We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My hubby & I had a 3 nights' stay and we enjoyed our stay very much because the staff at this hotel were very helpful and pleasant. They spoke good English and did not have much problems in communication. We really want to thank Ms Wiwan, Reservations Mgr who had arranged for us an early checking in as my hubby's back was not too good after our flt in the morning. We had a good view of Chiangmai at 22nd Flr! Eventhough, the weather was a bit cloudy & rainy, it did not bother us much as later of the day was bright & sunny! Our tour guide took us for a free tour when we arrived in the morning to the silkworm factory, jewellery factory & the bee farm shop etc. We had a late lunch at the hotel bakery which served lovely pies, sandwiches & deserts! U will get a 50% discount on the deserts after 6pm but unfortunately, my hubby could not purchase as someone came and bought most of them at 6pm sharp! The breakfast was good with many choices... Only disappointment with Chiangmai was that there were no motor vehicle taxis except the limousine at the hotel or the airport. The common taxis and tuk tuks are open air vehicles with open window seats and the rides are bumpy which was not good for my hubby's back. Be careful as u can chk with the hotel staff for the amt to be paid before u request for their services. I was overchged during my trip to the open market and back. The concierge dept at the hotel was very helpful as when we needed their svc, they came and picked us without any delay or hassle. Every now and then, u need to tip them for their svc. The massage at the night bazaar was cheap and good. We did not explore much but we had a good time at the zoo to see the Pandas and the Aquarium.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    729
    294
    98
    43
See reviews for
312
605
149
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Restaurants in this hotel where excellent. Very clean rooms and facility. Staff was easy to deal with and offered above average service. The rooms are huge and comfortable. The location is a bit outside of Chiang Mai; only a 5 minute taxi ride to the center of city.

Great Value for the money. Highly recommended Try the Buffets at the Restaurant A Must.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrToddR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Upon arriving at the Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, we were greeted with great service and a speedy check in. We had a free drink and our travel guide checked in for us! They also upgraded the rooms because the hotel was very empty.

We initially booked two standard adjoining rooms but were pleasantly surprised to have two deluxe rooms instead. One room had one king bed while the other had two double beds. Both of the rooms were very nice to be in. They were very spacious and had a small lounge area near the windows. The bathrooms were nice with plenty of amenities and bottled water every day, although the bathrooms were slightly dated. You did have to pay for the internet but we felt it was good value, 600B for 24 hours (tip: we didn't need the 24 hours that we paid for, this is because you log out of the internet when you are done, we didn't even use half of it!)

The pool was good but not anything to write home about, great for cooling off after a long day in hot Chiang Mai. The breakfast buffet was great, had many western foods but also a selection of Asian foods too. The location i'll admit was not perfect, but the tuk-tuks were always waiting outside and were very cheap (80B to the night bazaar) and it was a lot quieter than other hotels we considered such as Centara.

Overall, I was very impressed with everything about this hotel, service was another great thing. Certainly better than many Holiday Inns close to your local airport! would definitely stay again and recommend to all who are considering it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keen2travelasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

After traveling round Thailand for a month with my friend we wanted a bit of luxury after staying in some not so great places. We loved the holiday inn, chaing mai, best holiday inn I’ve ever stayed in, although food was pretty expensive we didn’t mind for a couple of nights. there’s a little 7/11 (food store) outside the hotel so just go here for crisps, cans etc. Breakfast was FAB, everything you can want to set you up for the day and more. Loved the pool and sun deck, it was really quiet when we stayed so we had the pool to ourselves. Had a gorgeous Chinese meal in the restaurant in the hotel, I would recommend the Chicken in Lemon Sauce!!!! Lovely!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MindyMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

When we first traveled to Thailand for our very first time we booked our stay at the Holiday Inn Chiang Mai. We booked this through Agoda as it had one of the better rates and we booked 2 rooms, One suite and One Deluxe room. Located on the 15th Floor. This place is a really nice stay, the suite itself was huge with it's own big room with a king size bed and a two way bathroom and it's own lounge area with views of Chiang Mai City and the Mountain and the setting sun as it goes down behind the mountain. The bonus of the suite was the fact that the Deluxe room was right next door with a connecting door. Staff were very helpful at check in and extremely pleasant, they offered to unlock the two doors between the rooms for us and it was done within 30 minutes making one HUGE suite! They also delivered luggage up to your room and when checking out came to collect it.. please note they do expect a tip when they do this, being Australian your not quiet use to it but it's their way of life. We ate at both the restaurants in the hotel one night a Buffet and the other night we ate at the Chinese Palace I can strongly recommend eating there. It's a bit expensive but it is worth every penny! Also if you get the chance go down to the bar area in the lobby and try a Pina colada they are by far the best i have ever had! The pool area wasn't much but it is and old building therefore you can't expect to much and also you are in the city and the pool is located on like the 3rd or 4th floor. The Buffet Breakfast was one of the better ones we had in our stay at Thailand. All in all i would highly recommend this hotel absolutely beautiful from entry to bathrooms and toilets!

Also one last note, Tuk Tuk wait out the front and you are only an 80BHT tuk tuk ride to or from the night bazaar! There is a Laundry right across the street from where the tuk tuks wait

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binnybugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt am main
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

nice rooms for 25 eur. Really good value. Location is ok, but you cannot really walk to city center - you can take a taxi and it takes 10 minutes

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soiree234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This hotel has good rates due to its location, which is not within easy walking distance of downtown Chiang Mai. While somewhat more expensive than local competitors, it does offer the familiarity and standards of an international chain.

The rooms are comfortable and extremely large, and many have a good view of the river and mountains.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Property: Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing