We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could have been great”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staffs are friendly, honest and helpful. The location is great, nearby shopping complex, restaurant and massage parlor. Room is an issue, bed is too hard to sleep in and there's stain on the bathtub (old kinda stain where is not because the cleaning lady doesn't do her job well).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r_savi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear R Savi
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and the completion of the hotel guest questionnaire. Your comments have been well taken and we thank you for staying with us during your time here in Chiang Mai. Our beds are the same as international chain hotels are using, i.e. Le Meridien etc.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    773
    395
    101
    48
See reviews for
284
558
115
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed there from December 30, 2012 until January 8, 2013. Hotel is good. Location is excellent. 2 swimming pools are excellent if not big. Breakfast is great but would benefit of a bit more variety of fruit. Furniture, decor, carpets need a revamp but still acceptable. Bathrooms are quite good. Big problem is: THE STAFF! Quite unfriendly at reception. Bad when you present yourself for the 1st time. No smile, not even efficiency. I had paid for my NYE dinner and was not given a voucher; I had to wait 45 mns on the night for it to be fixed..very embarrassing. I asked to re-confirm my tickets and was told: You do it from your room Madam. I asked for directions and was told: go to the internet and find out!! Thank you very much Imperial, you must be the most unfriendly staff in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koalagirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Koalagirl
Thank you for staying at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai and to take the time to post here on Trip Advisor.
We thank you for your objective written comments and wish to apologize for the unpleasant service you have received mainly from our front office staff. Your comments will be taken up at our internal department heads meeting and in particular at the front office staff meeting.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The thing I liked the most about this hotel was its location. The breakfast buffet was also very good. The room I stayed at was kind of old-looking (specially the bathroom) but it had a very nice view!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear DGCF
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for your stay at our hotel here in Chiang Mai.
Your comments are much appreciated and we do hope to welcoming you back on another occasion in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had interconnecting rooms on the 8th floor, not overlooking the pool area. The rooms are ok, tvs and furnishings are aged but in working order. We still heard noise, 3 nights in a row from the BBQ area. The hotel is very close to night bazaar, a cafe on the corner offered western and Thai meals, although we used room service for a few nights which was comparable in price and easy after longggg days of sight seeing. Staff at reception I also did not find to be friendly. They seemed disinterested in helping. Breakfast had a good selection but when leg groups were in seating was a problem and we were pushed Into the Japanese restaurant. Saying all that, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the other side of he building away from the pool/BBQ area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_8999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Anastasia
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your time here in Chiang Mai. Your comments have been noted and the reception staff will be spoken to. Guests are accommodated in the other food beverage outlet in order to avoid long waiting times during high occupancy times.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 20/10/2012 to 11/12/2012
it is well located and a great place to stay
we would like to thank peter and his friendly staff
for making our stay there so pleasant
would we stay there again Yes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian363636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Brian
Thank you very much for your long stay with us here at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and your short and precise comment on Trip Advisor. The entire team here is very happy to know you and I firmly believe that guests who stay long can give very objective comments. Belated our Happy New Year wishes to you and your family.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have read earlier reviews of many travelers and wondered what they had expected from paying 40-60 US$/night at this hotel. I think it is okay for the price we paid as we spent most of the time sightseeing anyway. I'm sure the facilities, food and services at the Meridien Hotel across the street would be better than Imperial Mae Ping, but we get what we pay for!

Good points: It is centrally located, next to the night bazaar shopping street. (That is, if you like to browse around fake brand name goods, hillstribe artisan products, etc. in the evening.) All taxis know it. (A plus if you don't want to spend time explaining the location of your boutique hotel hidden somewhere in this charming city!)

Bad points: Hotel is generally very crowded on long weekends as this is a destination for local and budgeted overseas tour groups. That means, longer wait in the queue for checking in & checking out, getting into the tiny elevators, and waiting for tables at buffet breakfast at 7 a.m.! As for the rooms, they are not sound proof, so you can hear a lot of noise in the corridor (and vice versa!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reungvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Reungvit
Thank you for your stay during your time here in Chiang Mai and taking your time to comment here on Trip Advisor. It is a fact that our hotel is popular not only during weekends but nearly every day and therefore sometimes our guests need to wait. Thank you for your understanding and we do our best to constantly adjust and upgrade our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in inter-leading rooms. Rooms clean and comfortable. Recommend rooms on higher floors as suggested by other reviews as the night noise can be a problem. Reception staff very unhelpful and unfriendly which for Thailand is very unusual and disappointing. Breakfast huge selection but once again service poor with tables not being cleared and staff unfriendly. Location of the hotel very good and convenient to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryMay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Merry May
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and for your stay here at our hotel during your trip to Chiang Mai. Your points have been noted and the respective staff will be spoken to. We are sorry that not all aspects of your expectations were met.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing