We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #74 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Let me start by first saying the service from the staff in this hotel was excellent at all times from pool side service to the restaurants, bars and front desk.always friendly and helpful.
The room size was large enough and a good sized fridge although a table to sit a second suit case would be a benefit.
The room was clean and tidy no problems with housekeeping.
The whole buildings facilities was always found to be clean.
Food room service was great delivering hot and tasty meals.(great pizzas as well as Thai).
We ate at 2 of restaurants (Thai and Chinese) and the food was good at both and Chinese dim sum was excellent value.
Breakfast buffet was great with too many choices.
Location was perfect close to the night markets and in a safe area never felt uncomfortable.
Tour desk was helpful booking us into tours even with only the night before as notice.after speaking with people who were referred to as "special cheap tour operator" and not the hotel desk, were surprised to find the prices were the same at both places.
Great value for money would stay again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Shane
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel during your visit to Chiang Mai and your posting here on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us here. Your comments are highly appreciated and our team is encouraged to please you and many other guests again. Let us know when you will be in Thailand.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

The only positive thing about this hotel was the location. The rooms were very old and dirty. We walked into our room and there was hair on the bathroom floor and in the sink and ON our sheets. The tub and shower were dirty. We told the front desk staff...who were not friendly, and they had housekeeping clean it the NEXT day. After traveling through Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand for 2 1/2 weeks, this was definitely the worst hotel we stayed. It is located in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Not recommended, there are other nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Andrea
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and for your stay with us here in Chiang Mai!
Your mentioned matters have been addressed with our executive team.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Check in and check-out : friendly, accurate and fast.
Staff : friendly, polite and helpful.
Location : just a few steps from the Night Market, and many restaurants nearby.
2 Swimming pools with enough sunbeds and towels, water had a very pleasant temperature.
Rooms : we had a Superior room , and these rooms need a face-lift. They are really showing their age, especially bathroom. And the shower is hanging far to low. But, seen the price we paid ( around 38 Euros incl. breakfast) it is still good value for money.
Breakfast : the breakfast itself is a very good buffet with many variety and choices, but if there are many people ( and it was very, very full, because of a seminar, we had to wait because all the tables were occupied) ) the service is slow : both in cleaning and in bringing new food. The breakfast room is a bit outdated and in one corner there are constantly vibrations, because one floor lower there is a generator ( as one of the waiters told me), so don't sit over there.
There were many families with children, and I don't know if it was just by coincidence but there was a lot of running, shouting in the breakfast room. But what can you do, if parents don't react.
Said that, the hotel is a good place for families, because it has the pools, and it is near shops, restaurants.

There is a fitness room, but it did not deserve that name : very small, just poor equipment, some installations out of order. A 4 star hotel needs to do much better for this.

All in all, for me the Imperial Mae Ping is a convenient place ( location, pool, friendly staff, good breakfast), value for money OK, no real complaints, but it needs some improvement : superior rooms, fitness, breakfast room.
Personally if I plan to go back I'll check first if there is a seminar or congress and if so, I would choose a more quiet place. Otherwise I would go back , if the price-quality ratio is OK. There are other hotels that offer similar quality at similar prices, but the Mae Ping is really on a prime location, which gives it an advantage on similar rated hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwiedje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Gwiedje
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai and to post on Trip Advisor!
Your objectively written comments about our hotel are much appreciated and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and that you would return. It is our aim to update our hotel in the near future and make a stay even more comfortable.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the imperial mae ping for 5 nights during our honeymoon. Everything about it was adequate and there was nothing to overly complain about but it just isnt at the same standard as other hotels in thailand with a similar rating. The room as most reviews say was dated, especially the bathroom. The breakfast was big and there was a good choice but nothing too amazing. the rooms are clean enough but for a few tiny bugs in draws. the two pools were really nice. The lifts are slow and theres not enough to cope with a hotel of its size. the hotel is in a great location, very near the night markets, if you are in chiang mai on a sunday go to the walking street market its amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Emma
Thank you for choosing The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel during your recent honeymoon and to post on Trip Advisor!
We do realize that our rooms and in particular our bathrooms are ready for a refresh and our modest rates do reflect this. On many occasions our lifts are slowed down as too many impatient guests are pressing both buttons (up and down) in the hope to have it faster.
We are happy to read that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a pleasure to welcoming you back for your honeymoon anniversary next year.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the IMP last year and found it wonderful value for money. In fact, the room was substantially better than I expected, and the staff were really wonderful. The pool is terrific and there it is just off the main centre of the market area of Chiang Mai and beautifully positioned away from that hub bub but in such walking distance it's almost too easy to get anywhere. There are a choice of taxis (and bargaining) right at your door. I would say the most expensive cost in the hotel for us was the breakfast, a whole $15 for whatever you wanted from the most massive choice of buffet food I have ever seen. The beds were comfortable, the service very good (even down to finding cords for my CPAP machine) and the internet service v. good (next to a cafe on the ground floor). We paid around $80 a night, well worth it. Great place.

Room Tip: As a single mum on a pension, go for the basic room, it is as good as the rest! There is no quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Jgls
Thank you for staying with your daughter at our hotel and to post on Trip Advisor!
We do appreciate your comments and are happy to read that you have enjoyed your time with us here in Chiang Mai.
Let us know when you plan to visit us again and we will be pleased to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We like the hotel and location. If you like to swim and sun this will be a wonderful place for anyones to stay. Swimming pool area was very big and very beautiful. The rooms was nice and clean and very good Mouhtian view and Chiang Mai city view.
The staff at the hotel was very friendly and nice. We would like to go back to this hotel again if we are going Chiang Mai next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anothaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Anothaya
Thank you for your visit of our hotel and to post on Trip Advisor!
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Chiang Mai the next time.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

My Sister & I stayed at the Imperial Mae Ping from 25July to 01August. 7 Nights. On arrival we were amazed by the quality of presentation of hotel & attentiveness of staff.

Being seasoned travellers & 3rd trip to Thailand, this being our 1st trip to Chiang Mai we were pleasantly surprised with how lovely the hotel is. The breakfast buffet is one of the best i have ever had with so many choices.

There is a tour desk in the foyer & we met a young lady Sophie who impressed us wuth her knowledge, information & personal atention to ensuring our tours were memorable.

Room was on 12th floor with view of city and hills. Lovely!

The price was half of what we pay in Bangkok for a week. The value is astounding.

We tried Chiang Mai for a week. Next trip we will stay for at least 3 to 4 weeks at the Mae Ping.

Highly recommened. Amazing value & Service.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish_Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Trish Fisher
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chiang Mai and to post on Trip Advisor!
We are very pleased to read your comments and to know of your nice experience you have had with us here. Please let us know when you plan your next visit. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder | General Manager

PS: Perhaps Trip Advisor can assist us, as only one star was given for an excellent review! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#61 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#184 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 403 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 403 in Chiang Mai
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $43 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing