

Resturant has a great selection of many different types of foods for breakfast. It can get crowded around 8am-9am, so get there early if you want a seat!

Did not get a chance to check out the swiming pool but people in our group really enjoyed them.

The only downside I can think of with this stay was the very loud show that took place one night until 11pm, for some kind of an agricultural conference at our hotel which featured singers/ rock bands, unfortunately our room overlooked this area so subjected to this for a few hours. They did all sorts of country, classic rock, disco, and popular hits ("Gangnam Style"!) with variable sucess. Entertaining, but not when you are exhausted and needing some zzz's.
Overall though, pleased with stay, it was a nice experience!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank icedkachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Iced Kachang
Thank you for staying with us during your time here in Chiang Mai and to post on Trip Advisor!
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and noted your comments about the private party we have had in the Chang Garden. Despite of requesting the organiser of the party, they went on with full blast and we do apologise. We wish you a Happy Easter and hope to see you again before too long. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team - Peter Schnyder GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location of this hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast selection and comfortable rooms. The Chang garden is quite large and peaceful. There are 2 swimming pools, one on ground level and onother smaller one on the second floor.
The location is minutes walk to the Night Bazaar and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Au Lynch
Thank you for staying with us here at The Mae Ping Hotel during your recent stay in Chiang Mai and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read of your good times and that your stay has been a "Wonderful experience"! Please let us know when you visit this part of Thailand again. We wish you a Happy Easter!
The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location: Perfect
Room: A very comfortable Bed
Bathroom: No air vent, steam and *cough* odours have no where to escape but in to your room.
Breakfast: To die for it the best we had eaten in along time such a selection.
Staff: Very friendly.
Wireless internet Free but oh so very very slow and with constant drop outs making working impossible. You also have to renew your user/password everyday can be annoying.
Would we stay here again. YES

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Dr Chip
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and your comments have been noted. The internet is free of charge and at certain times just too many people use it at the same time. We are in the process of evaluating the upgrade of the server and hopefully improvements will make our guests happy. We wish you and your family a Happy Easter. Kind regards from
The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing