We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location lovely pools!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #69 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Lovely basic hotel in heart of Chiang Mai. I wish we stayed longer, this hotel is perfect for families with children who love to swim and play as the grounds are large. Rooms are big enough, very outdated but thats what I liked it was like a hotel where flight crew would stay in the 70's! Nice views with curtains that make it lovely and dark.
We didnt eat here as there are so many restaurants around but has a few drinks around the poolside. request a room over looking the pool ,its a nicer outlook.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibunnykerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel during your sojourn here in Chiang Mai. Happy to see that your children enjoyed our gardens and two swimming pools.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too far future and we remain with kind regards.

The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed three nights. First room had a flimsy connecting door, we asked to be moved. Second room overlooked the beer garden, sleep impossible the music was so loud, asked to be moved again. Third room, we were woken up by a group of about 15 youths playing football in the corridor outside the room. (Thought there was closed circuit TV ??? )
What really annoyed me, was after being moved to the third room, we had just got to sleep when the porter arrived, banging on the door. He had an empty Kit Kat wrapper and insisted that I swap it for the full KitKat in the fridge. Surely this could have waited until the morning, or just bill me ???
It was a busy trip, and if I had more time, I would have checked out after the first night.
Agree with other comments about mouldy bathrooms, old/tired linen and a general jaded appearance. Wake up Mae Ping, you have lost another customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side to the beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank_pelagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor!
Your comments have been noted and we have spoken to the band to reduce the volume of sound.
Indeed the hotel is equipped with a closed circuit camera system. Additionally our in house security staff circulate all our corridors at regular intervals. The bell service has been instructed not to disturb our guests after they have checked in and wish to keep their privacy. The hotel provides signs to hang at the door knob, in order not to be disturbed.
We thank you for staying with us and can assure you that your points are being addressed to the relevant departments.
Kind regards - The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We are staying 6 nights in this lovely hotel. Sure it could do with an upgrade to some of the bathroom area but the rooms are very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet offers a great choice. Value for money it's terrific. You couldn't get a motel room in Australia for double the price we paid, so be fair with your judgement. I got 5 days of free wifi in our room by just asking at reception whenever my docket expired.

March is not a good time to visit Changmai as the burning off in the Northern regions have increased the pollution levels to an unhealthy state. If you do visit in March, reduce your walking and take a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate your kind comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Delighted to learn that our hotel met with your expectations and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was staying in this hotel from 02th to 06th March 2012 for 4 nights. This hotel is celebrating its 24th anniversary this year, but without upgrading at all. I agree with many vistors' reviews, mouldy wall tiles in the bathroom, bad odour in lifts and lobbies, unfriendly receptionists and I was beaten by mosqitoes at the sofa area in the hotel lobby when using the free internet (one hour limit for each log in with a coupon with password from the reception counter) at night, what a 4 star hotel that doesn't engage pest buster to solve this problem! Swimming pool area has also many mosqitoes at night, please be aware. The same lousy breakfast everyday, you will feel tired after 2 days of staying there. If Teresa Teng had not been staying here for her last few days in this hotel before her departure to heaven in 1995, I wouldn't have had chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alan640204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
Your comments about our hotel have been noted. Regular pest control is conducted in our hotel, however, we are not in the position to eliminate all. Internet connection and WIFI in the entire hotel are provided free of charge. There is wide variety of different dishes on our breakfast, which are changed daily.
It was our honour to accommodate you here and that your visit was in memory of Teresa Teng.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel team
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just returned to this hotel for the first time in 6 years, and was reminded why I loved it on the first visit. The service was always excellent, right down to the elevator attendant. Meeting rooms were great and support staff for them were very accommodating and friendly. Food was always very good with great selection, even for breakfast. Rooms were not 5-star, but were very clean and comfortable and I had high quality linens, so I am surprised to read that one reviewer was unhappy on that point. Laundry service was very good, with pickup in less than 5 minutes, quick turnaround, reasonable prices, and quality service. Location is fantastic overall, with a couple of caveats. The night market and more restaurants are an easy walk (or short tuk-tuk ride) away. Very good massages available, but take a short taxi ride and go to a better place than those found nearby, and be aware of the nearby "red light district" when choosing the direction for seeking massages, restaurants, or shops. The general area felt very safe, as well. Do be aware that there is a fight arena next door on one side, and the noise can be quite noticeable, especially on weekends. That is great if you are a fight fan, though! Generally, the noise level is what I expect at a hotel in the city, if not below average.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better. Ask for a room on the opposite side from the fight arena next door on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are pleased to read that your visit after six year was as pleasant as the previous ones, your love for our hotel is certainly very much appreciated. We are in contact with the owner of the mini boxing rink, in order to have a reduced noise level.
Perhaps we have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon again and wish you a good time when visiting Thailand again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel.
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I arrived without a reservation but was dealt with very efficiently - especially as the place seemed to be perpetually busy - quickly given a very quiet, comfortable room which was more than adequate for my needs.
Previous reviewers' comments about tired decor or lack of cleanliness seem to me to entirely misplaced.
For about £45/night including breakfast, & being within easy walking distance of the centre of Chaing Mai & many other places of interest, it represents exceptional value by UK standards.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Costas_Dimitriades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Sawasdee khrub
Thank you very much for your kind posting and we are happy to have had the chance to accommodate you during your stay here in Chiang Mai. Delighted to read that our team met with your expectations.
It was our pleasure being your host and we do look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team.
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights. Delicious breakfasts including scrumptious Thai pancakes which area custardy warm coconut flavoured bite sized treat. Crispy base. Not everywhere in Thailand we discovered. Chiang Mai is slightly cooler and slightly quieter than Phuket. 360 temples. Great restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Sawadee khrub!
Thank you very much for your kind posting and we are happy to have had the chance to accommodate you here with us for six nights. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast with scrumptious Thai pancakes.
We do look forward to welcoming you back one of these days and wish you all the best during your travels here in the Land of Smiles.
With kind regards from Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#52 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#153 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#102 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $56 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing