We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #71 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location of this hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast selection and comfortable rooms. The Chang garden is quite large and peaceful. There are 2 swimming pools, one on ground level and onother smaller one on the second floor.
The location is minutes walk to the Night Bazaar and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Au Lynch
Thank you for staying with us here at The Mae Ping Hotel during your recent stay in Chiang Mai and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read of your good times and that your stay has been a "Wonderful experience"! Please let us know when you visit this part of Thailand again. We wish you a Happy Easter!
The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location: Perfect
Room: A very comfortable Bed
Bathroom: No air vent, steam and *cough* odours have no where to escape but in to your room.
Breakfast: To die for it the best we had eaten in along time such a selection.
Staff: Very friendly.
Wireless internet Free but oh so very very slow and with constant drop outs making working impossible. You also have to renew your user/password everyday can be annoying.
Would we stay here again. YES

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Dr Chip
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and your comments have been noted. The internet is free of charge and at certain times just too many people use it at the same time. We are in the process of evaluating the upgrade of the server and hopefully improvements will make our guests happy. We wish you and your family a Happy Easter. Kind regards from
The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was here for a conference & liked this hotel for its price. The staff did not have the room ready, although booked days in advance but by 2pm, all was ok. Reception desk was not too attentative for guest requests which was a draw back, but with huge breakfast, free wifi & nice swimming pool & nearness to night bazaar, it was worth it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rashid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Rashid
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Chiang Mai and for your posting here on Trip Advisor! We have taken note of your comments and would like to mention that our cheek-in time is 2 p.m., if possible and upon availability we like to give our rooms to our guests as early as possible. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on another opportunity. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was such great value! Rooms were so comfortable, cosy and spacious. The only negative was that the bathrooms need a bit of revamping but apart from that the rooms were great! Staff had great service and were very friendly. The breakfast was SOOOOOO delicious and there was such a range of food to choose from (from asian food, to western food etc). There were also various restaurants inside the hotel. The location is just perfect with the night markets literally around the corner (2 minute walk). In Chiang Mai, our hotel also organised for us to: ride elephants, visit tiger kingdom, tours to national parks, and visit the culture and various villages.
Overall, Imperial Mae Ping was definitely great value for your dollar spent!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evanthiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Evanthiia
Thank you very much for your kind and objectively written post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with at our hotel during your stay in Chiang Mai. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your time and your nice comments are forwarded to our staff too. We wish you a Happy Easter and do look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. Kind regards from
The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent location, rooms are basic but nice and everything works!!! Staff at front desk werent overly helpful or pleasant but overall a great stay and location for money. Breakfast was ordinary but nice. Overall enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Neville
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your posting here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too far future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team - Peter Schnyder GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location only a few minutes walk to the night market and close to the tae pai gate of the old city. Overall the hotel is getting a bit old and needs a make over. Buffet breakfast is good and pools are clean and relaxing. The pool on the 2nd floor is very quite..no kids and gets the afternoon sun where the big ground floor pool gets only shade in the afternoon. Rooms are decent size and clean. Only complaint not enough soap!!!! Had to steal it off the cleaners cart...they dish it out like its gold...if you like indian food the indian just around the corner on tne way to the night market is yum yum yum

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raich-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Raich
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai and to post on Trip Advisor!
Your comments about our hotel and Chiang Mai are much appreciated and are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much and kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent LOCATION, few blocks away from the night market and 10 to 15 minutes away from the airport. The hotel is very nice but needs to be up grated, specially the bathrooms and the room furniture, breakfast buffet was very good with a huge selection on meals, Asian & Occidental. service is very good too, and the money that you pay is very reasonable for what you received, specially if it includes the breakfast buffet

Room Tip: the higher the better view you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard20282930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Richard
Thank you for your taking your valuable time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying at our hotel during your time here in Chiang Mai. We do appreciate your comments and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#169 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,032 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $31 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing