We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #56 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

When you think of a Holiday Inn sometimes you think of a old Hotel! Not here, this is a beautiful hotel with a great western breakfast buffet. This hotel is about 3 miles from the night market and you can take the Holiday Inn Shuttle for free. They have a great swimming pool and has free wifi and a small refrigerator in your room! You can rent a Van for site seeing that won't break the bank. A massage palor is in walking distance from this Hotel. Nicha Thai Massage in which you can get a foot massage for around 5-6 American dollars depending on exchange! I was there everyday -- so relaxing and a great way to end the day! Everyone in this hotel is very friendly and helpful. This is a nice stop in Chiang Mai --it is a beautiful City!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    729
    294
    98
    43
See reviews for
312
605
149
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It was nice to see the river from the room. The hotel is 10 minutes away from the center, so you will be going back and forth a bit. I enjoyed sitting outside for breakfast, but there really wasn't any service. I had to go to the coffee station to serve coffee. There was a very limited selection of juices. The omelette station was great with no line. The room was fashioned 80's style. The room was clean, but no electric plugs to recharge phones, etc. Air conditioner didn't really work. But wifi was high speed, and free. Restaurant and bar is expensive as the 10 min travel time into town is just enough of a barrier. The concierge didn't speak English too well and didn't communicate availability of shuttles, etc. Loved Chiang Mai, but a fresher room with the same view and a helpful concierge would make a difference.

Room Tip: River view, and higher floors may have been remodeled...ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Celticson C,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of the room and found the view of the room nice. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

our stay was very nice and pleasant. the staff are friendly, helpful. This hotel is very good and have much variety food for breakfast.

shopping tip: is near to night market & new shopping mall that just open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank vicyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Several time had problem key card, DM gave reason for we keep key card with mobile phone, it's reason for lost all data in key card, not make sense. We travel and stay Hotel in IHG many time, not found problem like here.

Staff at River terrace not friendly , working like ROBOT.

Room Tip: Room higher floor renovate ready, look fresh and new furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jing785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear jing785,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were four couples on a holiday. We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Holiday Inn. Nicely located . The staff are very friendly and helpful. breakfast and food in the restaurants were very good. I will definitely like to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Beautiful and big rooms, a little bit old style though. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Staff is friendly and helpful. Nice pool en good spa (but men and women are separated and we didn't know). Only downside is the location...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Astrid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went as a group of 3. A colleague had sleepless night as switches/console was not working. All lights were on, air-conditioning was off. Complaint but no complete action. Hotel staff didn't even offer to change room. Found out the next morning that Thai hotel staff @ night shift don't understand English instruction!
Another colleague's in-room safe deposit box wasn't working. Mentioned to front desk before going out for dinner. Upon return 3 hours later, safe deposit box still wasn't "repaired" by replacing the battery.
Overall, the entire floor smelled of new paint. It was so uncomfortable that I had difficulty breathing.
Breakfast spread was not so great when compared with other Holiday Inns in the country. Certain food too salty to our taste.
Entire facade has 80s feel. Can see that not much refurbishment done to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ameashlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear ameashlim,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Please accept our sincere apology for the unusual conditions of the room you received. We also regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to ensure the points you've raised will be looked into.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Property: Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing