We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging gracefully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #68 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very elegant and comfortable place to stay. The hotel is getting old but is well kept and the rooms are very plain but nice and clean. Nice pool and the breakfast buffet is fantastic. The bed is a typical Asian bed and not very comfortable but it's an Asian standard I guess.

If you get a good rate this is a great value.

Room Tip: Stay away from families with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greywolf8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Greywolf
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
Your comments are very much appreciated and we do our best to keep our hotel nice and clean.
The beds are the same as found in international chain hotels. Look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

nice local 4 star hotel with good service and friendly staffs

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spa_lover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Spa Lover
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor!
Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with our staff.
We do look forward to being of service to you once again in the near future.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

For those who are looking to visit Chiang Mai, this hotel is a MUST STAY!! I've been coming here for the past 20 years and every experience is just better. Clean rooms, friendly staff who will go out of their way for you, great food(breakfast) is all just the beginning of what Imperial Mae Ping has to offer. The hotel is located in the city center, and every Chiang Mai attraction is just a few minutes away. Don't forget to relax by the pool in the afternoon and order a pre-dinner cocktail; a great way to cool down after a day long excursion. Most definitely the night market is something not to be missed. With the hotel just a 5 minute walk(2 if you run) from the night market, you can shop--come back to put your things away--and shop even more!! Pack light on your arrival, because your departure will be heavy load!! You'll have plenty of money left for shopping because this hotel is a 2-star price, for a 5-star service!!!

Room Tip: higher floor offer a great view of chiang mai city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyW0rldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Andy
Thank you very much for your lovely compliments. The Team and I are very grateful.
Your feedback really makes our day and gives us the motivation to keep up and going.
It is our pleasure to welcoming you back again soon and please let me know your date in advance.

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

As I had booked 8 nights (31 Mar to 7 Apr) in a Deluxe room and specified Doi Suthep view I was disappointed to be told at check in that only rooms facing South were available - perhaps another guest had "influenced" that. Nice rooms and wonderful to have good quality free Wi-Fi available. I cannot understand why a Deluxe room costs more than a Superior room, because the size is the same and all (I think?) you get extra are slippers!! As the hotel is popular with tour groups, service can be a bit impersonal and breakfast was a bit of a scrum for tables - why no back bacon (only overcooked streaky) and only cheap sausages? Otherwise breakfast fine.

Re previous comments about noise, I slept well, but then I was on the 12th Floor and I do believe in "live and let live" ......

I stayed there a few nights in 2004/5 too, and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!

We thank you for staying with us and for your objective comments. Our apologies for not having a Doi Suthep facing room. Our reservation department has been reminded to ensure that all requests are properly handled.
It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too far future.

Kind regards from the Imperial Mae Ping Team!
Peter A. Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night, we had the option to stay for two but ended up staying elsewhere instead of booking another night here.

We stayed on the 9th floor, our room was non smoking but absolutely smelled of smoke. not very nice at all.

The bathroom had a lot of mould on the tiles and just felt unclean.

On the positive - hotel had free wifi which was good and a lot of services (although I didn't use any), the breakfast was a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelifeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!

Your comments are very much appreciated. The non smoking in our guest rooms is constantly being monitored. Unfortunately other guests have not adhered to the "non-smoking" situation and keep on smoking. The mould on the tiles in the bathroom has been addressed too.

We thank you for staying with us for one night.

Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter A. Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in April. We stayed in 2 superior rooms as we were traveling with 4 teenagers. We were given inter connecting rooms which was good. We arrived at 11pm at night and checkin was no problem, but when we got to room found that the 2 extra beds had not been put in. This was quickly fixed.

The rooms and bathrooms were clean but both a little dated and old looking. It also smelt a little old. The beds were comfortable and linen and towels were clean.

The breakfast was also very average and if you went down after 9am not a lot of food left or replaced.

It was well located to the night Bazzar and also had a great washing lady accross the road.
The 2 swimming pools were kept clean but it was very hard to find someone to order a drink through.

A bonus for this hotel was the free wifi, and also the great cake stand in the lobby :) also the guards that open the elevator for you were great with the kids.

Would have no problem staying here again as it suits our budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anitansteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The rooms fair, comfortable. Again, I wish the bathrooms would use face towels as I hate not using one, and they did not have any for guests. Location was OK, plenty of shopping just around thecorner and other shops to get things you need

The staff however, some were good, as per expected for Thai hospitality, but some were not that friendly. Older lady at the front desk, geeezzz, grumpy or what!

I left something in the room and they said that theyw ouldlook for it. Never heard from them again, and I even e-mailed them.

The breakfast buffet was actualy pretty good, decent selection.

Overall, not too bad. But we did not go back when we returned a week later.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulldogtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time for posting here on Trip Advisor!

We have taken note of your comments. Our hotel provides 2 sets each of face towel, hand towel and bath towel in each guest bathroom. Our housekeeping department is keeping a record of all left behind objects and keeps them for 6 months. Perhaps an e-mail could be sent to the undersigned directly.
peter@imperialmaeping.com and a reply will be sent within the same day or next day.
We would like to thank you for staying with us on your first call to Chiang Mai.

Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team!

Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#52 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#152 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#100 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $56 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing