We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #66 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time at this Hotel and we found it as good as the reviews it has received on the tripadvisor site. It is in an ideal position for visiting the Markets (Day & Night Markets) and Tuk Tuks are parked just outside the Main gate.
The Hotel has a pick-up service from the Airport for a small fee. (need to book with the Hotel.) Breakfast is included in the room cost and is excellent with both Thai and European foods available. This Hotel is not as "Flashy" as some in Chiang Mai but has everything you could wish for in a good Hotel. We will be happy to return to the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KualaLumpurTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear KL Tourist
Thank you very much for your post here on Trip Advisor and to have stayed at our hotel here in Chiang Mai during your recent trip. We are very pleased to read your comments and that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your visit to Chiang Mai. Our location is certainly a big advantage and we do look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in the imperial mae ping on the last night of my chiang mai trip with my wife and younger son. It was only one night so we weren't really requesting for so much. Sadly when we arrived, the female receptionist that greeted us didn't seem friendly at all. She didn't really welcome us and simply demanded that we show our passports. In the end she didn't seem to want to handle our check in and simply passed us to another guy receptionist who was much better.

We knew of the good location of the hotel and the rooms were comfortable. Especially the beds. Housekeeping lady was also friendly as she helped me open our connecting room when we couldn't find the key. In the end if you're looking for a nice comfortable place you can stay there, could have been perfect if not for the bad experience at check in.

Room Tip: You can ask for connecting rooms if you travel in a group.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Nigch
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and staying at our hotel during your last night here in Chiang Mai!
We are sorry to read that your arrival was marred by the shortcomings of one of our female receptionist. I will personally talk to all the staff at the front desk and train them again. It is nice to know that the housekeeping lady was helpful and opened you the connecting door. Indeed our hotel has many connecting rooms and they can be allocated for families and friends who wish to have this arrangement.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

having come from Indra Regent, Bangkok this initially seemed a bit isolated, but by end of first night loved it. clean facilities and staff very attentive. buffet breakfast fantastic. band playing in garden bar area were first class.
only two negatives:
1. pool hours too short, a dip in the evenings would have been nice, 6pm too early to close.
2. double room had two singles so those and the foldaway bed for our 11 year-old made room very claustrophobic - air con cold but noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MstMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Fiona
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and that you have chosen our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai.
We are pleased to read of your overall comments and have taken note of your suggestion about the opening times of our swimming pools. Our hotel has many king size beds and that makes it easier to have a foldaway bed inside. We do hope you have told our reception staff about the noisy air con, as the maintenance staff can easy fix such noise.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is located near Chiang Mai night bazaar. within walking distance. you can shop for almost everything in a night market & have dinner, watch football on TV at the "pubs" too. The Hotel has a pick up & drop service to & from the airport. Good spread of buffet breakfast with a wide selection of food. wireless internet in room. Facilities in the room are adequate for my 6 nights in ChiangMai. The room appeared old and well used; The lights are a bit dimmed not good enough for reading purposes. It is time to change the TV.The iron (for clothings) can be used for an hour only upon request.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bert210853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Bert
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and your post here on Trip Advisor!
We are pleased to read your comments and your overall satisfaction with your stay here in Chiang Mai. The hotel has plans to have all the TV changed to flat screen next year. Iron boards of course can be used for longer if someone has need for. We do look forward to welcoming you on another occasion and thank you once again for your stay.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed here off and on since the late nineties, then it was really modern, clean, new. Now, it's tired, jaded almost. It hasn't kept up. Right across the road is Le Meridien and right round the corner is The Dusit D2. I've not stayed in either of these (yet), but if appearances are anything to go by then they are up there with the best. Shame really, I remember how I loved to stay at the Mae Ping, not any more. The staff are as friendly and as efficient as ever, that hasn't changed.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Jim
It is good of you to comment here on Trip Advisor! We would like to thank you for staying so many times at our hotel and are sorry to read, that you tell us "no any more". Good to know that you find our staff as friendly and as efficient as ever. We have plans to upgrade our hotel in the near future. By all fairness, we cannot be compared with the D2 or the Le Meridien in our neighbourhood. They are much younger but also more costlier. We do hope you will visit us again and the undersigned would be very pleased to meet you. Thank you once again for your loyalty.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel is located very near to the Chiang Mai night bazaar, where you can go shopping & have some good food. The Hotel has a good swimming pool & a Live music band open restaurant. It has a pick up & drop facility to the airport, you can also rent their vans & cars if you want to go for a city outing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viven09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Viven
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your stay at our hotel during your recent trip to Chiang Mai.
Our hotel has certainly an excellent location and many sightseeing spots are near by. We thank you for your visit and hope to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was my first trip to Chiangmai/Chiangrai and also the first time we stayed at this hotel. I chose it after having read all the excellent reviews here and indeed it is an excellent hotel. On the day we checked in,the Executive Assistant Manager warmly welcomed us and we were offered a welcome drink. The next morning we had a friendly chat with the kindly GM before departing for Chiangrai. Altogether we stayed for 3 nights.

The location of the hotel could be described as strategic. It's just a short distance to the airport and a stone's throw to the old section of the city. One evening after dinner we walked all over the moat area,looking at the shops and the goings-on of this vibrant city. It was safe to walk around and nobody disturbed us. I might come back to Chiangmai one day and stay at this hotel again.

The room is very clean and the environment of the hotel is so pleasant. I can't begin to wax lyrical about the buffet breakfast. What a spread! It's comparable to that of a five-star hotel's. Besides the variety,there is quality and the food is very fresh.

I would choose to stay at this hotel again when I holiday at Thailand's other resorts. Thank you for a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: I asked for a non-smoking floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKampungOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Kampung Owl
Thank you very much for your wonderful posting and we are so happy to have had the chance to meet you during your stay with us. Delighted to hear that our team met with your expectations and the hotel rose to the occasion. We do look forward to welcoming you back another time and wish you all the best during your travels here in the Land of Smiles.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $33 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing