We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #72 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Imperial Mae Ping was quite a bunus I have stayed in Chiang Mai many times and walked past it very often. I was told it was a little old and had seen its best day. I was suprised with the rooms and ammenities of the hotel. It was not the most luxuriose hotel but was very comfortable. the rooms were clean and standard hotel fair. The pool area and beer gardens wre a delight. The breakfast was very good plenty of choice and plenty of seating at busy times. the hotel is situated right in town just a stones throw to the night bazaar and close to the Thapea and Loh Kroh entertainment areas. The hotel was clean the service good, normal for Northern Thai.

I would recommend the hotel to anybody that is not after ultimate 5 star service.

Room Tip: Access to Loh Kroh Road is quicker by the single gate on the left hand side of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Tony
Thank you for your kind post here on Trip Advisor and for your stay at our hotel during your time in Chiang Mai.
Your comments are very appreciated and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The Imperial is based in the centre of the town of Chiang Mai, within walking distance of the busy night market. Always haggle with traders and you should get a bargain. There are loads of bars and restaurants and European food is easy to find. The hotel is clean and well presented, however we had problems with noise with the aircon and both our parties had to move rooms. Good place to stay if you want a busy holiday break.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Spesh
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post here on Trip Advisor.
Your comments are noted and we will do our best to about the air con noise. Thank you for staying with us during your busy holiday break and we do look forward to welcoming you on another occasion back to our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really great value for money in central location, service was very good, taxi service very helpful, great choice at breakfast, lighting was dim over desk, bathroom needs renewal in due course, wifi not that fast for business but overall we were fortunate to stay here for our conference at the price we paid, we could get about by taxi, on foot or by tuctuc, liked the garden, good deep tissue massage at the spa

Room Tip: ask for superior at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Ansu Bob
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai. Good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your points brought up about the lights and the bath room. Thank you for your stay and
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After spending three weeks travelling around Thailand, our stay in Chang Mai was probably the highlight, not the hustle & bustle of Bangkok, the Imperial Mae Ping was close to everything just a short walk to the night bazaar, silver street shops & the places to spend to your hearts content & a short taxi ride to the handicraft area for those more unusual items like Celidon Pottery,hand made carpets ,wood carving & hand painted items, make sure you take lots of money as it's hard not to be tempted by such beautiful products. The highlight of our stay in Chang Mai was the 3 day we spent hiking up in the mountains, as we are both around 60 we found the challenge & the satisfaction of achieviing this a real thrill, also the relaxing stay at the Lisu village after Elephant riding & white water rafting. We would recommend a trip to Chang Mai to any one who wants to see the best of Thailand & not the hectic tourist areas of Bangkok & Phuket

Room Tip: Ask for room at the front of the hotel as you have a spectacular view of the mountains, from your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Chris
We thank you very much for your kind and nice post here on Trip Advisor and that you have chosen our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai.
Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in and around Chiang Mai. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When I first arrived I was astounded both by the premises of the hotel ( Close to everything) and the service.
The people working there are worth 5 stars, no question about it. They are helpful and very understanding. Mr. Hotel Manager, if you hired those people I will worship you forever :)

But, let's face it, it is time for a renovation...
I lived on 5 th floor and even though it is clean, the bathroom is...well let's just say it, not very up to date. The walls have black spots all over them, it kind of smells like mold.
I have travelled all over Asia, so I am kind of used to it in small hotels, guesthouses etc.(due to the humidity), but when I arrived there I didn't think it would be the case. Sadly I was mistaken.

One other reason I was really disappointed was the fact that after eating in the chinese restaurant on the 2.floor I got sick. First I thought maybe it was just me not drinking enough water, but then I got muscle aches, fever and my belly was not at all pleased with me...and then there was a staggering headache.
I went back to the restaurant the day after, and tried to talk to them, but nobody seemed to understand what I was trying to say.
Today, 3 days after the meal I went to the doctor here in Bangkok, and they told me I probably got it from some bad chicken or milk. And...the only chicken meal I had was at this restaurant.

Please notify them about this :)

But again, your hotel is really nicely located, and it would be even nicer and well worthy of a 5 star on Tripadvisor with some renovation. Oh and please tell the bellboys that they're stars :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hegjako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Hegjako
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and your stay with us during your time in Chiang Mai.
Thank you for your constructive comments and our staff will be informed about your praise. I have called the Chinese Restaurant team to my office and have informed them about your unpleased belly and other discomforts. We have strict quality controls in place and regular health inspections.
We have plans to upgrade our hotel in the near future and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 4 days and nights here and love Chiang Mai. We were originally booked into another hotel, but when we learned it was undergoing renovations we changed our booking. We were happy we did as this hotel is located perfectly between the Night Bazaar, bars, and old walled city. Didn't need a tuk tuk at all as everything was a short walk. We did, however, take a tuk tuk ride around the crumbling city walls and moat, and they are fascinating.
Our room was very comfortable, although the bathroom a bit small and tired - could do with a makeover, however adequate for our needs. Our view over the pools and gardens was lovely.
We spent most of our time around the pool, and eating in the cheap restaurants near the night bazaar. We did book an elephant trek/river rafting tour which was well worth the cost for the day.
The breakfast was very busy as a lot of business people use this hotel as well as holiday makers. I found it to be a little disorganised, but the food was adequate and plentiful. Same items every day became a little boring.
The vast hotel gardens and beer garden were hardly used, which seems a pity as they are so lovely and welcoming. Even a playground for kids.
Yes, we would stay here again if we return to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms on the city side are noisy due to the Thai Boxing demos held next door, but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Ali
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai here in nice Thailand.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have had a good time with us in the hotel as well as on your outings. Let us know when you plan to visit us again. In the meantime we
send you our - Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time at this Hotel and we found it as good as the reviews it has received on the tripadvisor site. It is in an ideal position for visiting the Markets (Day & Night Markets) and Tuk Tuks are parked just outside the Main gate.
The Hotel has a pick-up service from the Airport for a small fee. (need to book with the Hotel.) Breakfast is included in the room cost and is excellent with both Thai and European foods available. This Hotel is not as "Flashy" as some in Chiang Mai but has everything you could wish for in a good Hotel. We will be happy to return to the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KualaLumpurTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear KL Tourist
Thank you very much for your post here on Trip Advisor and to have stayed at our hotel here in Chiang Mai during your recent trip. We are very pleased to read your comments and that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your visit to Chiang Mai. Our location is certainly a big advantage and we do look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#169 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,032 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $47 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing