We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good RIver View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #54 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stay there on last new year. This hotel was a Sheraton Chiangmai before re-beanded to Holiday Inn. So, room is large, nice river view, good pillow options, and great service. But due to 20 years operation, room is a bit old fashion and bad smell caprt. However, if you compare with price, it is very affordable.

Hotel's facilities is complete. You have anything that you want. Everything is a bit old fashion but still well maintained. But you have to wait long time for elevator, there are 05 elevators for serves 562 room !

Good location with 5 minutes by tuk tuk to Night Bazaar or walking street.

Restaurant is good. Nice buffet breakfast with lot of variety to select.

Overall, it is good good hotel. I would definitely recommend if you don't mind in old style. But on return, it's affordable valued.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Khun Nattawut,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you have a good time staying with us.

Next year on 20th November 2013, Holiday Inn Chiangmai will have a 20th Anniversary for the company. Along the way to our anniversary, Holiday Inn Chiangmai plans several projects such refurnishing and renovating for all guest. So, please be our guest on the anniversary next year to see changes!

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.Was given an upgraded room. Check in was super efficient. Located in a quiet part of the city near the river. Room was large and comfortable with views of the mountains.There are free shuttle services for both ways to the night bazaar, walking street on saturdays and sunday market. Registration is required. There is also a free shuttle to Central Plaza Chiangmai airport (the largest shopping mall).Be at the waiting point at least 10 mins early, no registration, on a first come first serve basis.
Had their seafood buffet theme dinner served on friday- good value and lots of varieties. Prawns, crabs, mussels, squids......Reservation advised.
The hotel van is available on call for 150baht per trip. All the staff are super friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floor with mountain view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear eve565,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your vacation with us.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The smiling and enchanting staff of the Holiday Inn Chiangmai welcomed us with the usual charm but more was is store for us at the Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

As a Platinum Ambassador member of the InterContinental group upon check in I was given the usual welcome and a room upgrade to the next category. And this was an absolute shocker... the room was a large suite with an spectacular view of the Mae Ping river and was south west facing overlooking the city and the Hills of the Doi Inthanon National Park. The welcome included three elephant shaped chocolates containing various degrees of light to dark chocolates from the hotel bakery.

We had booked a vehicle to visit the Doi Suthep Temple and the Meo Hmong village unfortunately something went wrong with the booking and the vehicle did not turn up. The Staff was kind to replace and give a hotel car with a driver for the trip. I acknowledge and appreciate this gesture of the staff and which has helped the hotel live up to its expectations of the great IC Hotels chain.

The view of the city at sunset with the back drop of the hills is still fresh in our memory. I swear I can give special points to the friendliness of the staff and when I experienced internet access trouble which remained unresolved during our stay, and later when I checked out I received an email from the manager and I have to admit that I haven’t received such an apologetic email from anyone ever and that I now I really want to go back and stay at the Holiday Inn Chiangmai !
The room suite was huge with a spacious bedroom, bathroom with a huge Jacuzzi bath, bidet and bath, luxurious drawing room with fantastic French windows overlooking the Ping River and the city of Chiangmai. The panaromic view of the river is quite enchanting. The hotel is very comfortable and luxurious!

The location of the holiday inn Chiangmai is good and its position on the Mae ping is strategic, besides the view the distances from the city centre are not much and there are ample tuk-tuks around the place to hire. One can reach the heart of the city in fifteen minutes, the night market, Saturday market et all

You have to wake up early so as not to miss the soap carving lady who has a fantastic collection of soap carvings. She sits in the lobby till 10:00 am and carves just anything out of soaps making them absolutely useless for having conventional baths :) Do see the pictures.
.
The location of the river terrace restaurant is wonderful; viewing the Ping while you eat supper is a speciality. The China Palace restaurant is famous for its Dim Sums and the buffet lunches have quite a spread. Overall I give this hotel 10 out of 10 points and will surely return to this place for a longer duration of stay again in the near future...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south west side overlooking the Mae Ping river overlooking the city and the Hi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harshawardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Khun Harshawardhan,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you enjoy every single night with us. Priority Club Member always get a little something extra.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at holiday Inn for 2 weeks & did not want to move to hotel near the bazaar as we were made to feel very welcome & staff attended to our every need. The rooms were large & clean. The shower was powerful & hotel provided for our needs. The only complaint would the pillows were not as soft & fluffy as my own pillow at home.Our 10yr old son did not want to leave the pool.The hotel is bit away from the night bazaar but the hotel provided a complimentary bus every 1/2hr to the bazaar when it was open,which we made a full use of it. The days were spent trekking or sight seeing & pool,sauna & steam room were a welcome relaxation to the end the day. We did not opt for the breakfast as numerous cafe's within walking distance or 50 bhat to bazaar area on a tuk tuk. Walking distance were also numerous places to get a massages which are very cheap compared to prices charged in London.I would strongly recommend hotels to family's with kids as it is away from the noisy bazaar area. The staff were friendly & very helpful. I would certainly stay here again if i come back on Holiday in chiang mai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazGrewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 16, 2012

Dear JazGrewal,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you and your family happy with our pool and services. We are more than happy to know that you made a full use of hotel facility. During your next stay, please feel free to let our housekeeping team arrange you extra pillows :D

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent 9 nights here, and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Every facet of our stay was superlative. The room was spacious, clean, well maintained, and comfortable. The staff was courteous, friendly, welcoming, accomodating, and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious and bountiful. On a couple of occasions we needed some information regarding locations or recommendations and the desk staff was way more than helpful. I would stay here again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors afford a very nice view of the city and the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Mike M,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you enjoy every single night with us.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

With my respect of who likes this hotel, but my experience there was very bad. The room is old and needs to restoration, it small bad too. The staff were not cooperate and unfriendly even they are hard to smile. The location not that good, 2.5 km away from the night market and no interest place near to the hotel except the river. The only good thing with this hotel was the breakfast. I have been in Holiday Inn Bangkok and Phuket, Chiang Mai not like them at all. I will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Maj B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience regarding your recent stay with us. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times previously.

The room quality is generally good. It's not the newest property or the oldest, but the rooms are large, bathroom spacious, and it had what you need to enjoy yourself in the city. I slept well in the room.

For those who want to focus on the tourist oriented night market, you'll have plenty of tuk tuk's ready to hock you for the treacherous price on 80 THB for what should be 30-40 THB at best - or you can drive over and find your own parking.

You have a 7-11 and some other shopping around side of the property for snacks as well.

My issues with this property historically have been:

1. Guests are not expected to have cars. When they hold events, the carkpark fills and you may find yourself squeezing into some corner or unable to take your car in or out of the property as you wish. After arguing with the hotel and a callback from the GM, a regular spot in the main lot was finally found. A few hours later, it was all abandoned again.

2. Room service food is terrible. The Thai food is terrible. The northern Thai dishes were terrible. The western dishes were terrible. HOWEVER, the FRENCH FRIES were Great !!! Not to worry; there are plenty of other dining options.

Will I return? YES, I am quite certain that I will return - however, I will most assuredly NOT order room service and hope for the best on parking/events.

Enjoy the property though. It's a nice lobby and nice rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,870 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,049 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $43 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing