We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in the Heart of Chang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Old world charm in the Heart of Chang Mai”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After spending three weeks travelling around Thailand, our stay in Chang Mai was probably the highlight, not the hustle & bustle of Bangkok, the Imperial Mae Ping was close to everything just a short walk to the night bazaar, silver street shops & the places to spend to your hearts content & a short taxi ride to the handicraft area for those more unusual items like Celidon Pottery,hand made carpets ,wood carving & hand painted items, make sure you take lots of money as it's hard not to be tempted by such beautiful products. The highlight of our stay in Chang Mai was the 3 day we spent hiking up in the mountains, as we are both around 60 we found the challenge & the satisfaction of achieviing this a real thrill, also the relaxing stay at the Lisu village after Elephant riding & white water rafting. We would recommend a trip to Chang Mai to any one who wants to see the best of Thailand & not the hectic tourist areas of Bangkok & Phuket

Room Tip: Ask for room at the front of the hotel as you have a spectacular view of the mountains, from your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Chris
We thank you very much for your kind and nice post here on Trip Advisor and that you have chosen our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai.
Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in and around Chiang Mai. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    773
    395
    101
    48
See reviews for
284
558
115
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Longyearbyen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When I first arrived I was astounded both by the premises of the hotel ( Close to everything) and the service.
The people working there are worth 5 stars, no question about it. They are helpful and very understanding. Mr. Hotel Manager, if you hired those people I will worship you forever :)

But, let's face it, it is time for a renovation...
I lived on 5 th floor and even though it is clean, the bathroom is...well let's just say it, not very up to date. The walls have black spots all over them, it kind of smells like mold.
I have travelled all over Asia, so I am kind of used to it in small hotels, guesthouses etc.(due to the humidity), but when I arrived there I didn't think it would be the case. Sadly I was mistaken.

One other reason I was really disappointed was the fact that after eating in the chinese restaurant on the 2.floor I got sick. First I thought maybe it was just me not drinking enough water, but then I got muscle aches, fever and my belly was not at all pleased with me...and then there was a staggering headache.
I went back to the restaurant the day after, and tried to talk to them, but nobody seemed to understand what I was trying to say.
Today, 3 days after the meal I went to the doctor here in Bangkok, and they told me I probably got it from some bad chicken or milk. And...the only chicken meal I had was at this restaurant.

Please notify them about this :)

But again, your hotel is really nicely located, and it would be even nicer and well worthy of a 5 star on Tripadvisor with some renovation. Oh and please tell the bellboys that they're stars :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hegjako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Hegjako
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and your stay with us during your time in Chiang Mai.
Thank you for your constructive comments and our staff will be informed about your praise. I have called the Chinese Restaurant team to my office and have informed them about your unpleased belly and other discomforts. We have strict quality controls in place and regular health inspections.
We have plans to upgrade our hotel in the near future and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 4 days and nights here and love Chiang Mai. We were originally booked into another hotel, but when we learned it was undergoing renovations we changed our booking. We were happy we did as this hotel is located perfectly between the Night Bazaar, bars, and old walled city. Didn't need a tuk tuk at all as everything was a short walk. We did, however, take a tuk tuk ride around the crumbling city walls and moat, and they are fascinating.
Our room was very comfortable, although the bathroom a bit small and tired - could do with a makeover, however adequate for our needs. Our view over the pools and gardens was lovely.
We spent most of our time around the pool, and eating in the cheap restaurants near the night bazaar. We did book an elephant trek/river rafting tour which was well worth the cost for the day.
The breakfast was very busy as a lot of business people use this hotel as well as holiday makers. I found it to be a little disorganised, but the food was adequate and plentiful. Same items every day became a little boring.
The vast hotel gardens and beer garden were hardly used, which seems a pity as they are so lovely and welcoming. Even a playground for kids.
Yes, we would stay here again if we return to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms on the city side are noisy due to the Thai Boxing demos held next door, but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Ali
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai here in nice Thailand.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have had a good time with us in the hotel as well as on your outings. Let us know when you plan to visit us again. In the meantime we
send you our - Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time at this Hotel and we found it as good as the reviews it has received on the tripadvisor site. It is in an ideal position for visiting the Markets (Day & Night Markets) and Tuk Tuks are parked just outside the Main gate.
The Hotel has a pick-up service from the Airport for a small fee. (need to book with the Hotel.) Breakfast is included in the room cost and is excellent with both Thai and European foods available. This Hotel is not as "Flashy" as some in Chiang Mai but has everything you could wish for in a good Hotel. We will be happy to return to the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KualaLumpurTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear KL Tourist
Thank you very much for your post here on Trip Advisor and to have stayed at our hotel here in Chiang Mai during your recent trip. We are very pleased to read your comments and that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your visit to Chiang Mai. Our location is certainly a big advantage and we do look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in the imperial mae ping on the last night of my chiang mai trip with my wife and younger son. It was only one night so we weren't really requesting for so much. Sadly when we arrived, the female receptionist that greeted us didn't seem friendly at all. She didn't really welcome us and simply demanded that we show our passports. In the end she didn't seem to want to handle our check in and simply passed us to another guy receptionist who was much better.

We knew of the good location of the hotel and the rooms were comfortable. Especially the beds. Housekeeping lady was also friendly as she helped me open our connecting room when we couldn't find the key. In the end if you're looking for a nice comfortable place you can stay there, could have been perfect if not for the bad experience at check in.

Room Tip: You can ask for connecting rooms if you travel in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Nigch
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and staying at our hotel during your last night here in Chiang Mai!
We are sorry to read that your arrival was marred by the shortcomings of one of our female receptionist. I will personally talk to all the staff at the front desk and train them again. It is nice to know that the housekeeping lady was helpful and opened you the connecting door. Indeed our hotel has many connecting rooms and they can be allocated for families and friends who wish to have this arrangement.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

having come from Indra Regent, Bangkok this initially seemed a bit isolated, but by end of first night loved it. clean facilities and staff very attentive. buffet breakfast fantastic. band playing in garden bar area were first class.
only two negatives:
1. pool hours too short, a dip in the evenings would have been nice, 6pm too early to close.
2. double room had two singles so those and the foldaway bed for our 11 year-old made room very claustrophobic - air con cold but noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MstMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Fiona
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and that you have chosen our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai.
We are pleased to read of your overall comments and have taken note of your suggestion about the opening times of our swimming pools. Our hotel has many king size beds and that makes it easier to have a foldaway bed inside. We do hope you have told our reception staff about the noisy air con, as the maintenance staff can easy fix such noise.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is located near Chiang Mai night bazaar. within walking distance. you can shop for almost everything in a night market & have dinner, watch football on TV at the "pubs" too. The Hotel has a pick up & drop service to & from the airport. Good spread of buffet breakfast with a wide selection of food. wireless internet in room. Facilities in the room are adequate for my 6 nights in ChiangMai. The room appeared old and well used; The lights are a bit dimmed not good enough for reading purposes. It is time to change the TV.The iron (for clothings) can be used for an hour only upon request.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bert210853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Bert
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and your post here on Trip Advisor!
We are pleased to read your comments and your overall satisfaction with your stay here in Chiang Mai. The hotel has plans to have all the TV changed to flat screen next year. Iron boards of course can be used for longer if someone has need for. We do look forward to welcoming you on another occasion and thank you once again for your stay.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing